Kneeboard Builder (windows app) - Page 10 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2014, 10:19 AM   #91
buedi
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 102
Reputation power: 6
buedi has a spectacular aura aboutbuedi has a spectacular aura aboutbuedi has a spectacular aura about
Default

I didn´t try this yet, but maybe someone can answer me a question:
Is it possible to display more than one Kneeboard or at least create Kneeboard pages bigger than the default Kneeboard in DCS?

The reason why I ask: I have a 2nd screen here with 2 Cougar MFDs on it. When I fly the KA-50 and the A-10 they serve a good purpose. But for other Aircrafts like the Huey or the Sabre, I use the MFD buttons for some cockpit buttons. Having 2 Kneeboards or at least one bigger one placed right behind the MFDs would allow to show the Key -> Button assignments in the MFDs. Like a replacement of the inlets you normally use on the Cougar MFDs for stuff like that :-)
buedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 12:21 AM   #92
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buedi View Post
Is it possible to display more than one Kneeboard or at least create Kneeboard pages bigger than the default Kneeboard in DCS?
I don't think you can have two kneeboards, but you can change the size of the kneeboard. There is a feature in my program that helps you with that under Options -> Kneeboard Settings -> Size and Position.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 06:27 PM   #93
airdoc
Member
 
airdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Greece
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 8
airdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really nice
Default

Hi Grizzly,

I tried to use your application but ran into some issues :
- at first I started importing specific pages from the pdf manual and created a kneeboard for the P51. However, since many of these pdf pages needed some process, i started manipulating their saved png counterparts with MS paint, only to find out that the saved changes were lost if i switched between kneeboards. I tried to import manually .png files but the application wouldn't accept them, it seems that it imports only pdfs. A complete custom kneeboard would usually have more than one sources of input, i.e. besides pages of the pdf manual, some users would like to create copies of keyboard binds, procedures, etc, which would be made by using printscreen and save as image. Do you think you could modify the software in order to accept manual import of jpegs, pngs, etc directly into an existing custom kneeboard and merging them?

- How does the custom kneeboard images work in conjuction with the built-in ones for a mission? Are all images available or some only, and at what order of appearance? If a user creates a custom kneeboard, would this be unavailable if he were to fly a mission in multiplayer?? (replaced by the mission designer's one?).

sorry if these questions have already been answered in previous parts of the thread, no time to go through all posts

great mod

thanks a lot for putting this together
__________________
The three best things in life are a good landing, a good orgasm, and a good bowel movement. The night carrier landing is one of the few opportunities in life to experience all three at the same time.

Last edited by airdoc; 10-11-2014 at 06:55 PM.
airdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 04:21 AM   #94
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Thanks for your questions airdoc. Sorry for the confusion, I have not had a chance to write the manual or make any tutorials yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by airdoc View Post
since many of these pdf pages needed some process, i started manipulating their saved png counterparts with MS paint, only to find out that the saved changes were lost if i switched between kneeboards.
If you want to make modifications to an image, you need to modify the images in the 'Import Groups Folder' not the 'Custom Kneeboard Folders'

To go to the 'Import Groups Folder', in the menu bar click on 'View -> Import Groups Folder'. This is the permanant location for the imported images and where the images are copied from when creating a Custom Kneeboard.

The 'Custom Kneeboard Folders' are only temporary as they are changed anytime you clear or build kneeboards. These folders are where DCS looks to build the kneeboards within the simulation.

I hope that makes sense.


Quote:
Originally Posted by airdoc View Post
Do you think you could modify the software in order to accept manual import of jpegs, pngs, etc directly into an existing custom kneeboard and merging them?

There is already a feature that allows the import of image files, although it is located in a different area than the .pdf import.

To import custom images:

1) Click on the 'Create Custom Kneeboard' tab

2) Click on an 'Available Group' that you want to add your custom images or add a new group by clicking on the 'New' button

3) With your group selected click on the 'Modify' button. This will open the group modify dialog.

4) To import your images to the group, click on the 'Import Images' button.

5) Navigate to and select the images you want to import. You can select multiple images at once.

6) Click on the 'Open' button

7) Reorder the images to your liking by clicking on an image and using the 'up' and 'down' arrow buttons on the left of the dialog. You can remove images by clicking the checkbox to to the left of the image name and click on the 'Removed Checked' button.

Click on 'Save' and your images will be renamed to match the group and place them in the correct order within the group.

