F16 RWR Sounds - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2019, 03:23 AM   #11
VampireNZ
Senior Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
I did the same thing and the most bizarre thing happened. The RWR sounds changed for the Hornet as well! I double checked the mod path and everything (I use OVGME). When I replace the sounds for the Viper, the Hornet's are replaced as well. I don't know how, but I think the files are linked somehow.

Can you please check, if you have the Hornet?
Yea that is very strange. As is the fact the Viper has an entire RWR sounds folder that isn't being touched at the moment. Pretty happy at the moment just changing out those basic files - that new threat sound is so wrong and was super annoying lol.
Also sorry I don't have the Hornet - my least-liked jet of all time lol.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.60GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S | Jetseat FSE

VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 10:53 PM   #12
Recon21288
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Default

I posted the issue in the bugs section of the forum - it got moved back to this section. Nothing to say if it was a bug or not. I mean, its clearly not meant to do that but it is - so is it intentional by ED or not? Would be nice if they would actually tell you instead of making you guess.

I'm not happy with it mucking my F18 sounds up (as annoying as they are) so i'll just have to wait until they sort themselves out or someone comes out with a mod that doesn't change the Hornets sounds upon install as a stop gap.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.4GHz (Turbo's to 4.0GHz) ¦ x2 8GB Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000 ¦EVGA GTX 970 ¦ Asus prime X370-Pro ATX AM4 ¦ Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition ¦ EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650W ¦ x2 Asus VS248HR 24" LED 1ms DVI HDMI Gaming Monitors ¦ Corsair K95 RGB ¦ Corsair M65 RGB ¦ Corsair HS40 ¦ Thrustmaster Warthog ¦ Thrustmaster T-Flight Rudder Pedals ¦ Track IR
FC3 ¦ F5 ¦ M2000C ¦ AV8B ¦ A10C ¦ F18C ¦ F16C ¦ SA432 ¦ UH1H ¦ MI8 ¦ KA50 ¦ NEVADA ¦ CAUCASUS ¦ PERSIAN GULF ¦ NORMANDY
Recon21288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 05:25 AM   #13
Art-J
Veteran
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,675
Default

Various aircraft in DCS has always been sharing some sound samples between them and since sound modding relies strictly on files replacement and .sdef files edits, It's not possible to mod yourself out of this sharing situation.

If you use some mod injector like OVGME / JSGME you can only turn the Falcon mod on/off whenever you want to switch to Hornet and back, or wait until ED separates files for these airplanes in the future.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 11:22 PM   #14
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
Various aircraft in DCS has always been sharing some sound samples between them and since sound modding relies strictly on files replacement and .sdef files edits, It's not possible to mod yourself out of this sharing situation.

If you use some mod injector like OVGME / JSGME you can only turn the Falcon mod on/off whenever you want to switch to Hornet and back, or wait until ED separates files for these airplanes in the future.
The F-16 doesn't appear to use sounds from the F-18's installation folder.
The weird thing is that these are seemingly discrete sound files, located in different folders. The the F-16's sdef files also point to the F-16's own sound files. The folders must be linked in a way, since replacing the Waterfall.wav in \Mods\aircrafts\F-16C\.....\Tones\, will replace the same file in the F-18's respective folder, for example.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 06:46 PM   #15
Tyrant07
Member
 
Tyrant07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Murica
Posts: 104
Default

I am the one who made the F-16 sound mod that DocEast is using. I Took the sounds from other sources and changed the name/file type to match that of the ones in the F-16 folder. I then made it JSGME compatable. Works perfectly for me and others I have sent it too.

Edit. I do not have issues with F-18 sounds being replaced either. So not sure what causes that

Last edited by Tyrant07; 10-27-2019 at 06:48 PM.
Tyrant07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 09:38 PM   #16
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrant07 View Post
I am the one who made the F-16 sound mod that DocEast is using. I Took the sounds from other sources and changed the name/file type to match that of the ones in the F-16 folder. I then made it JSGME compatable. Works perfectly for me and others I have sent it too.

Edit. I do not have issues with F-18 sounds being replaced either. So not sure what causes that
Interesting. Would you mind providing a link to it? I'd very much like to try it.
Or at least explain how you got it to work.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 11:59 PM   #17
Tyrant07
Member
 
Tyrant07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Murica
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
Interesting. Would you mind providing a link to it? I'd very much like to try it.
Or at least explain how you got it to work.
I uploaded it to the User files website. Should be up after mod review
Tyrant07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 03:04 PM   #18
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrant07 View Post
I uploaded it to the User files website. Should be up after mod review
Great, I'll keep an eye out, thanks!
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 10:42 PM   #19
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrant07 View Post
I uploaded it to the User files website. Should be up after mod review
So, I got it and I'm still getting the Hornet sounds replaced as well. Are you sure that you keep your default Hornet RWR sounds, in the Hornet?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 11:23 PM   #20
Tyrant07
Member
 
Tyrant07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Murica
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
So, I got it and I'm still getting the Hornet sounds replaced as well. Are you sure that you keep your default Hornet RWR sounds, in the Hornet?
That is strange. Yeah I'm positive I still have my hornet sounds. I flew it just yesterday and they were still there

edit. Just booted the game up and can confirm, Hornet sounds are still there when I fly it

Last edited by Tyrant07; 10-28-2019 at 11:25 PM.
Tyrant07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.