CPU Choice for DCS Build - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2019, 01:00 PM   #21
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 1,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearbox View Post
Here's the benchmarking I was thinking of, scroll down a bit and there are charts for DRAM frequency and impact on FPS:


https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...90&postcount=2


All other things equal he found a 10% increase in average FPS and a 15% increase in minimum FPS going from DDR4-2133 to DDR4-3200.
Perhaps so, as I noted my system got an improvement with better memory throughput.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D RTX2080Ti@1.665GHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.4GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Frankensteined Cyclic Collective and Saitek Combat Pro Pedals.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:05 PM   #22
Kazius
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 137
Default

For DCS go with the 9700K. Intel purposely removed hyper threading to allow for up to 200% boost multiplier. DCS isn't well coded for multi core and so the boost will be a huge bonus.
Kazius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 01:32 PM   #23
FragBum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: QLD, AUS.
Posts: 1,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazius View Post
For DCS go with the 9700K. Intel purposely removed hyper threading to allow for up to 200% boost multiplier. DCS isn't well coded for multi core and so the boost will be a huge bonus.
I think they removed HT so as not to compete with the 9900K it's a better CPU out of the box period, the 9700K might be better value as a gaming CPU.
__________________
Control is an illusion which usually shatters at the least expected moment.
Gazelle Mini-gun version is endorphins with rotors. See above.
DCS Rig. ASUS X99Pro i7 5930K@4.7Ghz Ino3D RTX2080Ti@1.665GHz 8*8GB DDR4@2.4GHz SSD EVGA 850W G2 Rift CV1 Windows 10Pro bu0836x and Frankensteined Cyclic Collective and Saitek Combat Pro Pedals.
FragBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:37 AM   #24
etherbattx
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 193
Default CPU Choice for DCS Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearbox View Post
All other things equal he found a 10% increase in average FPS and a 15% increase in minimum FPS going from DDR4-2133 to DDR4-3200.
that’s interesting. quite a bit more than youtube testers were getting in other games.
maybe dcs pulls more data from memory than those other games.
etherbattx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 09:38 PM   #25
Csgo GE oh yeah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Default

I think it does.
When playing it uses 10GB's of RAM @ 1080P for me .

That's ... a lot isn't it ?.
Csgo GE oh yeah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 04:13 PM   #26
Gearbox
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 226
Default

Hmm, is it worth disabling hyperthreading on my 8700k when running DCS?
Gearbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 06:55 PM   #27
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 5,349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearbox View Post
Hmm, is it worth disabling hyperthreading on my 8700k when running DCS?
No.

If you like to run it on real cores only, employ ProcessLasso from bitsum.com
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 12:40 AM   #28
pacotito
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
If you can wait a little bit, Ryzen 3000 leaks sound very promising towards the 5G...and much more cores than Intel, for equal money.

I'd go AMD if you can wait
I'd agree with this. Supposedly they are caught up to Intel on ipc. Although we wont know for sure till there's benchmarks
__________________
Pacotito

I7-5820k@4.5 Z99 extreme4 16gb ddr4
520gb ssd. Gigabyte ssc GTX960 SSC 4gb
pacotito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.