AN/APG-73 Radar - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2017, 01:33 PM   #11
The Black Swan
Member
 
The Black Swan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 708
Default

The picture that shows the azimuth for the radar, shows a total of 140° is that correct? If so that's 10° on each side more than the eagle right? The eagle in game has 60° on each side for a total of 120?
Does the 73 have an upgraded azimuth?
__________________
GeForce GTX 970, i5 4690K 3.5 GHz, 8 GB ram, Win 10, 1080p

Last edited by The Black Swan; 08-22-2017 at 02:14 PM.
The Black Swan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 02:03 PM   #12
jojo
Senior Member
 
jojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Black Swan View Post
The picture that shows the azimuth for the radar, shows a total of 140° is that correct? If so that's 10° on each side more than the eagle right? The eagle in game as 60° on each side for a total of 120?
Does the 73 have an upgraded azimuth?
Yes, 140° is correct for AP-G73.
__________________
Flickr gallery:
https://www.flickr.com/gp/71068385@N02/728Hbi
jojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 03:04 PM   #13
Alfa
Veteran
 
Alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 4,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beamscanner View Post

Dimensions:

Weight(excluding rack) 154 kg / 340 lb
Total weight 227 kg / 500 lb
Volume (excluding antenna) 0.126 m3 / 4.5 ft3
Antenna (approximate diameter) 71 cm / 28 in
Nice account for the AN/APG-73, but I think the quoted antenna size is too large - at least I know that the for the APG-65 the diameter is exactly 26.625 inches(67.6275 cm) and AFAIK the APG-73 uses the same antenna.

Edit: It also says so(same antenna) in the first paragraph of your post
__________________
JJ

Last edited by Alfa; 08-22-2017 at 03:11 PM.
Alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 04:48 PM   #14
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaze1 View Post
Where are you planning on carrying the extra two? There isn't enough space in the cockpit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd1000 View Post
Twelve. And a droptank.

In any case, what he really meant to say was 'How many Flankers can I attack with AMRAAMs at the same time?'
-1 AIM-9X on LAU127
-2 AIM-120C on SUU-79 w/ LAU115C+LAU127
-2 AIM-120C on SUU-79 w/ LAU115C+LAU127
-1 AIM-120C on LAU-116
-1 FPU/8A on SUU-78
-1 AIM-120C on LAU-116
-2 AIM-120C on SUU-79 w/ LAU115C+LAU127
-2 AIM-120C on SUU-79 w/ LAU115C+LAU127
-1 AIM-9X on LAU127

I only count 10 Possible AIM-120s on the Charlie Bug, lol.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 05:01 PM   #15
probad
Senior Member
 
probad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,836
Default

obviously another casualty of the wingtip amraam myth.

Last edited by probad; 08-22-2017 at 05:04 PM.
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 05:06 PM   #16
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,224
Default

Charlie Hornets Cannot Carry AIM-120 on the Wingtip due to weight and the Wing Folding Mechanism Gear.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 05:26 PM   #17
=Buckeye=
Senior Member
 
=Buckeye='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGTharos View Post
How many AMRAAMs are you packing?
As many as it can hold
__________________
VR Cockpit (link):
Rift CV1 | Custom made Throttletek F/A-18C Throttle w/ Hall Sensors and Otto switches | Slaw Device RX Viper Pedals w/ Damper | VPC T-50 Base + 15cm Black Extension by Sahaj + TM Warthog Grip | Custom JetSeat SE | Super Warthog Wheel Stand Pro | Steelcase Leap V2

On Order:
Pimax 5K+

VR Rig:
ASUS ROG Strix 1080Ti @ 2.1ghz | i7-4790K @ 4.7ghz | Dell U3415W Curved 21:9 3440x1440 on Ergotron LX Tall mount | Corsair Dominator Platinum 16GB | (x2) Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB
=Buckeye= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 05:54 PM   #18
Blaze1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Black Swan View Post
The picture that shows the azimuth for the radar, shows a total of 140° is that correct? If so that's 10° on each side more than the eagle right? The eagle in game has 60° on each side for a total of 120?
Does the 73 have an upgraded azimuth?
Yes this is usually the case, however the Eagle's radar can employ 'F-Pole' logic when in STT. This enables the antenna to be positioned up to +/-73° either side of the aircraft's centre line.
Blaze1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 07:39 PM   #19
Beamscanner
Member
 
Beamscanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: tatooine
Posts: 504
Default

I will update the first post with more accurate information as it comes in if you guys like.


Alfa, do you have a source for the antenna? I got 28 inches from my first reference.


Blaze, I wonder if the the APG-73 has similar logic to extend its gimbal limits. Technologies were taken from the APG-70 for the APG-73, and the APG-70 is an upgraded APG-63.

Last edited by Beamscanner; 08-22-2017 at 07:43 PM.
Beamscanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 07:47 PM   #20
red_coreSix
Member
 
red_coreSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 419
Default

Yea, the APG-70 has the 73° in STT too.
I wonder how that is supposed to be used though, I mean the scope only goes to 60 degrees on the screen. How is the pilot supposed to accurately measure where the antenna is once it goes above 60°?
red_coreSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.