Quote:
Originally Posted by airdoc View Post
How does the custom kneeboard images work in conjuction with the built-in ones for a mission? Are all images available or some only, and at what order of appearance? If a user creates a custom kneeboard, would this be unavailable if he were to fly a mission in multiplayer?? (replaced by the mission designer's one?).
There are basically five kneeboard types:

1) Semi-Interactive Maps
-cannot be modified
-visible in all aircraft

2) Default Kneeboard
-images pulled from 'Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Bazar\Terrain\Kneeboard' directory
-contains the aerodrome charts by default
-images visible in all aircraft
-any images saved in this folder are lost when DCS World is updated or repaired

3) General Custom Kneeboard (called 'General DCS World Kneeboard' in my program)
-images pulled from 'Saved Games\DCS\Kneeboard' directory
-images visible in all aircraft
-images are safe during DCS World updates or repairs

4) Aircraft Specific Custom Kneeboard
-images pulled from 'Saved Games\DCS\Kneeboard\(aircraft name)' directory
-images visible only to that specific aircraft
-images are safe during DCS World updates or repairs

5) Mission Kneeboard
-images pulled from the.miz file's 'KNEEBOARD' directory
-images visible to all aircraft unless they are in an aircraft specific folder

These kneeboards are displayed in game in the above order(the Mission Kneeboard may actually display between 2 and 3, I can't remember) and independent of each other so they will not get mixed around.

Within those kneeboards, the order the images are grouped and displayed is based on their filename. Kneeboard Builder saves the images with the following naming convention:

'001-Emergency Procedures-005.png'
'Group Order Number - Group Name - Image Order Number'

The kneeboard groups the images together based on their group name and orders the images within their groups based on the image order number.

The groups are ordered by their group order number.


Quote:
Originally Posted by airdoc View Post
If a user creates a custom kneeboard, would this be unavailable if he were to fly a mission in multiplayer?? (replaced by the mission designer's one?).
All custom kneeboards will be visible in both singleplayer and multiplayer. Kneeboards added to a mission by the mission designer will not affect the user's custom kneeboards.


Hopefully I answered your questions without adding more confusion.

Last edited by AlaskanGrizzly; 10-12-2014 at 05:53 AM.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 11:22 AM   #95
airdoc
Member
 
airdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Greece
Posts: 259
Reputation power: 8
airdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really niceairdoc is just really nice
Default

that cleared it up

thanks

EDIT : it may be a good idea if you included the info about kneeboard types in the first post of this thread. Users may find it easier to understand what they are doing with your application.
__________________
The three best things in life are a good landing, a good orgasm, and a good bowel movement. The night carrier landing is one of the few opportunities in life to experience all three at the same time.

Last edited by airdoc; 10-12-2014 at 11:36 AM.
airdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 11:22 AM   #96
Vespa
Member
 
Vespa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 355
Reputation power: 4
Vespa is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for your detailed info AlaskanGrizzly, really useful to understand Kneeboard world.
Let me say thanks for your great tool...I love it and it's really useful toa void headaches trying to customize Kneeboard
Vespa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:13 PM   #97
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 5,743
Reputation power: 30
Flagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of light
Default

The program tries to open a connection to the internet at startup. Why is it doing that?
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *


Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:35 PM   #98
Reksi-Erkki
Member
 
Reksi-Erkki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 162
Reputation power: 6
Reksi-Erkki is on a distinguished road
Default

Automatic update, perhaps?

I really like this software, by the way. The vanilla kneeboard is unusable. I have a dual monitor setup with the MFDs glued onto the secondary one. Now if someone would come up with a similar solution for the F10 map...
__________________
Dear Shilka. I hate you so very very much. Love, Rex
Reksi-Erkki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:37 PM   #99
AlaskanGrizzly
Member
 
AlaskanGrizzly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Reputation power: 9
AlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the roughAlaskanGrizzly is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagrum View Post
The program tries to open a connection to the internet at startup. Why is it doing that?
It is checking if an update is available.
AlaskanGrizzly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:56 PM   #100
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 5,743
Reputation power: 30
Flagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaskanGrizzly View Post
It is checking if an update is available.
Ok, thanks for the quick response!

Maybe you can make that an optional setting in the preferences? Because I - and I bet I am not alone with this - generally feel uncomfortable if software tries to communicate with some "random" server on the net without my consent.
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *


Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.