How big are these maps? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2018, 03:40 PM   #11
schroedi
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 468
Default

It's exactly 22.3GB with 645 files in 60 folders. It was 13GB to download.
Maybe all modules and all maps together have 110GB.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Unbenannt.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	111.8 KB
ID:	185517  

Last edited by schroedi; 05-27-2018 at 03:43 PM.
schroedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 08:52 PM   #12
Holton181
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowTiger View Post
... redirect where a map is installed ?
Move the map folder to another drive and create a hardlink. Plenty of generic instructions out there.
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5.7 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz
P9X79 Pro
32GB
GTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 09:47 PM   #13
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowTiger View Post
So why the discrepancy ? Where did you come up with 22.3 GB for SoH Map ?
That is a HUGE difference in required Drive Space.
These are generic figures given for someone who wants to install the whole DCSW plus chosen module/map, not the numbers for the particular module itself. You can see all products in the ED shop have this 60/120 or 120/120 mentioned in requirements.

For the actual sizes, always check out what people write on forums.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:45 AM   #14
SnowTiger
Senior Member
 
SnowTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madoc, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,129
Default

Thanks allot for the replies and clarification on the matter of File Size.

I have been a tad upset for a while thinking I wouldn't be able to install SoH without buying another/larger SSD. It appears my concerns were not warranted.

Thanks again.
__________________
SnowTiger
SnowTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 04:11 PM   #15
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ouPhrontis View Post
Oh whoops, I do beg your pardon, I just had that in mind from seeing others ask how much drive space to expect to be eaten.

NTTR 605 x 605 km
Normandy 267 x 348 km
Strait of Hormuz 550 by 550 km
Georgia 500 x 500 km*

*this one I did a little googling and got that from a forum post, not sure how accurate. As for the top two I got those from an ED tester's post in a thread, which was below someone stating the size of SoH, which was not contested.

NTTR is the biggest? Wow I didn't know. I have all of them but Persian Gulf because it hasn't come out yet on steam. NTTR seems like the smallest one because.... Well it's boring. All flat land with mountains surrounding the cities. It seems like the smallest one, even Normandy seems larger because it has more going on down there. Georgia seemed large when I first got this game, now all the maps seem pretty small actually.
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 04:22 PM   #16
falken76
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowTiger View Post
I can't seem to find it now but I'm sure I read that the SoH map was more like 110 GB to download/install ?

It is specifically due to this number I read (somewhere on DCS Website) that I haven't purchased this map because it would only leave me with 10 GB of space on my already half-filled SSD.

Can someone please clarify the True File Size ?

Furthermore, does anyone know if it is possible to Uninstall a Map OR redirect where a map is installed ?
If it came down to it, I'd gladly Uninstall Normandy to create space to allow me to install SoH "IF" the file is as large as I thought.

EDIT>> Actually I just found what I was looking at in the Recommended System Requirements section where it states "Free hard disk space: 120 GB on Solid State Drive (SSD)". On the other hand for the MINIMUM System Requirements it says "Free hard disk space: 60 GB".

So why the discrepancy ? Where did you come up with 22.3 GB for SoH Map ?
That is a HUGE difference in required Drive Space.

Because eds information isn't accurate. All their maps said 60 GB, it's like it was a boiler plate number they just threw in there to fill the space on the website.



I don't know if they changed any descriptions since I bought, but I own NTTR and Normandy. Those were both listed as 60 GB required. They're both installed now, that should be at least 120 GB for the two maps alone. My entire SSD that is dedicated to DCS is 250 GB. The entire amount being used for the install with the maps is 105 GB. That includes the game and all the other modules I've purchased. They're clearly not accurate in the listing of requirements for the maps at the very least. I would expect the map to be in the 20+ gb size and it will grow as they add to it. I don't think it'll get too much bigger than that though. I have no idea why ED overestimates the required space by such HUGE margines, perhaps they want to give themselves room to add to the maps so they COULD potentioally get to these ridiculous sizes, but what developer in their right mind would do that? "What? A piece of DLC exceeds or takes nearly half of a hard drives available space? Our customers will just buy new hard drives, why optimize anything?" I don't for one second believe any of their maps will take that much space because it's unrealistic to expect your users to accept this and NOT seek an alternative that is more reasonable. Are we going to end up daisy chaining a hundred SSDs together because we'll eventually need an entire one PER DLC?
falken76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 05:32 AM   #17
Varis
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xvii-Dietrich View Post
The following link is an online-map with the maps from a selection for flight combat simulators and flight combat games:

https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer...mMq-NSwixdUHmU

It allows easy comparison and you can toggle on/off the different layers to look for specific features.
Thanks, that's quite nice. Some info is maybe outdated - the PG map recently got the Kerman airbase added but in this it looks like the city is 200 km north of map edge.
Varis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 07:59 AM   #18
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,218
Default

For the DCS maps, the shaded areas illustrate the detailed areas of the map. The rest of the map will be process-generated, so completely generic. Kerman airbase may be hand configured, but probably just the airbase itself, and it may not be as detailed as other airbases inside the detail area.
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 08:39 AM   #19
some1
Senior Member
 
some1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,558
Default

Yes, the difficult part of judging the maps in DCS is there is no hard boundary, the detail just stops.

For example, in NTTR, there should be Los Angeles in the lower left corner of the map, but since it's outside the detailed area, there's nothing there.

Also when looking at that google map, keep in mind that because of how map projection works, the area around the equator is smaller than areas closer to the poles, so you can't just compare the size of the rectancles. But you can export the map to kml and watch it in 3D in Google Earth.

The smallest DCS map in terms of detailed area is actually the Normandy map.
__________________

Owned modules & betas: A-10C; Ka-50; P-51; FW-190D; UH-1; FC; FC2; FC3; L-39C/ZA; MiG-15bis; F-86F Sabre; Bf 109 K-4; F-5E; Mi-8MTV2; M-2000C; SA-342; MiG-21bis; C-101 Aviojet; Hawk T.1A; Spitfire IX; AJS 37; AV-8B;NTTR; PG
Hardware: Virpil T-50CM, Hotas Warthog, Hotas Cougar, Slaw Rudder, Wheel Stand Pro, GVL224 Trio Throttle, Thrustmaster MFDs, Saitek Trim wheel, Trackir 5, Rift CV1
some1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 01:34 AM   #20
Varis
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 108
Default

You guys scared me for a moment... just bought a brand new 500 GB SSD Now ED scares me a bit - the drive is almost full already... Interesting how maps take so much space, PG seems to indeed be a tad over 30GB - aircraft modules take almost nothing in comparison, I don't have many yet!

Would think there's a benefit if almost the whole map can fit in your memory too... are we talking of video or main RAM here?

Interesting approach with the level of detail, could make a lot of sense. I read some info that the detail levels are actually low - medium - high. Is there an easy way to view which areas are which in the mission editor?

Last edited by Varis; 10-17-2018 at 02:21 AM.
Varis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.