JTAC's usage question - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2018, 06:19 PM   #1
Darcaem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 41
Default JTAC's usage question

Hi!



I created a very simple mission (attached) to play a little with the AGM65E on the F18. I have to take off and follow closely an airliner that happens to fly over my target, an EWR, to "cover" my radar signature. A predator is flying over the target acting as JTAC.


My problem was that I reported IN to the JTAC, asked for LASER ON, and he answered me that he was lasing, as usual. I approached to about 10k feet at 10nm to the target and fired the maverick. A couple of seconds later, the JTAC radio me "ABORT, ABORT, ABORT". I assume he stopped lasing because the maverick just went down to the water at 3 or 4 nm from the target.


Am I doing something wrong while playing? Am I setting something wrong to the predator on ME?


I setted a trigger to spawn a 4-flight F14s when I separated from the airliner to shoot. They spawned seconds before the predator told me to abort, but the spawn at 200nm or so (they are meant to not reach me if I fly close to the airliner). Could that be the reason, if the JTAC is somehow "threatened", it aborts?


Thanks for any inputs! And sorry if this is a stupid question
Attached Files
File Type: miz 5.miz (51.5 KB, 5 views)
Darcaem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 06:21 PM   #2
TechRoss
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 148
Default

Not sure if this is correct but did you report IP Inbound?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
TechRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 06:30 PM   #3
Darcaem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 41
Default

Yes. After the first abort message, it let me report again IP inbound, it told me CONTINUE, but then when I reported IN, it always answered ABORT
Darcaem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 07:17 PM   #4
Darcaem
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 41
Default

I retried the mission to try to replicate the situation. First time it worked fine, I destroyed the target. Second time I got the same "error", I'm attaching the track file.


I just went full afterburner direct to the target, but I followed the flight plan so the F14s were spawned. They spawn and a couple of minutes later I shoot the AGM. After I shoot, I got the abort message. In the previous try, where I could destroy the target, the F14s did not spawn.
Attached Files
File Type: trk jtac.trk (1.88 MB, 2 views)
Darcaem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 08:27 AM   #5
Yoda967
Member
 
Yoda967's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: London, UK
Posts: 131
Default

Darcaem, I've had the same problem. The issue is that you have to report IP INBOUND **BEFORE** you fire. JTAC will then give you clearance to fire and you can shoot.
__________________
Very Respectfully,
Kurt "Yoda" Kalbfleisch
London
Yoda967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.