Graphic Settings Performance Recommendations - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2016, 03:55 PM   #1
Lipfert
Junior Member
 
Lipfert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Post Graphic Settings Performance Recommendations

Kameraden,

I am looking for suggestions related to Graphic Settings for my system, my signature has the details. I have not flown the simulation for awhile now and am just getting back into it.

Out of the box, I selected the High Preset and would like to entertain discussions on tweaks. I am using the latest Nvidia drivers and also have Nvidia Inspector installed.

Did a quick search on the forums and found information for older versions of the game (Legacy).

Right now I am running the v1.53 Beta. Thanks in advance.

S!



Last edited by Lipfert; 06-18-2016 at 05:22 PM.
Lipfert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 04:20 PM   #2
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,905
Default

I personally have found setting my graphics options in the game GUI to give me the best results overall. I set my Nvidia settings mostly to application controlled. Be sure and set power to " maximum performance" and not "adaptive" in the Nvidia control panel.

You should be able to run with detail fairly high. Turn flat shadows on, and make sure depth of field is off. Cockpit displays to 512 ( anything higher is a performance hog). Shadows you should be able to set to high.
Terrain Preload radius - I would put the slider app 2/3rd to the right, should be good starting point.
Don't know what monitor and resolution you are running, I am running 1920x1080 and have MSAA set to 4, looks pretty good.

Hope this helps ,
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz all cores | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 04:40 PM   #3
Lipfert
Junior Member
 
Lipfert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

dburne,

Thanks for the reply, my monitor is 1920x1080 @ 144Hz. I'll start tweaking and see what I get, thanks again.

S!


Last edited by Lipfert; 06-18-2016 at 05:02 PM.
Lipfert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 05:25 PM   #4
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lipfert View Post
dburne,

Thanks for the reply, my monitor is 1920x1080 @ 144Hz. I'll start tweaking and see what I get, thanks again.
You are most welcome I hope it helps, let us know how you make out.
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz all cores | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 05:32 AM   #5
Lipfert
Junior Member
 
Lipfert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Post Pretty Good So Far

With These Settings:



Getting This Result In Game (92fps):



I'll try flying a bit and see what is next.

S!

Lipfert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 08:41 AM   #6
Art-J
Veteran
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,696
Default

I'd say You can turn HDR on, it shouldn't cause noticeable difference in performance. Cranking up preload radius, on the other hand, is a resource hog on my 3GB GTX780. Might not be the case yet for Your 4GB card, at least when flying solo, but that's the setting I would keep an eye one when flying more complicated missions.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 01:34 PM   #7
Lipfert
Junior Member
 
Lipfert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Art-J,

Thanks for the suggestion, as you can see from the picture it's using 3158MB of Graphic Memory. Will give it a shot and let you know.

S!

Lipfert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 09:56 PM   #8
Lipfert
Junior Member
 
Lipfert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 58
Default

Art-J,

HDR set to ON and on impact, looks pretty good so far and just need to test with some gameplay to see if I have issues.

S!

Lipfert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics, performance, settings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.