MIG29 NAV (and F15) - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2018, 01:03 AM   #11
IvanK
ED Testers Team
 
IvanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SYD Australia
Posts: 2,258
Default

So if we go for Airfield ID numbers we already have the Caucaus list from the SU25T from the supplements section of the manual:



Does a Similar list exist for Nevada ? by experimentation:

17 RTN Airfields in Nevada

Creech is ID1
Groom Lake is ID2
McCarran is ID3
Nellis is ID4
Beatty is ID5
Boulder is ID6
Echo Bay is ID7
Henderson is ID8
Jean Airport is ID9
Laughalan is ID10
Lincoln County is ID11
Mesquite is ID12
Mina is ID13
North Las Vegas is ID14
Pahute Mesa is ID15
Tonopah is ID16
Tonopah Test field is ID17

Obviously a list for the new Gulf map would be required.

Last edited by IvanK; 02-10-2018 at 07:46 PM.
IvanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 03:10 AM   #12
PeaceSells
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: getSelfCoordinates()
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esac_mirmidon View Post
With this. Similar to the Mig-21. RSBN-ADF, Course selector

Looks like there are 3 waypoint buttons at the top of that panel, for 3 possible waypoints (or pre-programmed airfields) total, like in the Su-25A? I suppose they would get illuminated when selected, just like in the Su-25A, or simply appear depressed? If that's the case, I can't think of a simpler and at the same time more realistic and cooler way of doing it.
__________________
My DCS modding videos:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...vOUdZRNh3y3Un3

Modules I own so far:
Black Shark 2, FC3, UH-1H, M-2000C, A-10C, MiG-21, Gazelle, Nevada map
PeaceSells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 04:40 AM   #13
IvanK
ED Testers Team
 
IvanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SYD Australia
Posts: 2,258
Default

So if we just went with Wypt no in ENR and Airfield ID no in RTN and LNDG in the MIG29/SU27/SU33 it would just require copying the same code used in the SU25T

It would look something like this:

IvanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 10:40 AM   #14
Alfa
Veteran
 
Alfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 4,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeaceSells View Post
Looks like there are 3 waypoint buttons at the top of that panel, for 3 possible waypoints (or pre-programmed airfields) total, like in the Su-25A?
Correct.

Quote:
I suppose they would get illuminated when selected, just like in the Su-25A, or simply appear depressed?
They are illuminated - the text caption(in this case numbers) are illuminated in red(see attachment).

Quote:
If that's the case, I can't think of a simpler and at the same time more realistic and cooler way of doing it.
I agree
__________________
JJ

Last edited by Alfa; 05-16-2018 at 05:07 PM.
Alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 11:03 AM   #15
PeaceSells
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: getSelfCoordinates()
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa View Post
Thanks for the clarification!

It seems all the methods proposed in this thread already exist in other FC3 planes, so it would probably require minimum effort to be implemented, but the benefit would be huge. Actually, this is not truly a benefit, but more of a fix. Cmon ED, you know you want do do this!
__________________
My DCS modding videos:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...vOUdZRNh3y3Un3

Modules I own so far:
Black Shark 2, FC3, UH-1H, M-2000C, A-10C, MiG-21, Gazelle, Nevada map
PeaceSells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 06:36 PM   #16
Ironhand
Veteran
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeaceSells View Post
Looks like there are 3 waypoint buttons at the top of that panel, for 3 possible waypoints (or pre-programmed airfields) total, like in the Su-25A? I suppose they would get illuminated when selected, just like in the Su-25A, or simply appear depressed? If that's the case, I can't think of a simpler and at the same time more realistic and cooler way of doing it.
You can actually program 6 WP with the 3 buttons and the 2-position switch to the left according to the RW manual. EDIT: Actually, that switch position (ППМ/АЗР) allows you to select 3 navigation points (in the "up" position) and 3 airfields (in the "down" position).
__________________
http://rsoro.host22.com/Flankertraining_Images/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg

Win 10 Pro x64, ASUS Z97 Pro MoBo, Intel i7-4790K, EVGA GTX 970 4GB, HyperX Savage 16GB, Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD, 2x Seagate Hybrid Drive 2TB Raid 0.

Last edited by Ironhand; 02-09-2018 at 07:06 PM.
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 09:09 PM   #17
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,363
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

We dont need any extra symbols on the HUD.

Everything needed for navigation is on the ADI, the HSI and the Navigation Panel, and the HUD. The only thing missing is the Nav Panel.

The HUD shows distance to the WP-BASE selected in the Nav Panel, and a guide ring to follow.

The HSI shows DISTANCE-HEADING to that WP-BASE and the guiding needles ( desired heading, desired track )

The ADI shows guide indications also to follow both in pitch and in roll to center the WP or the BASE selected.

What we need if possible to code are operative lights on the Nav Panel like the Su-25 to know what WP is selected, or Base selected, and the mode in what we are, ROUTE-RTN-LANDING. In an ideal DCS enviroment we should be able to use the Nav Panel using the keyboard ( even withour clickable cockpit ) to select and highlight the WP-BASE desired, the RSBN channel, the Navigation ADF channel and the main Nav modes.

But i think this is to much for a FC3 level sim.

With operating lights like the Su-25 should be a good addition.
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 64 bits Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6 - GTX 1060 EXOC KFA2 - 16 Gigas RAM 1.600 - 1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55 - MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.