night time flying looks like dust everywhere - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2018, 05:54 PM   #21
fitness88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,588
Default

This is what my reg looks like:


Capture.JPG
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	80.8 KB
ID:	185000  
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 08:50 PM   #22
skouras
Senior Member
 
skouras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens-HELLAS
Posts: 1,237
Default

nicely done
__________________
W10(64bit)-i7 4770k-16 giga ram-Asus GTX 1070 STRIX Oculus Rift CV1
skouras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 04:44 AM   #23
HawkeyeHHDF
Junior Member
 
HawkeyeHHDF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
Default

Just tried it, it looks so much better at night , somewhat better during day but a huge difference, good find
__________________
Hawkeye
VF-213 XO
VCVW-11
www.vcvw-11.com
HawkeyeHHDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 05:29 AM   #24
kunterbunt
Member
 
kunterbunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Wow, never got this to work for me.
__________________
My Rig: i7-3770K @ 4200 Extreme | 16GB DDR3-1600 Ram | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti | Thrustmoster Hotas Warthog | MFG Crosswind rudder pedals | Oculus Rift CV1
kunterbunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 03:21 PM   #25
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kunterbunt View Post
Wow, never got this to work for me.
With registry edits, I find that people get the location wrong when creating the value. HKLM vs HK Current User, for example. Or not setting it as DWORD (although it's the default, I believe).



Regardless, you have you made sure your registry setting is where it should be? I would double check that first.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 11:53 PM   #26
pimp
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 458
Default

Can someone provide screenshots of the differences, please?
__________________
i7 6700k @4.7GHz h100i | LPX 32GB DDR4 3200MHz | GTX 1080 FTW2 | Asus Maximus viii Hero | Oculus Rift | HOTAS Cougar
pimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 04:22 AM   #27
kunterbunt
Member
 
kunterbunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

I posted my registry export to this topic on the second page. Looks all good. Still cannot see any difference.
__________________
My Rig: i7-3770K @ 4200 Extreme | 16GB DDR3-1600 Ram | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti | Thrustmoster Hotas Warthog | MFG Crosswind rudder pedals | Oculus Rift CV1
kunterbunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 05:21 AM   #28
kunterbunt
Member
 
kunterbunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 232
Default

Are you all using the oculus core 2.0 beta or not? This might have an impact on this option.
__________________
My Rig: i7-3770K @ 4200 Extreme | 16GB DDR3-1600 Ram | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti | Thrustmoster Hotas Warthog | MFG Crosswind rudder pedals | Oculus Rift CV1
kunterbunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 05:05 PM   #29
Vannipo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 44
Default

It doesnt work for me, too.
Win7-64, GTX1080Ti
Vannipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 05:23 PM   #30
Vannipo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 44
Default

I analyzed a screenshot, which i made at night and checked the colors.
The darkest color value I found (in the night sky), is:

R 4
G 4
B 4


With an ingame gamma of 2.0.

So, DCS has NO 100% blacks in the rendered image.
And thats why, we all have this red/green/grey haze.

The Oculus pushes these low values a bit, that we are able to see low values. But this makes this haze in DCS.

So, if the DCS render engine image output would be re-offsetted, we all would have a great night VR flight experience. Or just the whole range from zero should be used.

Like in the loading screen, where u have a 100% black environment and NO haze, while loading and moving the head around. Noone has haze there.

It's up to the DEVS to fix this RGB "offset".
Either the gamma calcualtion is incorrect, or they shift the picture before applying the gamma curve.
A gamma curve keeps zero values untouched. If the values would be 100% black before applying the gamma, they stay 100% black.

If u pull down the gamma as much as possible, the haze dissappears.

Is there a way to adjust RGB-curves for the oculus output? Or what the Oculus receives?

Regards
Vannipo



Even a Screenshot made in 2D shows the offseted luminance.
It's not pushed by the oculus itself. Maybe an NVidia Problem? Or just the render-engine of DCS.


Last edited by Vannipo; 07-12-2018 at 10:25 PM.
Vannipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:54 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.