WW2 Vehicles Ground Visbility - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2018, 11:40 PM   #1
Warmbrak
Junior Member
 
Warmbrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 44
Default WW2 Vehicles Ground Visbility

I have always struggled to spot the WW2 vehicles as they only start rendering when getting in close. My DCS settings are maxed out during these tests, so that should not have an impact. Placing some modern unarmed trucks on the ground next to the WW2 vehicles, I can easily spot the modern objects from a few thousand feet up, but the WW2 ones only start rendering much closer in.

Is this a bug, or deliberate?
Warmbrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 11:08 AM   #2
michelip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Hi Warmbrak. Just read your post. I have same problem, finding small objects very difficult to spot in Normandy even when not obscured by trees. If late rendering is the problem then hopefully the objects' rendering radii could be increased. Also, possibly more visible dust trails for moving objects could help. I have no trouble finding steam locos because of their steam exhaust plumes.


Mich.
michelip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 11:13 AM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,702
Default

They are rendered at a smaller distance compared to modern vehicles? Now that explains a lot. I was always wondering why I have such a hard time spotting the vehicles in Bunyaps campaigns...
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 01:16 PM   #4
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,225
Default

I've notice this with the German FlaK-30's. I built a mission with a bunch of them, and even though I knew where they should be found, I couldn't see them, even when they were on open ground. So I just flew circles over them while slowly losing altitude and noticed that the suddenly fade in to view at about 1500-2000 feet above them. Before that I couldn't see them at all in VR.
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 02:40 PM   #5
gavagai
Senior Member
 
gavagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,075
Default

This the Achilles heel of DCS. You can't see objects at a reasonable distance with a typical setup.
__________________
Ryzen 2700x - AsRock x470 Master SLI/ac - 8gb EVGA 1070 - 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX ddr4 @3.2ghz - Win 10 - MSFFB2 - CH Pro pedals - TWCS throttle - Trackir 5
gavagai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 12:14 AM   #6
Stonehouse
Senior Member
 
Stonehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,378
Default

Just a guess but it may be the lods files are set up differently for the old combined arms objects compared to the WW2 units. I think the old CA objects render a generic shape (basically a cube if I remember right) at 20000m while the WW2 pack units are much less. eg below M818 truck versus a Bedford MWD truck. M818 I believe first renders a shape at 20000m switching to a more detailed model at 10000m The Bedford looks like it first renders at 3000m and gets progressively more detailed until at it's most detailed at 150m or less. At least I believe this is how the level of detail shapes are handled although I could easily be wrong as the new engine may do something by default further out than 3kms if nothing is specified. Guess you could set up a mod for the Bedford and see what happens if you make the LOD3 shape appear out at say 10000m. Pretty sure it will break IC though.


M818
Quote:


model = {
lods = {
{"m-818.edm",10000.000000};
{"LD_Tec.edm",20000.000000};
};
collision_shell = "V_lom.edm";

BedfordMWD


Quote:
model={
lods={
{"Bedford_MWD_LOD0.edm",150.0};
{"Bedford_MWD_LOD1.edm",500.0};
{"Bedford_MWD_LOD2.edm",1000.0};
{"Bedford_MWD_LOD3.edm",3000.0};

};
collision_shell="Bedford_MWD-COLLISION.edm";
}

Stonehouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:15 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.