Lased targets - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2019, 05:06 PM   #1
CptTangerine
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 238
Default Lased targets

Hi



I have recently come back to the Gazelle, after more or less giving up on it due to it's very squirrelly flight model, and I'm running through the campaign.



I notice that in most missions, targets will be lased by a drone. This was very useful when I was playing Harrier missions as it has a laser receiver in the nose but I can't see what use this is in the Gazelle as it does not, as far as I can see, have any sort of laser detection kit.


Am I wrong, or am I missing the point?


Any pointers gratefully received.



Cheers!


CptT
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 4590 3.3GHz, RAM: 32GB HyperX Fury 1600MHz DDR3, GFX: EVGA GTX 1080, OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, Joy: TM Warthog, Peds: CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR3, VR: Vive
CptTangerine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 05:44 PM   #2
TomCatGoad
Junior Member
 
TomCatGoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 54
Default

From memory the drone just lasered the target so using nogs you could see the area in which it was located. That's how I used it anyway.
TomCatGoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 06:17 PM   #3
Polychop Simulations
Junior Member
 
Polychop Simulations's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomCatGoad View Post
From memory the drone just lasered the target so using nogs you could see the area in which it was located. That's how I used it anyway.
That's exactly the intended use TomCatGoad!
__________________
Community Manager Account
DrummerNL
Discord - Facebook - Gazelle sitreps
Polychop Simulations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 10:01 PM   #4
Grodlund
Member
 
Grodlund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: GBG, Sweden
Posts: 130
Default

If you can get the coordinates from the drone, you can enter them into the NADIR to create a Waypoint.
That's what I always do.
That way I know the (exact) range and direction to the target.
Very useful
__________________
"Your pumping days are over, Megatron!" -Optimus Prime
"This calls for a very special blend of psychology and extreme violence" -Vyvian
Grodlund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 06:50 PM   #5
HawkEXO
Junior Member
 
HawkEXO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
If you can get the coordinates from the drone, you can enter them into the NADIR to create a Waypoint.
That's what I always do.
That way I know the (exact) range and direction to the target.
Very useful
Bingo!
Always punch coordinates for your target, if available.

Having direction helps you plan your approach and cover. Having range tells you if you will be able to fire from the hill in front of you, or if you'll have to pick another.
HawkEXO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:37 AM   #6
CptTangerine
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 238
Default

Cool. Thanks guys.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 4590 3.3GHz, RAM: 32GB HyperX Fury 1600MHz DDR3, GFX: EVGA GTX 1080, OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, Joy: TM Warthog, Peds: CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR3, VR: Vive
CptTangerine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 09:54 PM   #7
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 4,654
Default

Yes on all points.

I'd assume that IRL at least the predator/jtac would lase with the "marker" IR visible laser (visible to NVG). The lasers the harrier and the other aircraft can see are further into the IR and not visible with NVG's. And yes NADIR and actual coordinates are godsend for any sort of mission. You basically get a bearing and range you should be looking at. Doubly important if there are ADA assets in the area so you don't get too close.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.