VKB-Sim MCG. Questions. Answers. Advice. - Page 61 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2018, 06:17 PM   #601
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabstBleuRibbon View Post
You can have it both ways, use "Axis2Buttons" in the VKB config software. You might have to use one of the beta versions found in the Russian language forums either on vkb's site or the IL2 forum, I forget where I found it. Their programmer puts up beta versions on google drive you can get. I've got the round hat working as both 2-axis and 4 button+press, and depending on the module I use it either way.
Ok thanks for the tip, if I can get it to act as button presses that would be great.
I had a look in the manual for the software earlier this morning and I was like, say what? Lol.
Will take a closer look. I really don't need that hat to be two axis, I have plenty of axis.

Edit: I would also note I am seeing now some of those random button presses I have seen some others mention. A restart of the device in the software clears them out. So far it seems to be button numbers higher than what I have...
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Elite |VPC Mongoose |Warthog Throttle|MFG Crosswind Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|Windows 10 64 bit

Last edited by dburne; 07-09-2018 at 06:36 PM.
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 09:57 AM   #602
SneakyBastd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Hey gang,

Question on the MCG Pro Grip.
The round hat button ( Gate?) is controlling two axis rather than button presses. I was going to assign it as a POV Hat for looking around in exterior views ( how I have my other stick set up), but it would seem as they are axis instead this can not be done.

Curious how others are using this particular hat?
I set up Gate Cont as a 4 way hat with push by using this guide:
http://forum.vkb-sim.pro/viewtopic.php?p=28475#p28475

Hope it helps.
SneakyBastd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 10:48 AM   #603
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakyBastd View Post
I set up Gate Cont as a 4 way hat with push by using this guide:
http://forum.vkb-sim.pro/viewtopic.php?p=28475#p28475

Hope it helps.


Thanks so much for that!
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Elite |VPC Mongoose |Warthog Throttle|MFG Crosswind Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|Windows 10 64 bit
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 10:58 AM   #604
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakyBastd View Post
I set up Gate Cont as a 4 way hat with push by using this guide:
http://forum.vkb-sim.pro/viewtopic.php?p=28475#p28475

Hope it helps.
Hmm my software seems to be fairly different than what the screenshots in that link shows.

Edit: Never mind on closer examination I see the same functions - duh not enough coffee this morning lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VKB Devicecfg.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	127.5 KB
ID:	189635  
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Elite |VPC Mongoose |Warthog Throttle|MFG Crosswind Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|Windows 10 64 bit

Last edited by dburne; 07-10-2018 at 11:01 AM.
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 12:15 PM   #605
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakyBastd View Post
I set up Gate Cont as a 4 way hat with push by using this guide:
http://forum.vkb-sim.pro/viewtopic.php?p=28475#p28475

Hope it helps.


Got it working now, this is much better for me!
I am really liking all the buttons and axis on the MCG Pro and customizability of the VKB software.
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Elite |VPC Mongoose |Warthog Throttle|MFG Crosswind Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|Windows 10 64 bit
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 09:47 PM   #606
zhukov032186
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 926
Default

I don't remember if I ever asked this before, but I was wondering if VKB intend to offer branded dust covers down the line?
__________________
Whatever you need to be a cold, virtual killing machine Uncle Sam has you covered, and so do I! I'm Troy McClure, would I steer you wrong?
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 11:40 AM   #607
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,699
Default

So I spent around 5 hours gaming yesterday with my Gunfighter Pro/and new MCG Pro grip.
The last flight or two I was really having trouble with my rudder, it was like I just could not put in enough right rudder trim especially for taking off in the Spit.

After the last session I opened the VKB software and voila, I had a ton of phantom button presses. Looked like the view of the buttons had a very bad case of the measles. Apparently the left rudder trim button was being shown as held down the whole time. I wish I had thought to take a screenshot of viewing all those button presses.


So as this thread is titled by VKB with questions/answers, my question is:

Is this issue being addressed by VKB? And if so when might we expect a fix?
Yes I know a restart of the device clears these up for a time being, but would be very nice if they did not occur?
__________________
Don B

EVGA X79 Dark MB|4820K @ 4.50 Ghz|16gb Corsair Platinum 2133 Mhz| EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Elite |VPC Mongoose |Warthog Throttle|MFG Crosswind Pedals|Oculus Rift CV1|Windows 10 64 bit

Last edited by dburne; 07-16-2018 at 11:43 AM.
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:09 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.