Improved stability and dedicated server - Discussion - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2018, 09:41 PM   #1
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,928
Default Improved stability and dedicated server - Discussion

Quote:
Dear all,

No one is being ignored. We certainly recognize that DCS World network multiplayer needs improvement and it’s actively being worked on. In fact, we have a big announcement on this front for this week’s newsletter. We certainly agree that there is a lot of room for improvement, both in regards to stability/smoothness, GUI, and features. We hear you.

Much or our current network work is focused on the new carriers (like spawning) and cooperative multiplayer in the same aircraft (like the Yak-52 and other two seat aircraft). That’s not to say we are not trying to improve stability at the same time, we are. Our team is working network code VERY hard on several fronts.

However, please keep in mind that the server can also have a massive effect. Many factors can affect network play that range from server hardware, over-populated missions, bad scripts, too many clients based on the server hardware, connection ping/packet loss, etc. I am not saying that poor network performance only lays at the feet of the server, just that it can often be a factor in concert with needed network improvements on our end. This is why you often have some servers performing great and other so not great.

Moving forward, we are investigating “official servers” that will offer many benefits. One of the chief items will be that the server and missions must provide a quality online experience. We’ll be talking more about this later in the year.

So, moving forward, we have what I believe are some good plans to help improve the online experience (very important to us), but we also hope that you can understand that a large part of it is out of our control until we can institute some official standards for servers.

Thanks,
Matt
https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...&postcount=121

Discuss...
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**

Last edited by Wags; 07-11-2018 at 10:34 PM.
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:47 PM   #2
Mods-o_joy
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 104
Default

Multiplayer needs alot of love, i hope it gets fixed soon, Currently i cant even load into multiplayer due to the broken netcode kicking me off due to the 2.5 patch causing RAM usage to go through the roof.
__________________
A10C, AV8B/NA Harrier, F-14B.

Pentium G4560, GTX 1050Ti, 20GB's total, 1x16GB Kingston Hyper X, And a 1x4GB Avexir Core Series kit, fleamarket mouse/keyboard, i swear it works fine
Mods-o_joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:50 PM   #3
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mods-o_joy View Post
Multiplayer needs alot of love, i hope it gets fixed soon, Currently i cant even load into multiplayer due to the broken netcode kicking me off due to the 2.5 patch causing RAM usage to go through the roof.
I have no issue, you may want to check your specs and connection to the server, also settings can affect it as well, such as Preload Radius.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:50 PM   #4
commandar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wags View Post
However, please keep in mind that the server can also have a massive effect. Many factors can affect network play that range from server hardware, over-populated missions, bad scripts, too many clients based on the server hardware, connection ping/packet loss, etc. Moving forward, we are investigating “official servers” that will offer many benefits. One of the chief items will be that the server and missions must provide a quality online experience. We’ll be talking more about this later in the year.
I appreciate the measured response.

I'm somebody that was playing DCS actively back when the Ka-50 and A-10 were standalone releases and through the initial DCS World release. I've been out of the game since around 2014, but recently jumped back in -- and have been actively buying new modules -- due to multiplayer.

To the point at hand: I remember promises of a coming dedicated server release being made back in those days. Obviously, that's still not here. Am I parsing your statement here correctly that any such release is still pretty far out on the timeline?

Not needing to run the full game client on a gaming machine as a "server" would go an incredibly long way toward addressing quite a few of the issues you just listed.
commandar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:51 PM   #5
Vitormouraa
Veteran
 
Vitormouraa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SC, Brazil
Posts: 3,511
Default

I can't even connect to the server most of the times, sometimes I need to wait literally minutes and minutes, and later I see "You were disconnected".

No wonder why most people play DCS SP.

I've been waiting for improvements for a long time. We have seen many since 1.2, but it definitely needs more.

But see, you got more than 50 posts, see now how people are desperately looking for improvements?
__________________
SplashOneGaming
Discord

https://splashonegaming.com
Vitormouraa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:56 PM   #6
Wags
ED Team
 
Wags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 11,381
Default

Dear Commander,

As has been mentioned, a gating item for the DS has been the launch and stability of 2.5. This caused a much longer delay than we had planned.

Thanks,
Matt


Quote:
Originally Posted by commandar View Post
I appreciate the measured response.

I'm somebody that was playing DCS actively back when the Ka-50 and A-10 were standalone releases and through the initial DCS World release. I've been out of the game since around 2014, but recently jumped back in -- and have been actively buying new modules -- due to multiplayer.

To the point at hand: I remember promises of a coming dedicated server release being made back in those days. Obviously, that's still not here. Am I parsing your statement here correctly that any such release is still pretty far out on the timeline?

Not needing to run the full game client on a gaming machine as a "server" would go an incredibly long way toward addressing quite a few of the issues you just listed.
Wags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:56 PM   #7
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitormouraa View Post
I can't even connect to the server most of the times, sometimes I need to wait literally minutes and minutes, and later I see "You were disconnected".
Generally that means you have a bad connection to the server, what kind of pings are you getting to a server that this happens to you on, and does your computer meet DCS specs, its all connected, ED cant fix everything, but they are trying to do as much as they can.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**

Last edited by NineLine; 07-11-2018 at 10:00 PM.
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 10:01 PM   #8
Mods-o_joy
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
I have no issue, you may want to check your specs and connection to the server, also settings can affect it as well, such as Preload Radius.
Windows 10 uses 2.5 GB's of ram in its own right, the terrain is 5.8 gigs, preload radius turned down to 50 nets a good load time but when it goes to load the aircraft assets of whatever server you are on it kicks you off, not to mention the absolutely massive amount of lag from terrain loading should you get into an aircraft and attempt to fly anywhere. and with ram prices the way they the solution of just buying more ram is not an option for a good amount of players.
__________________
A10C, AV8B/NA Harrier, F-14B.

Pentium G4560, GTX 1050Ti, 20GB's total, 1x16GB Kingston Hyper X, And a 1x4GB Avexir Core Series kit, fleamarket mouse/keyboard, i swear it works fine

Last edited by Mods-o_joy; 07-11-2018 at 10:04 PM.
Mods-o_joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 10:03 PM   #9
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mods-o_joy View Post
Windows 10 uses 2.5 GB's of ram in its own right, the terrain is 5.8 gigs, preload radius turned down to 50 nets a good load time but when it goes to load the aircraft assets of whatever server you are on it kicks you off, not to mention the absolutely massive amount of lag from terrain loading should you get into an aircraft and attempt to fly anywhere.
How much ram do you have?
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 10:03 PM   #10
microvax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,320
Default

Okay first, there were constructive discussion items in the old thread, theese were just deleted, not merged into this one. Imho bad move.

My main gripe with DCS MP that things are implemented in a blocking way since single threaded for the main simulation and graphics.
Someone DC's crashes, server loads something, everyone has some seconds of blocking state.

I think if this blocking nature could be parallized, i know its hard tm, much would be won already I think.

Second main gripe, naval combat. Having serious fleet on fleet action in DCS MP causes very large instability due to the amount of actions happening in tightspace. I mean look at a Kirov class cruiser and kutznezow battling an US battlegroup and server performance will take a huge hit and there has been very high chance of straight away crashing soon thereafter in the past.

That would be my 2 main requests.
__________________


*unexpected flight behaviour* Oh shiii*** ! What ? Why ? What is happening ?
microvax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.