[NO BUG]REDFOR GPS - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2019, 11:57 PM   #1
Swiftwin9s
Member
 
Swiftwin9s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 152
Default [NO BUG]REDFOR GPS

In another thread, it was said that REDFOR F/A-18C aren't meant to make use GPS, as only USA have access to the GPS Satellites.

If this is the case how are we meant to simulate Aggressor Scenarios?
USAF Aggressors are a prime example of a REDFOR 'country' that would need and be able to use GPS.
Swiftwin9s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 04:28 AM   #2
Tholozor
Member
 
Tholozor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 464
Default

If you're performing a cold start just use the position update function in the HSI, you can align off of waypoint 0 or a known TACAN station (position must be known in the mission computer, can be entered manually).

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...7&postcount=30
__________________
REAPER 51 | Tholozor

Last edited by Tholozor; 10-24-2019 at 04:31 AM.
Tholozor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 07:24 AM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftwin9s View Post
In another thread, it was said that REDFOR F/A-18C aren't meant to make use GPS, as only USA have access to the GPS Satellites.
It would be helpful to link the thread you're referring to. This is it: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=250276


Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftwin9s View Post
In another thread, it was said that REDFOR F/A-18C aren't meant to make use GPS, as only USA have access to the GPS Satellites.

If this is the case how are we meant to simulate Aggressor Scenarios?
USAF Aggressors are a prime example of a REDFOR 'country' that would need and be able to use GPS.
It's not just about agressors. It's a general problem, as you are free to put all countries (including all NATO countries that use GPS) to either BLUE or RED side. So if you have a mission with US or other NATO forces on RED side they can't use the GPS.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 08:32 AM   #4
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17,039
Default

As stated in other threads, this is not a bug.

I have made a feature request, I can not promise any change but if there is we will let you know.

Thanks
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 08:40 AM   #5
LuSi_6
Member
 
LuSi_6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: germany
Posts: 414
Default

everyone has access to GPS, even the Russians. Just as you have access to their GLONASS system. What non-NATO countries don't have is access to the encrypted L2 layer which provides extra accuracy. All our Mobile phones and GPS Nav in our cars have around 11m accuracy if you use GPS alone with a single antenna.
__________________


Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pedals, Oculus Rift

LuSi_6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 08:45 AM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuSi_6 View Post
everyone has access to GPS, even the Russians. Just as you have access to their GLONASS system. What non-NATO countries don't have is access to the encrypted L2 layer which provides extra accuracy. All our Mobile phones and GPS Nav in our cars have around 11m accuracy if you use GPS alone with a single antenna.
True, but the L2 layer is what is relevant to the military and in case of a major conflict the other public layers would probably get disabled to deny the enemy.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 12:30 PM   #7
Robin_Hood
Member
 
Robin_Hood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 912
Default

Best thing would probably be a checkbox in the Mission Editor to deny GPS use to coalitions.
__________________
2nd French Fighter Squadron
Robin_Hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.