2.1 update - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2017, 12:24 AM   #31
FragBum
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rockhampton QLD, AUS.
Posts: 708
Reputation power: 3
FragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuts View Post
My trimmer button causes extreme pitch up ....anyone else have this problem?,,,,grrrr!
No not with the trimmer I don't use trim, however for so called level flight I might as well rename the Gazelle to the Porpoise!

Don't get me wrong IGE, OGE manoeuvring and in general just throwing the Gazelle around the latest updates are FREAKING AWESOME!

However I can't get the Gazelle to fly level it's just a train wreck of nose up nose down nose up nose down....

Now I used to be able to nail this fairly easily and indeed still can for the Huey and Mi8

Anyone have any suggestions?

And yes Options->Misc->FFB is unchecked. (Although it really doesn't seem to make any difference.)

Options->special->342 there is no FFB option just 2 sliders?? I have uninstalled reinstalled blown away saved games.

FWIW It's the same in 1.5.7 and 2.1.1 latest versions.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 01:31 AM   #32
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 5,719
Reputation power: 30
Flagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of light
Default

I think, I noticed this as well. To me it seems to be related to the autopilot. The autopilot tries to keep the helo's attitude to the last trimmed attitude - which is zero bank and zero pitch when the helo is just been fired up. So every maneuvering is fighting the AP and that is why the helo does not really like to keep a banking angle in turns and pitch angles when accellerating/decellerating.
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *

[Do you use a FFB device?]

Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 02:00 AM   #33
FragBum
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rockhampton QLD, AUS.
Posts: 708
Reputation power: 3
FragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagrum View Post
I think, I noticed this as well. To me it seems to be related to the autopilot. The autopilot tries to keep the helo's attitude to the last trimmed attitude - which is zero bank and zero pitch when the helo is just been fired up. So every maneuvering is fighting the AP and that is why the helo does not really like to keep a banking angle in turns and pitch angles when accellerating/decellerating.
Perhaps. Although I get this with AP and Trim on or off and I usually fly with trim off and AP off. Having AP off and trim off should negate the effect of trim and autopilot?

To me it seems like there is a dead spot in the Y channel or maybe the lsb is not used or something. Such that nothing happens with a bit of forward or aft cyclic and then with a tad more Y input the aircraft seems to over react I kinda expect a much finer response to cyclic input. Roll on the other hand feels okay and seems to have a fairly constant response to input.

I don't notice this when in close to or near the ground and other stuff, generally having fun the situation changes constantly and so to cyclic input although when doing so I don't normally need to use a lot of cyclic input, well mostly.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 02:09 AM   #34
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 5,719
Reputation power: 30
Flagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of lightFlagrum is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FragBum View Post
Perhaps. Although I get this with AP and Trim on or off and I usually fly with trim off and AP off. Having AP off and trim off should negate the effect of trim and autopilot?

To me it seems like there is a dead spot in the Y channel or maybe the lsb is not used or something. Such that nothing happens with a bit of forward or aft cyclic and then with a tad more Y input the aircraft seems to over react I kinda expect a much finer response to cyclic input. Roll on the other hand feels okay and seems to have a fairly constant response to input.

I don't notice this when in close to or near the ground and other stuff, generally having fun the situation changes constantly and so to cyclic input although when doing so I don't normally need to use a lot of cyclic input, well mostly.
I don't really understand how the AP, trim and the gyros are supposed to interact with each other, but it was mentioned elsewhere a few times already: to disable all interferences of the AP, you have to turn off the gyros as well. That at least eliminates the helo's tendency to assume a 0 pitch attitude for me. But has other effects as well - as twitchy as she is then ... be carefull to no perform a complete forwar roll when you just try to assume a slight nose-down attitude ... :-D
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *

[Do you use a FFB device?]

Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 02:20 AM   #35
FragBum
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rockhampton QLD, AUS.
Posts: 708
Reputation power: 3
FragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagrum View Post
I don't really understand how the AP, trim and the gyros are supposed to interact with each other, but it was mentioned elsewhere a few times already: to disable all interferences of the AP, you have to turn off the gyros as well. That at least eliminates the helo's tendency to assume a 0 pitch attitude for me. But has other effects as well - as twitchy as she is then ... be carefull to no perform a complete forwar roll when you just try to assume a slight nose-down attitude ... :-D
Yes I have tried with gyro off or on doesn't seem to make any noticeable difference for the Y channel at level flight for me. On the other hand I don't consider the new Gazelle Fm to be twitchy compared to the older FM but still very responsive.

