Spitfire livery location - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2018, 12:02 AM   #1
Robert31178
Senior Member
 
Robert31178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,171
Default Spitfire livery location

hi all,

Just purchased the spit. Was wondering if any of you chaps might post the extension of where to put skins?

Cheers!
Robert31178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 12:21 AM   #2
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 1,681
Default

I use this one:

C:\Users\<your user>\Saved Games\DCS.openbeta\Liveries\SpitfireLFMkIX


If you dont use openbeta, then substitute it with \DCS\
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 11:37 AM   #3
Robert31178
Senior Member
 
Robert31178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,171
Default

So it didn't work for me out of that location, lol mine worked out of this one:

C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World OpenBeta\CoreMods\WWII Units\SpitfireLFMkIX\Liveries\SpitfireLFMkIX\Fargo express

It's so funny to me how the skins for each airframe are out in different locations on my end, and then in totally different locations for others. Hilarious!

Anyways, thanks for trying to help Rudel, much appreciated.

~Rob
Robert31178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 01:16 PM   #4
Captain Orso+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,148
Default

I thought this got officially added to DCSW, but I guess I was mistaken... not the first time, not the last

To get the liveries under Saved Games to work

1. Create folder 'c:\Users\username\Saved Games\DCS.Liveries'

2. Create the same folder names found under 'c:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Bazar\Liveries\' for a/c skins you want to use; eg. 'Bf-109K-4', 'FW-190D9', 'P-51D', etc.

3. Put your skin folders into the appropriate '..\DCS.Liveries\aircraft' folders.

4. Add the following lua file to: 'c:\Users\username\Saved Games\DCS\Mods\aircraft\Liveries Import\Entry.lua'

Entry.lua:
Code:
declare_plugin("Liveries Import",
{
installed 	 = true, 
dirName	  	 = current_mod_path,
version		 = "0.0.01 Alpha",		 
state		 = "installed",
info		 = _("Custom Liveries"),
})
---------------------------------------------------------
mount_vfs_liveries_path ("c:/Users/username/Saved Games/DCS.Liveries/")

---------------------------------------------------------
plugin_done()
That's it!

This will make all the skins in DCS.Liveries available to all DCS World installations you have, as long as it has the 'Entry.lua' file in place for the installation as per step 4.
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 04:34 PM   #5
Rudel_chw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 1,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Orso View Post
I thought this got officially added to DCSW, but I guess I was mistaken... not the first time, not the last

Back on DCS 1.2, I did use the Mod that you mention, first suggested by Skatezilla:


https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=174462


... but after ED added the functionality for Liveries on the Saved Games filetree I erased the Mod and now just use the path, that was first suggested by Uboats on this thread:


https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=190778


It has worked for me just fine, with liveries (and alternate cockpits) for all these aircrafts:





__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 16 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 04:41 PM   #6
Captain Orso+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,148
Default

Yup, I learned the trick from Skatezilla and have been using it since then.

And since I used to have 1.2, Open Beta, and Open Alpha installed, I saved myself a little space sharing the skins as per my last post above.

I still like Skatezilla's solution best, but YMMV
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 12:52 PM   #7
Wine
Junior Member
 
Wine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 88
Default Where to add custom Spit CW liveries ?

Hi guys,

Can you plz help me with two things getting my custom CW spit in DCS working ?

1- I guess I need to add a new folder for the CW livery in my Saved Games/Liveries section ..., do you know how it should be called ?

2- An example of the description.lua file for the CW would be very welcome !

Thanks in advance !

Trying to get this "Dutch" Spit in DCS:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/ajw1970/28493051986
__________________
Wine's Skinning Projects
Wine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 01:41 PM   #8
ams999
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 107
Default

The folder is called SpitfireLFMkIXCW

In the description.lua, everything called {"SpitfireIX", needs to be called {"SpitfireIX_k",

Then it should work. But be aware of the following:
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=214950
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=215143
ams999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 09:56 AM   #9
Wine
Junior Member
 
Wine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks ams999 !
__________________
Wine's Skinning Projects
Wine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 05:20 AM   #10
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 6,226
Default

put the livery folder in coremods/ww2 units/aircraft/spitfire/livery
__________________
AWAITING ED NEW DAMAGE MODEL IMPLEMENTATION FOR WW2 BIRDS

Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.