Black Shark Virtual Panel v.1.1 - Page 7 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2009, 11:30 AM   #61
BaD CrC
ED Translator
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,218
Default

Guys, I have to say I am really impressed by the quality of your work and I am very excited to be able to resume my pit construction thanks to you.
I am getting a little bit confused between TP and BSVP though.

I understand BSVP can diplay analog gauges on a remote PC, which is exactly what I needed. Beside, it seems like TP can also display SHKVAL and ABRIS on a secondary screen, but can he also do that on a remote PC?

My pit have 3 screens for the oustide view, and 3 screens for the cockpit (one left for analog gauges, one small screen for the center TV, one for the right part).

The left cockpit display issue is now resolved thanks to BSVP. For the right cockpit display, I can display ABRIS, but this prevent me from displaying any other gauges (no EKRAN, HSI,...). Beside, this display configuration is a huge hit on my FPS as the CPU have to handle a massive number of pixels.

So you see my issue here. Being able to run some combined BSVP/TP on a secondary PC to take care of all the cockpit displays would be the ultimate life saver.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 12:11 PM   #62
JG14_Smil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,223
Send a message via MSN to JG14_Smil
Default

Hello to all,

I have not followed anything about the TP as I don't own one, but the features are kind of what I will need for the right side of the I.P. ABRIS, EKRAN and guages there. Can I use the TP utility without a touchscreen monitor?

Oh, just wanted to point out that BSVP has worked in every MP server I have been in.
JG14_Smil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:00 PM   #63
BaD CrC
ED Translator
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,218
Default

JG14 Smil, yes, you don't need a touch screen monitor to use TP. You'll simply use your mouse instead.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 06:15 PM   #64
Mnemonic
Veteran
 
Mnemonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Zurich area, Switzerland
Posts: 3,334
Send a message via ICQ to Mnemonic
Default

BaD CrC
You have a fantastic setup!
How can I help you... Did you saw MaxiVista software?
http://www.maxivista.com/

It's shareware that allow you to use secondary PC as external monitor, it have some issues regarding to gaming (can be slow on framerates), but you can try a demo, maybe you will get an idea how to use it.

About exporting Skwal & Abris to another networked PC - I have no Idea how to make it, except using MaxiVista or something like that.

Maybe we will add "Ekran" to BSVP in future versions, but I doubt about Shkval or Abris.
__________________
Author of Gauge panel for DCS Black Shark - BSVP

Download Gauge Panel for LOFC 3.0
Mnemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:15 PM   #65
memento10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 92
Default

I think many of us are trying to figure out the best way to apply BSVP and Touchpal when building Homecockpits so that we can display all the gauges, Shkval, Abris and Ekran.
We would then place the monitor(s) behind a panel of the cockpit.

Would the following setup work?

1) Can a networked client PC be used to run TouchPal to display Shkval, Abris and Ekran?
2) Would we be able to customize the position/resolution of the Abris and Shkval in TouchPal?
3) Can we have two instances(windows) of BSVP running at the same time with 1 window for right gauges and a 2nd window for left gauges?

Thank you for your help with this!

memento10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:35 PM   #66
Gadroc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by memento10 View Post
I think many of us are trying to figure out the best way to apply BSVP and Touchpal when building Homecockpits so that we can display all the gauges, Shkval, Abris and Ekran.
We would then place the monitor(s) behind a panel of the cockpit.

Would the following setup work?

1) Can a networked client PC be used to run TouchPal to display Shkval, Abris and Ekran?
2) Would we be able to customize the position/resolution of the Abris and Shkval in TouchPal?
3) Can we have two instances(windows) of BSVP running at the same time with 1 window for right gauges and a 2nd window for left gauges?

Thank you for your help with this!
1) No. Shkval and ABRIS can not be made remote at this time. In my testing you take a much more significant FPS hit trying to do so than running multiple monitors on the main PC. In addition while you can extract those images there are visual artifacts. The Ekran works fine remote.
2) No. Touchpal does not currently render the Shkval and ABRIS Black Shark does and Touchpal just overlays the rest of the screen around that. See answer to #1 in regards to making Shkval and ABRIS remote.
3) I think this can be made to happen but it will be a little inefficient as it will require modifications to the Export.lua to send the data to both instances of BSVP. I have not attempted to run two instances of BSVP on the same computer.

I am beginning design work on a KA-50 pit to go alongside my current touch screen pit. I'll be doing some testing of some monitor configuration options soon. I intend on using software to render the gauges as well.
Gadroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 05:41 PM   #67
G3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 967
Default

a couple more for you to check out:
these are all single screen 1280x800
in this shot the instruments are positioned somewhat as they are in the virtual pit.
this layout was running 2 instances of bsvp but only the first one was getting data
i think Mnemonic said it would be possible to feed data to both instances.
if not i am sure it will be simple to extend one bsvp across 2 monitors on the networked pc.


the same as above using the alt+f1 view
note the camera view is 1280x400 aspect 3.2
this did set the hms position too high but could be my fault messing with the resolution settings.


