Need help with Gunnery - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2019, 02:41 PM   #1
irfanahmed1979
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Posts: 148
Default Need help with Gunnery

I usually practice Air-to-Air gunnery in a custom mission. Maybe I'm out of practice or maybe there have been a few changes due to the updates since 2.5. I used to have better luck in 1 vs 2. Sometimes even getting both Mig-15s. Now I just can't land the shots on the target.

1. The piper seems to be less accurate, at least to me. The slightest of movement and the shots deviate. I try to adjust my shots by looking at the tracers.

2. I tend to overshoot a lot and have no counter to the situation. Even brakes don't help. Must be a better way of maneuvering.

3. I can't seem to locate the switch which would set the gunsight to fast or slow rate of closure.
__________________
CPU: Core i7 7700k, Mobo: GA-Z270x Gaming 7 rev. 1, RAM: 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, GPU: Zotac GTX 1060 Amp Edition, SSD: Samsung 850 pro 512 GB, SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 EVO 512 GB (RAID 0), HDD: WD 2TB Caviar Black, TrackIR 5, Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, CH PRO Pedals.
irfanahmed1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 10:41 PM   #2
Kang
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 573
Default

Not quite sure what the trouble is with 1 and 2, but concerning 3: the switch is located on the bottom panel, right at the rocket depression angle set.
Kang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 04:55 PM   #3
Squiffy
Junior Member
 
Squiffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 85
Default

Don't forget to adjust our pipper range on the gun sight. I always do. Then map 2 keys to your stick for camera height. One to go up , one to go down. Go up a couple clicks so you can see over the nose a bit more. Also tune down your rudder and elevator axes. Add some dead zone.

Many Sabre pilots here have modded their weapons.lua file and F-86.lua file to give better performance to the M3 Browning and ammo. The ammo needs more muzzle velocity to be more realistic. 820 to 860 m/s is too low. 870 to 905 is much better.

With these adjustments and the 2.54 Beta world, I can get hits at greater distance and cut wings off of MiGs much more often now.

For AI, follow them up through loops if you have angle off to other bandits. Nail them at the top, use speed brakes and scissor when necessary. Go over and back down and just don't let go. If another bandit closes on you, break and scissor and get back on the throttle early to match them as best you can in climb. Shoot above them too since there has been an issue with the pipper being too low.
__________________

It's perfectly ordinary banter Squiffy, "Bally Jerry, pranged his kite, right in the 'how's your father.'" - Monty Python, RAF Banter Sketch.
Squiffy, a. slang. 1. Intoxicated; drunk. 2. Askew, skew-whiff. - OED

"Put that sucker in a 4G turn and keep it there!" - Maj. Gen. "Boots" Blesse

Last edited by Squiffy; 01-27-2019 at 08:46 PM.
Squiffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 05:47 PM   #4
irfanahmed1979
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squiffy View Post
Don't forget to adjust our pipper range on the gun sight. I always do. Then map 2 keys to your stick for camera height. One to go up , one to go down. Go up a couple clicks so you can see over the nose a bit more. Also tune down your rudder and elevator axes. Add some dead zone.

Many Sabre pilots here have modded their weapons.lua file and F-86.lua file to give better performance to the M3 Browning and ammo. The ammo needs more muzzle velocity to be more realistic. 820 to 860 m/s is too low. 870 to 905 is much better.

With these adjustments and the 2.54 Beta world, I can get hits at greater distance and cut wins off of MiGs much more often now.

For AI, follow them up through loops if you have angle off to other bandits. Nail them at the top, use speed brakes and scissor when necessary. Go over and back down and just don't let go. If another bandit closes on you, break and scissor and get back on the throttle early to match them as best you can in climb. Shoot above them too since there has been an issue with the pipper being too low.
Thanks! That's really helpful.
__________________
CPU: Core i7 7700k, Mobo: GA-Z270x Gaming 7 rev. 1, RAM: 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, GPU: Zotac GTX 1060 Amp Edition, SSD: Samsung 850 pro 512 GB, SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 EVO 512 GB (RAID 0), HDD: WD 2TB Caviar Black, TrackIR 5, Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, CH PRO Pedals.
irfanahmed1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 10:55 PM   #5
tom_19d
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squiffy View Post
Don't forget to adjust our pipper range on the gun sight. I always do.
What do you mean by this exactly? The wingspan lever under the sight?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squiffy View Post
Then map 2 keys to your stick for camera height. One to go up , one to go down.
Does that really help someone using TIR? Couldn’t you just sit up in your chair a shade?

Sorry, it probably sounds like I am trolling but I’m not, just trying to make sure I am following you. I do agree that is wish ED would bump the MV a bit.
tom_19d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 12:14 AM   #6
M1Combat
Member
 
M1Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott AZ, US
Posts: 505
Default

Yeah the wingspan lever... then you also need to set the distance with the other one IN REAL TIME during the fight. Sort of...



Also... you need to tune yourself... I recommend you use a "tool" to help tune you... that tool is labels. They tell you the range to target.


