MiG-19P Navigation: The ARK-5 ADF - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2019, 11:01 AM   #31
unlikely_spider
Member
 
unlikely_spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airsoftronald View Post
Hi all!
My ARK-5 works kinda strange. When I start on Sukhumi-Babushara, it doesn't see Sukhumi's inner and outer and sees only Kobuleti (489 outer in Sukhumi and 490 inner in Kobuleti).
And if I start mission on Kobuleti, it doesn't see its inner and outer
I've found I have to take off sometimes before it will see them. Which is a huge pain considering how the dial works currently.
unlikely_spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 03:11 PM   #32
Airsoftronald
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
I've found I have to take off sometimes before it will see them. Which is a huge pain considering how the dial works currently.
Doesn't help anyway. IDK what's wrong with that module, cause in MiG-15 ARK works perfectly. And like a lot of people says, why handles don't switch in different operating modes. The Farmer is awesome, but odd-working, better to say no-working ARK makes it quite non-playable
Airsoftronald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 05:41 PM   #33
Airsoftronald
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 41
Default

The frequencies on the FAR and NEAR must be different, but from one aero, so when you set FAR, NEAR must automatically adjust how it must be. There is an option that FAR updates NEAR, but it doesn't work nice. For example on Krasnodar Center outer is 625, inner is 303. Bot when I set FAR to 625 (and I hear the correct morse code), NEAR is about 307-308 and of course I hear morse code from another beacon
Airsoftronald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 03:39 PM   #34
Wikkus
Junior Member
 
Wikkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Malta
Posts: 36
Default Is it broken? Or is my understanding flawed?

Farmer noob here! Took advantage of the recent sales just so I could complete my collection.

But the ARK-5 is driving me nuts...

So, first thing I notice is that there's a discrepancy between the two English cockpits -- the "clean" one has the "near" position on the left and the "far" on the right, however, the weathered version is reversed


Putting this aside (and using the "clean" English cockpit), the Navigation tutorial mission doesn't work; I simply cannot get any sort of signal on the set:
Click to "radio compass" (static audible)
Select "near"
Select "TLF" setting
Use r/h dial selector on ARK-5 to select 640-1300 setting
Select "ANT"
Wiggle the tuning wheel back and forth either side of 1000kHz point (for Gelendzhik)

I get zero deflection on the signal strength meter and no morse.

Is it broken, or am I missing something?

Cheers,
Rik.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DCS 2019-11-28 18-37-23.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	286.6 KB
ID:	222199  
Wikkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 06:05 PM   #35
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,359
Default

There are several bug reports on ADF, never fixed. It's Razbam after all.

I think the kneeboard will show you the exact tuned frequency, which is handy as we never got the indicator needle in the cockpit that should be there. Also ADF has some extra custom logic described in the manual, switching between near and far beacon has some 'gotchas'.
__________________

Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Reverb
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 02:51 PM   #36
slicker55
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 539
Default

So, a few months on since the last reply makes this an ideal place to ask my ADF related question...

I'm familiarising myself with this plane and believe I have a reasonable understanding of how the ADF / NDB system works.

Last night I checked the beacon freq's and morse identifier for each airport in the .lua to compile an easy-reference chart for myself.

I then ran some tests using the mission editor.

I went through all the airports one at a time, placing a MIG19 on the runway with the relevant freq's of the inner and outer beacons assigned as presets.

These tests produced some interesting results.

All airports where there is only one inner and outer beacon worked perfectly.

Airports which have two inner and two outer beacons (one set for each runway approach) only seem to work on one of the sets?

That is with the exception of Maykop, Minvody and Mozdok where both sets work!

Obviously, where there are two sets of inner and outer beacons, the corresponding freq's are the same but the morse defines which one the ADF receiver is tuned into.

Maybe someone with more experience can help to solve this one for me?
slicker55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 08:42 PM   #37
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicker55 View Post
Airports which have two inner and two outer beacons (one set for each runway approach) only seem to work on one of the sets?

That is with the exception of Maykop, Minvody and Mozdok where both sets work!

Obviously, where there are two sets of inner and outer beacons, the corresponding freq's are the same but the morse defines which one the ADF receiver is tuned into.

Maybe someone with more experience can help to solve this one for me?
Only the inner and outer markers for the "active" runway are ON, if markers sharing a frequency conflicted, ADF would track the strongest/nearest signal.

Due to a 2.5.x bug that effects runways with moderate headwinds (1-7 knot/1-3.5 m/s) the correct markers for ATC's selected runway are not always active, however for 0 or +8 knot headwinds, they are.

Perhaps for Maykop, Minvody and Mozdok markers you've found a bug or you tested in differing wind conditions?

Last edited by Ramsay; 12-20-2019 at 10:49 PM. Reason: Checked in ME, Maykop, Minvody and Mozdok RWY directions share the same marker frequencies.
Ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 06:20 PM   #38
slicker55
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 539
Default

@Ramsay
Interesting - thank you - more testing required
slicker55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 10:08 AM   #39
golani79
Senior Member
 
golani79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by some1 View Post
There are several bug reports on ADF, never fixed. It's Razbam after all.

I think the kneeboard will show you the exact tuned frequency, which is handy as we never got the indicator needle in the cockpit that should be there. Also ADF has some extra custom logic described in the manual, switching between near and far beacon has some 'gotchas'.

I know this works in the Mig-15 but in the 19 I wasn´t able to find the frequency in the kneeboard.
Do we need a mod for this or should it be there by default? (maybe I was just blind - need to look again)
__________________
>> DCS liveries by golani79 <<
golani79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 10:52 AM   #40
Cobrahjh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 19
Default RAZbugs

Spent the last thirty minutes trying to get the FAR to work in the tutorial mission and after reading your post I changed it to NEAR and now I can change to 640-1300. This is sad a known bug just sits around wasting everyone's time.

Thanks for the post.
Cobrahjh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.