alt+f1 view about to smoke that oncoming truck


same with f2 view


and another


now this one below was using alt+f1 but with camera @ 1280x800
the shkval and abris are there without doing anything else,
simply resize the bsvp window and gauges to suit.
i wonder if it is possible to have the camera view and the hud to remain stationary,
and just make the trackir move the hms, this would be good for people with
home pits where the cockpit is not required on screen.


hms position was back to normal in this one with cannon attacking the locals
a view like this might be good for people with a big tv or projector and
no other screens, you can resize abris/shkval and bsvp to your heart content.


and finally one to show how bsvp remains in position as
you look around with the hms, reminds me of the r22 view in msfs.
in these shots the bsvp window is well down below the bottom of the screen,
this was necessary due to the bsvp window scaling in relation to the vertical window size.
also all gauges had to be positioned from the middle of the bsvp window.


Mnemonic:
a few ideas,
1. is it possible to make the bsvp background optional like: transparent, totally black or gone altogether?
2. can we have an option to remove the window header and border without going full screen?
3. can you please advise on making 2 instances of bsvp work together?
4. the reflection on the instruments glass, can that also be optional?
5. the needle jumping, can the data be filtered a little to supress the spiking? (to ignore massive sudden changes)

note: am noticing quite a lot of gauge needle jumping, this seems to be a lot worse in local host mode (only 1 pc)
that's about it for my laptop experiments , hope you enjoyed the show.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_008.jpg
Views:	1726
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	33314   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_009.jpg
Views:	1697
Size:	48.5 KB
ID:	33315   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_012.jpg
Views:	1672
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	33316  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_014.jpg
Views:	1701
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	33317   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_019.jpg
Views:	1794
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	33318   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_022.jpg
Views:	1735
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	33319  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_025.jpg
Views:	1753
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	33320   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot_026.jpg
Views:	1702
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	33321  

Last edited by G3; 11-11-2009 at 06:26 PM.
G3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:39 PM   #68
Mnemonic
Veteran
 
Mnemonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Zurich area, Switzerland
Posts: 3,334
Send a message via ICQ to Mnemonic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggg87 View Post
a few ideas,
1. is it possible to make the bsvp background optional like: transparent, totally black or gone altogether?
2. can we have an option to remove the window header and border without going full screen?
3. can you please advise on making 2 instances of bsvp work together?
4. the reflection on the instruments glass, can that also be optional?
5. the needle jumping, can the data be filtered a little to supress the spiking? (to ignore massive sudden changes)

note: am noticing quite a lot of gauge needle jumping, this seems to be a lot worse in local host mode (only 1 pc)
that's about it for my laptop experiments , hope you enjoyed the show.
Great! Thanks
Some answers...
1. No I can't
2. Yes, I can make it
3. You can launch two BSVP's on two different PC's because they've both use the same port, so the option is to use different IP's. Changes in script the same as DD mentioned a bit earlier.
4. We need to ask DickDastardly to make the same set of day textures but without reflection, hope this would not be a problem, after this I can add "real" reflections (even moving ones) into BSVP, or turn them off. Now reflections are mainly baked into base diffuse texture.
5. I'll see what I can do about this
__________________
Author of Gauge panel for DCS Black Shark - BSVP

Download Gauge Panel for LOFC 3.0
Mnemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 10:03 PM   #69
BaD CrC
ED Translator
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mnemonic View Post
BaD CrC
You have a fantastic setup!
How can I help you... Did you saw MaxiVista software?
http://www.maxivista.com/

It's shareware that allow you to use secondary PC as external monitor, it have some issues regarding to gaming (can be slow on framerates), but you can try a demo, maybe you will get an idea how to use it.

About exporting Skwal & Abris to another networked PC - I have no Idea how to make it, except using MaxiVista or something like that.

Maybe we will add "Ekran" to BSVP in future versions, but I doubt about Shkval or Abris.
Hey mnemonic.
Thanks for your support and aswers. Didn't know maxivista. I went to the website and forum but I think that using maxivista for a networked ABRIS would take even more CPU on the server side (running BS) than if I am using my current configuration with multi screens.
__________________

8086K delid @5.1Ghz under EKWB Water, 2080Ti FE, 32Gb DDR4, 970Pro NvME.
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 01:25 PM   #70
argento
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Argentina
Posts: 42
Default

Didnt notice this thing until today!! Browsing for new mods on ****************
There's no word about this in the main BS forum (or at least i didnt see it)

Excelent job! Superb!!
Will get my old 17" CRT attached again to the computer to test this marvel !!
argento is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Shark Virtual Panel v.1.1 Mnemonic DCS: Ka-50 Черная Акула 63 11-24-2017 01:26 PM
Virtual Panel v.1.2.1 Mnemonic Общее Обсуждение 150 09-24-2017 05:09 AM
Black Shark Virtual Squadrons V1Rotate Multiplayer 11 09-20-2009 12:31 PM
Virtual Panel for Black Shark? Allo PC Hardware and Related Software 0 12-14-2008 10:58 AM
Virtual Panel! Mnemonic Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 30 01-18-2007 09:52 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.