Some notes on v.1.2.6 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2013, 08:53 AM   #1
EvilBivol-1
Belsimtek/TFC Associate
 
EvilBivol-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Кишинёв, Los Angeles (1993+)
Posts: 6,336
Send a message via MSN to EvilBivol-1
Default Some notes on v.1.2.6

There's still some confusion about some of the changes introduced in v.1.2.6. Unfortunately I don't have a comprehensive changelog available, but here are some notes on the more significant changes. Many of you have already figured your way through these, but maybe it will still be helpful to some. Please ask about other issues not covered in this list and we'll try to answer if possible.


Changes in this patch include keyboard and joystick input profile updates. Unfortunately this means you have to delete (or save as a backup if you wish to keep them for a possible revert to an older version) the user keyboard and joystick folders found on your Windows drive directory \\users\User Name\Saved Games\DCS\Config\Input\UH-1H\. Doing so will require you to remap your controls after re-launching the game. In case you didn't realize this, it could be an operation you may have to do in the future again as we continue to update the input settings of the module.

1. Engine power has not been reduced. However collective control handle “rigging” is altered to better match real collective handle settings required throughout the engine power demand envelope. This is why you are seeing higher collective requirements during takeoff, for example. The engine torque and actual rotor blade collective angles are the same (possibly slightly different as there was some tuning of dynamics as well), but the cockpit handle positioning is what is updated.

2. Engine start/stop controls on the collective are updated to include the ignition trigger command (HOME key) and Idle Stop Release button (RWIN + T). However the engine model itself is still not affected by these changes, only the keyboard mappings and their functions are, as well as the throttle animation range. The throttle can now travel from Stop to Max freely, but going back only from Max to Idle before hitting the Idle detent. You must then press the Idle Stop Release button to allow the throttle to close fully to the Stop position.

3. The engine start/stop command changes broke the Cold Start training mission. You can download an updated version here for a manual install into \\mods\aircrafts\Uh-1H\Missions\EN\Training\Aircraft Operation\1.

4. The radar altimeter is added with a dedicated power switch toward the back of the Overhead Console. You can use the keyboard shortcut RSHIFT + R to toggle the switch.

5. The pilot’s aiming sight is functional, but the command interface is still in-progress. Currently you need to do the following to use the sight:
a. Lower the sight by pressing RSHIFT + M or clicking the locking lever.
b. Increase reticle brightness by turning the brightness knob toward the pilot (clockwise if looking from port side)
c. Turn on the reticle
See the picture guide below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sight.jpg
Views:	2663
Size:	410.6 KB
ID:	87538  
__________________
- EB

Nothing is easy. Everything takes much longer.
The Parable of Jane's A-10
Forum Rules

Last edited by EvilBivol-1; 09-10-2013 at 09:09 AM.
EvilBivol-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:59 AM   #2
EvilBivol-1
Belsimtek/TFC Associate
 
EvilBivol-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Кишинёв, Los Angeles (1993+)
Posts: 6,336
Send a message via MSN to EvilBivol-1
Default

Just realized I forgot to add the radar altimeter to the updated cold start training. Will have to go into another update. :/
__________________
- EB

Nothing is easy. Everything takes much longer.
The Parable of Jane's A-10
Forum Rules
EvilBivol-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 09:02 AM   #3
Irregular programming
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 999
Default

Cool, thank you!
Irregular programming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 09:03 AM   #4
J7G
Member
 
J7G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NZL
Posts: 289
Default

Thanks for the post mate, much appreciated. Keep up the good work.
J7G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 09:12 AM   #5
sorcer3r
Senior Member
 
sorcer3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,121
Default

I compared the 1.2.6-collective with RL footage.
And it looks quite accurate.


(pictures on the right side are in ground effect hover position.)






Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rl-huey.jpg
Views:	6912
Size:	110.9 KB
ID:	87541   Click image for larger version

Name:	dcs-huey.jpg
Views:	6697
Size:	112.1 KB
ID:	87542  
__________________
http://i1293.photobucket.com/albums/b582/sorcerer17/sorcf16-b_zpsycmnwuay.gif
sorcer3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 09:55 AM   #6
fjacobsen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,043
Default

Thanks EvilBivol-1 for clarification...

But what about the missing minigun, rocket launch, bullet hit etc.. sounds "feature" ?

We have two threads running with this issue, but no feedback from the devs yet !!

Anyone looking into that ?


FinnJ
fjacobsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 10:03 AM   #7
TurboHog
Senior Member
 
TurboHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,504
Default

Thanks EB. We've all been waiting for this!
__________________
'Frett'
TurboHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 10:03 AM   #8
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,180
Default

Important setting for FFB-Stick users :


Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
Fix for lag in the FFB-Stick input after hitting the trim button in the UH-1H after patch 1.2.6 :

Open ...\DCS World\Mods\aircrafts\Uh-1H\FM\FMOptions.lua
and edit line #51 and set the sticktimelag value from 0.5 to 0.

Code:
sticktimelag=0;
..or simply copy attached file into the ...\DCS World\Mods\aircrafts\Uh-1H\FM folder and allow to overwrite.
__________________

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:05 PM   #9
jay43
Member
 
jay43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kingston Surrey UK
Posts: 673
Default

b. Increase reticle brightness by turning the brightness knob toward the pilot (clockwise if looking from port side) or just scroll up with the mouse.



And skins what happened to those.
__________________
Eagles may soar high but weasel's don't get sucked into jet engines.
Spoiler:

System Spec.
Monitors: Samsung 570DX & Rift CV1
Mobo: MSI Godlike gaming X-99A
CPU: Intel i7 5930K @ 3.50Ghz
RAM: 32gb
GPU: EVGA Nvidia GTX 980Ti VR Ready
Cooling: Predator 360
Power Supply: OCZ ZX Series 80 Plus Gold
Drives: Samsung SSD's 1tb, 500g plus others with OS Win10 64 bit

Last edited by jay43; 09-10-2013 at 07:10 PM.
jay43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:57 PM   #10
YoYo
Senior Member
 
YoYo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland / The Warsaw Pact
Posts: 1,869
Default

Thx for this update!
__________________
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4977_2.gif
Win 10 64, i9 9900k, GTX 2080Ti 11Gb OC, RAM 32Gb Corsair Vengeance LED OC@3200MHz,, 3xSSD+2xSSD M.2 NVMe, Predator XB271HU res.2560x1440 27'' G-sync, Sound Blaster Z + 5.1, TrackIR 5, [P3Dv4, DCS, RoF, Condor2, IL-2 CoD/BoS/BoM/BoK/BoB]
YoYo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.