But I know what you mean.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 02:28 AM   #36
FragBum
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rockhampton QLD, AUS.
Posts: 708
Reputation power: 3
FragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura about
Default

Just to clarify I'm not saying this is specifically a fault of the Gazelle just an observation, it may be the limitation of my controls (or my ability) and the prior FM masked this somehow.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:16 AM   #37
Redglyph
Senior Member
 
Redglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,036
Reputation power: 7
Redglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuts View Post
My trimmer button causes extreme pitch up ....anyone else have this problem?,,,,grrrr!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FragBum View Post
However I can't get the Gazelle to fly level it's just a train wreck of nose up nose down nose up nose down....

Now I used to be able to nail this fairly easily and indeed still can for the Huey and Mi8

Anyone have any suggestions?

And yes Options->Misc->FFB is unchecked. (Although it really doesn't seem to make any difference.)

Options->special->342 there is no FFB option just 2 sliders?? I have uninstalled reinstalled blown away saved games.

FWIW It's the same in 1.5.7 and 2.1.1 latest versions.
It's strange, it's what I had with the FFB on (and like you, I don't see why it's not in the Special/S342 page either, given the impact on the controls...). Perhaps it was just coincidence it disappeared, I'm not sure but others also had control problems with FFB on.

See also this: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...68&postcount=3 (but you did disable it so... it's just the "no difference" part that is curious, could the setting be overriden somehow?)

It's a long shot, but you could post a track in the bug section, I'm not sure it would display the control positions in the bottom corner if you enabled that when "recording". I'm not even sure the track file contains control inputs or only the aircraft movements - my guess would be the control inputs seeing how replaying those track files fails sometimes, on beta versions or when the FM changes? If that is the case, it means someone else could play it back and check whether they see the same behaviour as you?

I never had a reply from Polychop though, I'm not sure they're very active in the forums. But if you post a track I'll run it on my system to compare if you want. Just tell exactly when to look for a pitch up or something wrong.

EDIT: The track idea works! I've recorded a small flight in which I'm trimming the Gazelle to fly low and level under power lines, then trim up a bit when the terrain climbs. Playing it back is fine, playing it back with FFB on is completely different, it mostly just spins around above the apron

So you could try and record a track file
Attached Files
File Type: trk SA342.trim.trk (573.1 KB, 3 views)
__________________
System specs: Win7 x64 | CPU: i7-4770K | RAM: 16 GB | GPU: GTX 980 Ti 6 GB | Thrustmaster HOTAS | Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals

Last edited by Redglyph; 11-18-2017 at 09:05 AM.
Redglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 11:50 AM   #38
FragBum
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rockhampton QLD, AUS.
Posts: 708
Reputation power: 3
FragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura aboutFragBum has a spectacular aura about
Default

Okay I gave that a try kool.

https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...1&d=1511005761
Attached Files
File Type: trk porpoise3trk.trk (812.8 KB, 19 views)
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 01:46 PM   #39
Holton181
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far north
Posts: 234
Reputation power: 3
Holton181 will become famous soon enoughHolton181 will become famous soon enough
Default

Regarding various FFB checkboxes. DCS has a history where after an update some settings had to be changed, saved, restart DCSW and finally change back the particular settings (with maybe a second restart necessary) to make it work as intended again. Maybe the case with the FFB checkboxes?
__________________
Helicopters and Viggen
DCS 1.5 and OpenAlpha
Win7 Pro 64bit
i7-3820 3.60GHz (OC4.75)
P9X79 Pro
32GB
2xGTX 670 2GB
VG278H + a Dell
PFT Lynx
TrackIR 5
Holton181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 05:08 PM   #40
Redglyph
Senior Member
 
Redglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,036
Reputation power: 7
Redglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the roughRedglyph is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FragBum View Post
Err, I have no idea what I'm supposed to see? To me it seems pretty much level but the autopilot is off. Did you use the trim?

As I said before, please indicate what is wrong and when
__________________
System specs: Win7 x64 | CPU: i7-4770K | RAM: 16 GB | GPU: GTX 980 Ti 6 GB | Thrustmaster HOTAS | Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals
Redglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.