F/A-18C Armament Thread - Page 33 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2018, 05:11 PM   #321
Bloodhound57
Member
 
Bloodhound57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 181
Default

Great question about the TALD....maybe it has something inside to explode on impact?
Bloodhound57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 05:17 PM   #322
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightwolf View Post
Well it's not powered, so I assume it can't turn and fly back... Other than that I'm interested to learn how it behaves in flight. Good point about leaving it for the enemy to check out.

ADM-141C uses Teledyne CAE J700-CA-400 turbojet
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 05:23 PM   #323
Nightwolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
ADM-141C uses Teledyne CAE J700-CA-400 turbojet
I understood from the weekend update that all we were getting was the B variant? I suppose the weapons list does just list ADM-141 without any variants...
__________________
"Fighter pilots have ice in their veins. They don't have emotions. They think, anticipate. They know that fear and other concerns cloud your mind from what's going on and what you should be involved in." -Buzz Aldrin
Nightwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 05:24 PM   #324
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,228
Default

Navy Ordered 200 ADM-141C's in 1999.

I think it was mentioned we are getting the B w/ Chaff dispensing,. So A Glide Range of about 125km launched from altitude.
AFAIK they simply crashed into the ground, which destroyed a majority of it on impact, nothing sensitive in the design, it was deemed expendable.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro

Last edited by SkateZilla; 05-08-2018 at 05:27 PM.
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 06:37 PM   #325
Freeroamer
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 234
Default

So how exactly is the TALD controlled?
Freeroamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 06:47 PM   #326
Greyman
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 343
Default

Given that the pilot has deployed it to defend his aircraft and himself and is very likely to be concentrating hard on that, I'd guess that it would be most likely to follow a preprogrammed path, to negate the need for manual control. Especially if the aircraft is able to launch multiple TALDs.
Greyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 06:58 PM   #327
winchesterdelta1
Senior Member
 
winchesterdelta1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,153
Default

I heard it might also burns the chips before impact. Seems logical to do.
__________________
Go in close, and when you think you are too close, go in closer.
winchesterdelta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 07:54 PM   #328
Freeroamer
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: California
Posts: 234
Default

So would it be pre-programmed? Or would it be something like the RB04s on the Viggen, where you can set headings and distances?
Freeroamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 11:18 PM   #329
Kapsu
Member
 
Kapsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Thats not the in-game menu it's a video graphic
Same thing on the in-game menu and mission editor, no a2a weapons on inner wing pylons.

14:50 on this stream for example.
Kapsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:35 AM   #330
The_Pharoah
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 473
Default

TL;DR - will the Hornet have napalm on release? If yes, will napalm be available for other aircraft? (eg. the F-5)
__________________
Intel i5-3570K/Asrock Z77-Extreme 4/G.Skill Ares (24GB) 1600/SSD: SanDisk Extreme 120GB/Seagate Barracuda 2TB/6GB GTX 1060/Coolermaster USB3.0 RC-912/Antec HCG 520/Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO/Win10
The_Pharoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:37 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.