Server survey - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2018, 09:29 PM   #1
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 24,916
Default Server survey

With all the issues we are seeing, could all server hosts please list server specs, connection type, and if possible a troublesome mission? I want to compile to see what everyone is doing and see if improvements can be made there. Please just list the info and leave discussion elsewhere.

If you don't want to share your mission publicly could you send it to me via PM? Also list all mods, scripts, etc.

Thanks all!!
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 10:19 PM   #2
Drexx
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 327
Default

I pretty much cant do what your asking(just because my system is made up of a cluster of systems, that are built to handle many servers), The server has a small script in the mission, and a small script as a hook, they both open lua socket connections, I have a nodeJS server hook into it and the server syncs what is going on with my external server, my external server uses this information to make all decisions(essentially making the game more than 2 threaded, and perpetual, units come back where they leave off) and sends back raw lua code back to be run(spawn/destroy/task/messages/scoring). this is why my server can handle massive amounts of load(1400+ units with 25+ ground CA units moving and shooting in convoys all attacking at the same time with 42 people on (this happened 2 nights ago, server never dropped below 40fps, it usually runs at 100+ fps)).

I do have some inner channels with things I find and I am giving the worst of the problems to BIGNEWY online, there are a lot of backend event API variables that are missing, like undefined weapons all over the place to name one, ground buildings are trying to capture nearby farps constantly, thing like that. I can open a channel and list all the ones off the top of my head if you like, but I do want to make sure you prioritize the worst of course

the BIGGEST problem for big multiplayer servers right now if people trying to join and if your server even lists on the main server list. The joining time is in the minutes, there something really screwy with how the MP server synchronizes its data with the end user client that takes A TON of time.... (then theres the massive memory requirement on top of that)

This is the DDCS Dynamic Caucasus server if your curious
Server Stats and connection:
I7-7700k
32 gigs of DDR4
m.2 SSD
connection:
__________________
Developer of DDCS MP Engine, dynamicdcs.com
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=208608

Last edited by Drexx; 04-07-2018 at 10:37 PM.
Drexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 01:37 PM   #3
gaz2644
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Intel Xeon CPU E3-1245 V2 @ 3.40 GHz
32 GB Ram
64 Bit.
2 TB HD
Dedicated server compatible with DX 11.


After about 10 to 15 minutes all weird stuff starts to happen, The AI Planes like the tanker and AWACS freeze and the players planes start to dart all over the place, making the server un usable for us.
I pay £74 a month for the server, but im gonna have to cancell.
This is only with two to three player on at one time.
Hosting from my wn PC is much more stable.
Any help to resolve this would be most appreciated
__________________
http://www.uknavalops.co.uk./
gaz2644 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 08:15 PM   #4
blacknight3022
Junior Member
 
blacknight3022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 44
Default

Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
16 gb RAM
i5-3570 @3.4ghz
GTX 1050 Ti



__________________
blacknight3022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 08:50 AM   #5
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaz2644 View Post
Intel Xeon CPU E3-1245 V2 @ 3.40 GHz
32 GB Ram
64 Bit.
2 TB HD
Dedicated server compatible with DX 11.


After about 10 to 15 minutes all weird stuff starts to happen, The AI Planes like the tanker and AWACS freeze and the players planes start to dart all over the place, making the server un usable for us.
I pay £74 a month for the server, but im gonna have to cancell.
This is only with two to three player on at one time.
Hosting from my wn PC is much more stable.
Any help to resolve this would be most appreciated
Is a sound device enabled on this system ? For some weird reason that appeared in 1.5.8 a sound device HAS to be on the hosting PC or things start to go terrible wrong. Why a sound device is needed is beyond me??????
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 08:56 AM   #6
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drexx View Post

the BIGGEST problem for big multiplayer servers right now if people trying to join and if your server even lists on the main server list. The joining time is in the minutes, there something really screwy with how the MP server synchronizes its data with the end user client that takes A TON of time.... (then theres the massive memory requirement on top of that)
+1 this Except the memory bit , even with a lot of people 25+ connected memory is not an issue (8-12G on average) ,
my mission uses all aircraft in the sim and uses MOOSE features

Havoc Server - hosts up to 30 people

3.4Ghz Xeon
32G RAM
64 Server OS
1GB Network
IP 4 Only
NO MODS

I will echo what Drexx has said, I see a LOT of people connecting .... for ages
then the poor buggers get disconnected before fully getting to the server.

NOTE: I added which protocol(s) the network card on the server is configured for


__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests

Last edited by Johnny_Rico; 04-12-2018 at 01:05 PM.
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 05:59 PM   #7
gaz2644
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Rico View Post
Is a sound device enabled on this system ? For some weird reason that appeared in 1.5.8 a sound device HAS to be on the hosting PC or things start to go terrible wrong. Why a sound device is needed is beyond me??????

Hmm thats interesting, i wonder why its needed. Will having a sound device enabled make the server run better?
__________________
http://www.uknavalops.co.uk./
gaz2644 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:06 PM   #8
=DECOY=
Senior Member
 
=DECOY='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: West Sussex, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,154
Default

We don't have a sound card on our rented server and It's running well.

We have crashed but not constantly

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
__________________

Razbam Community Manager
Water cooled i7-7700K oc at 5Ghz | 2080ti | 32GB DDR4 Ram | Virpil T50 | Warthog Throttle | Saitek Peddles | Rift S
Razbam Website | Facebook Page | Offical Razbam YouTube Channel


=DECOY= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:20 PM   #9
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 59th_RAVENS View Post
We don't have a sound card on our rented server and It's running well.

We have crashed but not constantly

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Was meaning a sound device, not a sound card

The problem was not crashing but terrible d-sync on the server

Which OS are you using on your server ?
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:22 PM   #10
gaz2644
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 59th_RAVENS View Post
We don't have a sound card on our rented server and It's running well.

We have crashed but not constantly

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Can i ask where your server is from ?
__________________
http://www.uknavalops.co.uk./
gaz2644 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.