Open Beta, WTF are you talking about? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2020, 05:29 PM   #11
JIMJAM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 276
Default

In 1983 my state of the art Tandy computer from Radio Shack in todays money was over $3500
It was so I could run Microprose F-19. Cutting edge with lines for runways and triangles for mountains. Enabling the "advanced graphics" which was more dots, the machine choked and we had to wait for the 30 MHZ model.
Microsoft flight sim their longest running program with unlimited resources STILL had a resource buggy mess after 37 years. Then one of the largest military contractor got a hold of it and they ran into all the same problem.
Welcome to flight simming. If always being behind the tech curve and not being willing to tweak settings and understand ALL flight sims are a work in progress, sometimes DECADES, this might not be for you.
JIMJAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 06:47 PM   #12
Dagger71
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 591
Default

From two weeks ago:



Quote:
Originally Posted by vanir View Post
Around 1984 I fell in love with flight sims so I seriously love ED too. Honestly, they can't really do wrong by me, I consider the money I've happily spent to be an absolute bargain for not just the quality of the product but also the sheer man-hours that I know full well goes into it. I've javascripted a little for IL2 SAAS mod version, I spent an entire year researching my Ta152C0/C3 flight models,

I cannot believe anyone who's been around DCS since 2008 is only NOW questioning why new modules being released on OB before stable.


Also there was a bright red indication on the SC product page with the following: Requires DCS World Open Beta version 2.5.6 or above!

Last edited by Dagger71; 05-23-2020 at 08:46 PM.
Dagger71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:10 PM   #13
pii
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanir View Post
I feel like I should've been given full disclosure during pre-sale marketing that the normal everyday stable 2.5.5 that you don't need a NASA mainframe to get some FPS with won't actually be getting supercarrier module access until it's updated in well, maybe a year or two.

You seriously pre sold without mentioning it won't install, assuming some people don't like bugging up their PCs with beta shells?

That's really dishonest. Anyone ED related want to clear up exactly the **** is the deal here?
Not their fault you didn't read the requirement. You should also know EVERYTHING comes out in Open Beta if its early access because they are not complete yet. You can install both if you wish or do as I do and just run OB its really not that bad. You can also switch between a single install with the updater but I don't know the parameter but its very easy once you know how.
pii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:48 PM   #14
Dunx
Junior Member
 
Dunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: UK, South East
Posts: 96
Default

To be fair, he may have purchased SC via Steam.

There is (still) no mention of open beta being a requirement on the Steam store page.

https://store.steampowered.com/app/1..._Supercarrier/
__________________
Best before end July 1967.
A-10C ● AV-8B ● F-16C ● F-5E ● F/A-18C ● FC3 ● Ka-50 ● Mi-8MTV2 ● SA-342 ● UH-1H ● Spit ● SC ● All Maps
i7-5820K ● 1080TI Strix ● 32GB 2666MHz DDR4 ● Evo M.2 ● Rift ● Reverb ● TM Throttle / A10C / FA18C / TPR
Dunx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 01:18 PM   #15
Neil Gardner
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMJAM View Post
In 1983 my state of the art Tandy computer from Radio Shack in todays money was over $3500
It was so I could run Microprose F-19. Cutting edge with lines for runways and triangles for mountains. Enabling the "advanced graphics" which was more dots, the machine choked and we had to wait for the 30 MHZ model.
Microsoft flight sim their longest running program with unlimited resources STILL had a resource buggy mess after 37 years. Then one of the largest military contractor got a hold of it and they ran into all the same problem.
Welcome to flight simming. If always being behind the tech curve and not being willing to tweak settings and understand ALL flight sims are a work in progress, sometimes DECADES, this might not be for you.
I've shared your pain brother! JimJim is absolutely right. I've been flight simming since FS2000 and it has always been the most frustrating, heart breaking, wonderful hobby in PC simulation. Its the place where things are experimented with and so the place in which some things don't end up working quite as intended. Nevertheless, I have to tell you that contemporary modelling and creating of environment, especially in something like DCS is positively supernatural by comparison with how things were only a few years ago. And if there is something wrong, they will fix it reasonably quickly.
Neil Gardner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:36 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.