So... set a hat switch to adjust wing span with right/left... then set up/down to be target distance. Set another button to cycle labels. Use labels to calibrate your eyes to the target range but ONLY until you can get pretty good at it yourself. Use up/down to adjust the sight range based on what the label is telling you. After a while you'll be able to get to the 6 of the enemy with wingspan already set and at your preferred firing distance which is already set and fire. If the target is larger... you'll know they are a little closer so put them towards to lead of the reticle, and if they're smaller they go towards the rear of the reticle...



But you gotta tune yourself too...
__________________
Win-10 x64

Nvidia GTX970 (HTC Vive)
MSI Z77 MPower
Core i5-3570K
24GB G-Skill Trident-X

Saitek X-65F and Fanatec Club-Sport Pedals
(UCR - mapping throttle and clutch pedals together to form a rudder Axis)
GamesCom/Plantronics 780 USB Headset
M1Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 02:16 AM   #7
irfanahmed1979
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1Combat View Post
Yeah the wingspan lever... then you also need to set the distance with the other one IN REAL TIME during the fight. Sort of...



Also... you need to tune yourself... I recommend you use a "tool" to help tune you... that tool is labels. They tell you the range to target.


So... set a hat switch to adjust wing span with right/left... then set up/down to be target distance. Set another button to cycle labels. Use labels to calibrate your eyes to the target range but ONLY until you can get pretty good at it yourself. Use up/down to adjust the sight range based on what the label is telling you. After a while you'll be able to get to the 6 of the enemy with wingspan already set and at your preferred firing distance which is already set and fire. If the target is larger... you'll know they are a little closer so put them towards to lead of the reticle, and if they're smaller they go towards the rear of the reticle...



But you gotta tune yourself too...
Yeah I need practice.
__________________
CPU: Core i7 7700k, Mobo: GA-Z270x Gaming 7 rev. 1, RAM: 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, GPU: Zotac GTX 1060 Amp Edition, SSD: Samsung 850 pro 512 GB, SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 EVO 512 GB (RAID 0), HDD: WD 2TB Caviar Black, TrackIR 5, Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, CH PRO Pedals.
irfanahmed1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 02:17 AM   #8
tom_19d
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 296
Default

I will admit that I am not that current in the F86 but why would you use manual ranging with the A4 if the radar is working?


EDIT: Also the procedure being described for manual ranging is backwards. The whole point behind manual ranging is giving the pilot a way to determine target range that doesn't rely on range estimation as you are describing. If the wingspan is set appropriately and the enemy is framed in the pipper correctly, the A4 knows the range and generates a proper solution. If you are going to use manual ranging in the way you describe, there is no reason to set the wingspan lever.

Last edited by tom_19d; 01-24-2019 at 11:35 AM. Reason: Edit Marked
tom_19d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 04:28 PM   #9
71st_AH Rob
Member
 
71st_AH Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_19d View Post
I will admit that I am not that current in the F86 but why would you use manual ranging with the A4 if the radar is working?


EDIT: Also the procedure being described for manual ranging is backwards. The whole point behind manual ranging is giving the pilot a way to determine target range that doesn't rely on range estimation as you are describing. If the wingspan is set appropriately and the enemy is framed in the pipper correctly, the A4 knows the range and generates a proper solution. If you are going to use manual ranging in the way you describe, there is no reason to set the wingspan lever.
Exactly. It makes more sense to map the manual range than the wingspan. The only time that this is required is when the radar fails. The wingspan does not normally need to be adjusted dynamically during the fight, but should be fixed to the wingspan of the target, usually the MiG-15, or if there are other targets, the most dangerous. If the radar inverter light illuminates, use the button/axis (I use the lever on the Warthog throttle) to adjust the reticle to just encompass the wingspan of the target, assuming that you have set the wingspan for the correct type of aircraft you have now given the sight computer the range information required to compute the firing solution that the radar would have given automatically when it was working.
__________________
Georgian Spring Server: Join the Revolution!
http://georgianspring.enjin.com/

Training for Sabre Pilots
http://1-fighter-otu.enjin.com/

http://www.il2aceshigh.com/
71st_AH Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 03:22 AM   #10
M1Combat
Member
 
M1Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott AZ, US
Posts: 505
Default

My bad... had been way too long since I played with the saber... I was confusing it with the P51. And yes... I was going for a rough lead. Once you're mostly setup then sure, adjust the range to properly set the sight over the target to be sure... but I think that having labels initially helps a person to calibrate their internal calculations about range and how to, ultimately, set a range you like for reference, then kentucky windage the shot.


Also... I wasn't advocating changing the wingspan in the fight.
__________________
Win-10 x64

Nvidia GTX970 (HTC Vive)
MSI Z77 MPower
Core i5-3570K
24GB G-Skill Trident-X

Saitek X-65F and Fanatec Club-Sport Pedals
(UCR - mapping throttle and clutch pedals together to form a rudder Axis)
GamesCom/Plantronics 780 USB Headset

Last edited by M1Combat; 01-25-2019 at 03:27 AM.
M1Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.