AMD graphics not used - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2018, 09:42 PM   #1
vfa132
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default AMD graphics not used

DCS World will not utilize my discrete AMD Radeon R9 M380 graphics; it operates with the integrated Intel HD530 only. The AMD driver does not detect the DCS game, and even when the game is added manually using the Radeon switchable graphics screens it has no effect. The Radeon screen displays the high performance option but the Windows 10 task manager shows the game using the power saving Intel driver only. FSX and P3D both use the AMD graphics, both the graphics drivers are current, and this happens with both DCS 1.5.8 and 2.5.0. Maybe DCS thinks the Intel driver is better?
vfa132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 10:30 PM   #2
cthulhu68
Senior Member
 
cthulhu68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: R'lyeh, The Deepest Depths of the South Pacific
Posts: 1,210
Default

I think you need to disable on board graphics in device manager. Your monitor is plugged into graphic card I assume.
__________________
cthulhu68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 02:25 PM   #3
vfa132
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

The monitor is connected via DVI to the Intel graphics and the AMD is connected through it, so I can't disable the Intel. But if that's a problem how do the FSX and P3D apps work with the AMD?
vfa132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 02:37 PM   #4
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,014
Default

Why don't you just plug in your monitor directly to your AMD card?
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 03:07 PM   #5
vfa132
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

It's an HP Pavilion Wave 600, which is sort of like a laptop on a desk. Anyway, there's no way to connect directly.
vfa132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 05:44 PM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 9,014
Default

How do you know that the AMD driver does not detect DCS?
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 05:46 PM   #7
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,315
Default

this is why hybrid graphics arent good for gaming.


You need to make a profile for DCS.exe and tell it to use discrete GPU.
__________________
Windows 7 Ult. 64, HAF922, FX8350 @ 5.31GHz H100 Cooled, 16GB DDR3-2133 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 06:37 PM   #8
vfa132
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

The Windows 10 task manager performance tab reports the GPU functions.


What's involved in profiling (with Windows 10 home 64-bit)?
vfa132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 07:49 PM   #9
PetRock
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Default

So I am having a similar problem.

How was this resolved?
PetRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:29 PM   #10
cichlidfan+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
this is why hybrid graphics arent good for gaming.
Actually, this is why trying to use a non-gaming machine for gaming is not a good idea.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:52 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.