27" 144Hz or Oculus rift - What will it be? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2018, 01:32 PM   #1
desertowl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default 27" 144Hz or Oculus rift - What will it be?

Hello all,
A repost from pc hardware forum, maybe this is a more suited forum.

I have a 24" 60Hz screen with a 1080ti gpu.
I cannot decide between current gen VR or quality 27" 144Hz monitor.
What say you?
If there is simeone here who has both and can provide inside information on what's more useful, it would be great.

10x in advance for the advice!
desertowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 01:34 PM   #2
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 958
Default

VR all the way.
For ref, I have a Dell 27” gsync. I always fly in VR
__________________
System: i5 2500@3.8Ghz, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, VPC T50/MT50, MFG Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 01:41 PM   #3
raptorman0
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Default 27" 144Hz or Oculus rift - What will it be?

Well due to VR I swapped out three 26" monitors and trackIR to a single 34" and use my Rift for sims. I tried to go back a few days ago due to needing to follow a complicated tutorial on paper but it just doesn't do it for me anymore. The feeling of being there is amazing in VR.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
raptorman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 01:53 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 2,267
Default

I have an Oculus Rift since a couple of months and its really much more realistic than a regular monitor plus headtracking, in fact its much easier to fly as you can judge altitude and depth much better.


My GPU is on the minimum for VR, I have to reduce shadows and effects to the minimun in order to keep 45fps for smooth tracking ... but with your graphics card I'm sure you will be able to do much better than me


Keep the monitor for when you want to use the Mission Editor or need to take notes, but for flying the Oculus is much much enjoyable.


Cheers
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:00 PM   #5
desertowl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the comments, my biggest concerns are that a new VR device release is imminent, and the other is spotting and gauges readability (I fly mostly wwii).
However, the consensus in the forum is quite reassuring
desertowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:04 PM   #6
Knives
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 81
Default

I feel there is a new Gen of VR coming very soon. I would wait tell Nov.

Sent from my H8266 using Tapatalk
Knives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:16 PM   #7
frodrigues2016
Member
 
frodrigues2016's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 194
Send a message via Yahoo to frodrigues2016
Default VR

Hi to all..since were talking about VR and monitors i would like to know if i can zoom and unzoom with VR since i am planning to buy one. Thanks
__________________

---- " In Peace.....Prepare to War "--------
Wishlist : F-4 Phantom / F-20 TigerShark / Su-34
Processor Core i7 4790, 32 Gb RAM, 2 Tb SSHD, GTX 750 2Gb, 1920X1080 Gaming Monitor, Senze Joypad, Windows 8.1 Pro 64Bit, VMware Workstation 12 for WindowsXP with Office 2007 and Linux OpenSUSE for Net Access.
frodrigues2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 03:00 PM   #8
javelina1
Senior Member
 
javelina1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WAFB, Arizona
Posts: 2,722
Default

frod - Yep, Zoom works in VR.
__________________

Gigabyte Z87-HD3, i5-4670K O/C 4.2ghz, NH-U12S cooler, 16GB RAM, Geforce GTX 1080 SC, SoundBlaster Z sound card, Yamaha 5.1 A/V Receiver, 2x 256GB Samsung SSD, 1x 500GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Rudders, TM MFD's, Enermax Case, 39" Samsung HDTV, 21.5" Acer VT220 touchscreen (for Helios & Ikarus), TrackIR5, JetSeat KW-908, Oculus Rift CV1, Wheel Stand Pro Super Warthog, Virpil WarBRD
javelina1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 03:10 PM   #9
desertowl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by javelina1 View Post
frod - Yep, Zoom works in VR.
Hey javelina1, from your specs I see you invested a lot in hardware such as screens and MFDs, are you still using those or fly with the rift most of the time?
desertowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 03:55 PM   #10
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,341
Default

Got my Rift in Jan 2017, have not gamed on my monitor since - not any game.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro|VPC T-50 |Warthog Throttle|MFG Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:17 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.