HP's Reverb VR Pro Headset - Page 390 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2019, 12:10 AM   #3891
Aurelius
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mountain View, CA - USA
Posts: 543
Default

For the above I meant for the Steam version of DCS. I just tried your DCS stand alone pathway Sze and it works but has a dependency error at times. Let me work on it a bit ......

back shortly
__________________
The beauty of the Multiverse can best be appreciated by learning the language that Mother Nature truly speaks in, ...... mathematics.

i9-7960X - ROG Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB 3600 MHz - EVGA FTW3 2080 Ti - VKB Kosmosima SCE - Custom CH Pro Throttle - Slaw Viper RX V2 - Rift S/Reverb

If you have a chance, give Calculus or Differential Equations a try!

JayTheSkepticalEngineer.com
Aurelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 12:33 AM   #3892
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurelius View Post
It is but it's a royal pain in the ass. Even if you do what Eagle recommends (which is right), simply having an Oculus headset (CV1, Rift S, etc...) and the Reverb plugged into the same graphics card will often cause SteamVR to only recognize the Oculus headset and throw up errors for the WMR pathway.
I have a 10 foot HDMI extender, as well as a 10 foot USB extender for my CV1. For the Reverb, I just leave its cable plugged into my machine, and connect/disconnect it at the connector on the HMD itself. This makes it really easy to use one headset or the other, with no hardware conflicts.

DisplayPort is a really fragile interface, so I prefer not to do my connection/disconnection of the Reverb at my $1500.00 GPU.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, MSI GTX2080Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, HP Reverb Pro, and Oculus Rift CV1.

Last edited by eaglecash867; 10-18-2019 at 12:38 AM.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 12:36 AM   #3893
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurelius View Post
For the above I meant for the Steam version of DCS. I just tried your DCS stand alone pathway Sze and it works but has a dependency error at times. Let me work on it a bit ......

back shortly
I start my standalone DCS in the Reverb that same way SZE does, except for not using the virtual desktop. I removed my nose seal so I can peek at my keyboard, so I just peek at my monitor and start DCS from there like I would without VR.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, MSI GTX2080Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, HP Reverb Pro, and Oculus Rift CV1.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 02:07 AM   #3894
Aurelius
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Mountain View, CA - USA
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglecash867 View Post
I have a 10 foot HDMI extender, as well as a 10 foot USB extender for my CV1. For the Reverb, I just leave its cable plugged into my machine, and connect/disconnect it at the connector on the HMD itself. This makes it really easy to use one headset or the other, with no hardware conflicts.

DisplayPort is a really fragile interface, so I prefer not to do my connection/disconnection of the Reverb at my $1500.00 GPU.
This is a Pro Tip. .... well done! I typically have both the Rift S and the Reverb plugged into the 2080 Ti and it causes issues for the Reverb. Without modifying the Oculus shortcut, the Rift S will fire up no problem, but the Reverb is a no go.
__________________
The beauty of the Multiverse can best be appreciated by learning the language that Mother Nature truly speaks in, ...... mathematics.

i9-7960X - ROG Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB 3600 MHz - EVGA FTW3 2080 Ti - VKB Kosmosima SCE - Custom CH Pro Throttle - Slaw Viper RX V2 - Rift S/Reverb

If you have a chance, give Calculus or Differential Equations a try!

JayTheSkepticalEngineer.com
Aurelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 04:19 AM   #3895
arturojgt
Member
 
arturojgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Argentina
Posts: 428
Default

I received today my Reverb, connected to the free display port in my duke 1080ti, the USB to a USB 3.1 on my MB and nothing happened, no windows mixed reality portal, no light of any kind on the googles, just a dead google.

I just unplugged my CV1 and plugged the reverb, now I’m installing steam VR but the google is dead.

Any thoughts?


Dream Commodore 64C, 1530 datasette, 1541 floppy disk drive, DCS cartridge, competition pro joystick, 14” Tv with VCR.
__________________
Arturo "Chaco" Gonzalez Thomas
arturojgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 04:24 AM   #3896
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,532
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arturojgt View Post
I received today my Reverb, connected to the free display port in my duke 1080ti, the USB to a USB 3.1 on my MB and nothing happened, no windows mixed reality portal, no light of any kind on the googles, just a dead google.

I just unplugged my CV1 and plugged the reverb, now I’m installing steam VR but the google is dead.

Any thoughts?


Dream Commodore 64C, 1530 datasette, 1541 floppy disk drive, DCS cartridge, competition pro joystick, 14” Tv with VCR.
Connect the USB to a USB powered hub or get a pcie USB 3.0 card. The startek one linked above is a good one.

If this does not power it up, it means the headset has a problem.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 04:30 AM   #3897
arturojgt
Member
 
arturojgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Argentina
Posts: 428
Default

I will try it right now.


Dream Commodore 64C, 1530 datasette, 1541 floppy disk drive, DCS cartridge, competition pro joystick, 14” Tv with VCR.
__________________
Arturo "Chaco" Gonzalez Thomas
arturojgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 05:10 AM   #3898
arturojgt
Member
 
arturojgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Argentina
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
Connect the USB to a USB powered hub or get a pcie USB 3.0 card. The startek one linked above is a good one.

If this does not power it up, it means the headset has a problem.


I connected to a powered Sabrent USB 3.0 hub and nothing, give an USB error, unplugged and plugged to a USB 3.1 in the mother board and the usb work (I can listen music from the headphones) and now I have a Hololens driver error. I executed the WMR portal and now apparently nos downloading a driver.

Is this correct? I bough this unit a week ago from HP, is a brand new unit.


Dream Commodore 64C, 1530 datasette, 1541 floppy disk drive, DCS cartridge, competition pro joystick, 14” Tv with VCR.
__________________
Arturo "Chaco" Gonzalez Thomas
arturojgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 06:21 AM   #3899
oz555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 25
Default

I've been struggling to maintain a decent framerate in my Reverb compared to a buddy with a similar rig. I thought it might be a Windows 10 issue and found this Microsoft tool.


https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...rrupted-system



This definitely made a difference for me and might work for others.


No harm done either way.
__________________
Asus Z370-F, I5 9600k@4700GHz,MSI RTX 2080, SSD. HP Reverb.

Last edited by oz555; 10-18-2019 at 06:26 AM.
oz555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 10:55 AM   #3900
Willie Nelson
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie Nelson View Post
General crash advice please:

I have started getting a few blue screen crashes (HMD only) a few seconds after tracking goes awry and following the blue screen I can still see DCS on the desktop screen with a note about SteamVR crashing. It seems to occur maybe after 30 minutes of play or longer.

Obviously, I've updated all drivers but could someone provide some general advice on which crash log to look at (e.g. Windows, WMR, Steam/SteamVR)

I know I'll have to get dirty here myself but somewhere to start would be helpful, cheers.
Anyone please?
__________________
i7700k OC to 4.8GHz with Noctua NH-U14S (fan) with AORUS RTX2080ti 11GB Waterforce. 32GDDR, Warthog HOTAS and Saitek rudders. HP Reverb.
Willie Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.