Fox 1 and fox 3 missiles detection

San_A

I am totally puzzled

How is a targeted plane alerted of a Fox 1 type missile launch? To my understanding, the RWS alerts the pilot when an hostile radar is locked at him/her. But this locking phase happens prior to the launch. How can the RWS know the missile has been actually launched?

Conversely, a Fox 3 type missile has its own radar tracking system, and the target plane should get a warning only when the missile has locked. However it seems that in DCS, at least to my experience, the missile is detected as soon as it is launched.

What sort of witchcraft is that? Or is there anything I don't understand? (I am a beginner so feel free to lecture me)

People feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe RWRs can pick up on the command launch from the hostile aircraft.

With the active missiles, when they are launched in TWS mode, the target will not receive the launch warning until the missile goes pit-bull as like you said. When a target is locked in STT they will receive the warning as soon as its fired. SARH missiles are unable to be guided outside of STT mode, hence the warning as soon as its fired. Someone with better knowledge of radar modes etc will be able to explain further.

Edited by Steggles

-16AGR- 16th Air Guards Regiment is always looking for pilots - http://www.16agr.com

EWRS - Early Warning Radar Script

Specs:

Gigabyte Sniper Z5-S

Intel i5-4670k 3.4GHz OC'd 3.9GHz w/ Thermaltake 120mm Water 3.0 Pro Liquid CPU Cooler

16GB RAM

Gigabyte GTX 1080

TM Hotas Warthog: SN: 06976

Saitek Pro Flight Combat Rudder Pedals

TrackIR5 with TrackClipPro & Oculus Rift

2x 28" 4k UHD Monitors (3840x2160 each) + 1280x1024

FOX 1 is only detectable by a MAWS. A Missile Aproach Warning System. It detects the actual launch by seeing it. The A-10C is the only player controlled aircraft equiped with such a system right now.