Mi-8 & Huey View Bug. Any other view than Captain severely bugs the model. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2014, 11:11 AM   #1
Raude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Default Mi-8 & Huey View Bug. Any other view than Captain severely bugs the model.

Examples: (First picture of each module is the correct view)

http://imgur.com/a/UQC7M

I've tried to delete the server.lua and SnapViewsDefault.lua files and getting new ones, to no avail. I haven't found another thread which solved this, hopefully someone knows as I've met others whom have the same issue.

I'm not running DCS through steam.
Raude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 11:14 AM   #2
Sceptre
Senior Member
 
Sceptre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,576
Default

Have you tried re install? It looks like corrupt file, but I can not think of more, sorry.
__________________
GTX 1060Ti 6GB SC | 12GB RAM | i7 2600@3.4Ghz | 500GB Crucial SSD | CH Fighterstick/Pro Throttle | TM MFDs | TrackIR 5
Sceptre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 11:21 AM   #3
Cibit
Veteran
 
Cibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northumberland. UK
Posts: 4,244
Default

I have the same issue with Mi-8. Never go to any other seat when driving the huey but will try next time I fire game up
__________________
i5 8600k@5.2Ghz, Asus Prime A Z370, 16Gb DDR4 3000, GTX1080 SC, Oculus Rift CV1, Modded TM Warthog Modded X52 Collective, Jetseat, W10 Pro 64

Cibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 12:36 PM   #4
Raude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sceptre View Post
Have you tried re install? It looks like corrupt file, but I can not think of more, sorry.
Yeah, that's when I went overr to dcs standalone. I also did an integrity check and everything was fine.
Raude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 12:38 PM   #5
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 6,004
Default

I can confirm this odd behaviour. Under 1.2.10u3 the whole cockpit seems to be shifted to the aft when sitting at position 2 or 3 whereas under 1.2.10u2 everything was still fine.

Funny thing is, I can't find any difference in the files when I compare both versions. Textures, 3d model and lua files - all seem to be unaltered? Only the binaries are different ... (I always thought, the position of the internal cockpit model is defined in some lua file?)
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *


Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 01:21 PM   #6
Devrim
Veteran
 
Devrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Turkey
Posts: 4,185
Default

Hey guys.

I don't confirm this bug for v1.2.10u3 - No problem here.

You must have installed a mod, like PeterP's Proper Neck or something? So, did you try delete view.lua in "..\Saved Games\DCS\Config\" folder?
__________________
i7-2600 @3.4GHz | Corsair Veng. 16GB @1600MHz. | MSI nVidia GTX970 | Samsung 850EVO 256GB SSD (Win7HPx64)
Samsung 27" LS27D590P & Samsung 20" SyncMaster206BW | Saitek X-55 Rhino & Rudder | Trustmaster MFD Cougars | Logitech G13 & G230 & G510 & SwitchPanel | TIR5

MY MODS | MY CONTROLLER PROFILE
Devrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 01:55 PM   #7
Raude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devrim View Post
Hey guys.

I don't confirm this bug for v1.2.10u3 - No problem here.

You must have installed a mod, like PeterP's Proper Neck or something? So, did you try delete view.lua in "..\Saved Games\DCS\Config\" folder?
I don't have such a file in the config folder. I have something called ViewConsumer.lua though.
Raude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 02:11 PM   #8
Cibit
Veteran
 
Cibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northumberland. UK
Posts: 4,244
Default

I installed the neck mod but thought it would be overwritten after updated rc
__________________
i5 8600k@5.2Ghz, Asus Prime A Z370, 16Gb DDR4 3000, GTX1080 SC, Oculus Rift CV1, Modded TM Warthog Modded X52 Collective, Jetseat, W10 Pro 64

Cibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 02:19 PM   #9
Flagrum
Veteran
 
Flagrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 32U MC0539
Posts: 6,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devrim View Post
Hey guys.

I don't confirm this bug for v1.2.10u3 - No problem here.

You must have installed a mod, like PeterP's Proper Neck or something? So, did you try delete view.lua in "..\Saved Games\DCS\Config\" folder?
...

That was it, thanks Devrim!

For those who have the same issue with that Proper Neck mod of PeterP: the section for the Mi-8 is probably outdated and/or incomplete. I've copied over the relevant lines from the mods\aircraft\Mi-8\views.lua and now it seems to work fine.

Replace the section for the Mi-8 in Saved Games\Config\Views\Server.lua
Code:
ViewSettings["Mi-8MT"] = {
    Cockpit = {
    [1] = default_fighter_player({
    
    .......
    
    }, -- Cockpit 
    Chase = {
        LocalPoint      = {-5.700000,1.400000,-3},
        AnglesDefault   = {0,-8.000000},
    }, -- Chase 
    Arcade = {
        LocalPoint      = {-20.000000,5.000000,0.000000},
        AnglesDefault   = {0.000000,-8.000000},
    }, -- Arcade 
}
with this:
Code:
ViewSettings["Mi-8MT"] = {
    Cockpit = {
    [1] = default_fighter_player({
        CockpitLocalPoint      = {3.916, -0.11 , 0.0},
        CameraViewAngleLimits  = GlobalCameraViewAngleLimits,
        CameraAngleRestriction = {false,90.000000,0.400000},
        CameraAngleLimits      = {140.000000,-65.000000,90.000000},
        EyePoint               = GlobalEyePoint,
        limits_6DOF           = {    x      = {-0.200000,0.500000},
                                    y      = {-0.200000,0.350000},
                                    z      = {-0.800000,0.400000},
                                    roll = 90.000000} 
                                }),

    
    [2] = default_fighter_player({-- player slot 2
        CockpitLocalPoint      = {3.916, -0.11 , 0.0},
        CameraViewAngleLimits  = GlobalCameraViewAngleLimits,
        CameraAngleRestriction = {false,90.000000,0.400000},
        CameraAngleLimits      = {140.000000,-65.000000,90.000000},
        limits_6DOF            = {    x = {-0.200000,0.500000},
                                    y = {-0.200000,0.350000},
                                    z = {-0.400000,0.800000},
                                    roll = 90.000000},
                                 }),

    [3] = default_fighter_player({-- player slot 3
        CockpitLocalPoint      = {3.916, -0.11 , 0.0},
        CameraViewAngleLimits  = GlobalCameraViewAngleLimits,
        CameraAngleRestriction = {false,90.000000,0.400000},
        CameraAngleLimits      = {140.000000,-65.000000,90.000000},
        limits_6DOF            = {    x = {-0.200000,0.500000},
                                    y = {-0.200000,0.350000},
                                    z = {-0.400000,0.400000},
                                    roll = 90.000000},
                                 }),
    
    }, -- Cockpit 
    Chase = {
        LocalPoint      = {-5.700000,1.400000,-3},
        AnglesDefault   = {0,-8.000000},
    }, -- Chase 
    Arcade = {
        LocalPoint      = {-20.000000,5.000000,0.000000},
        AnglesDefault   = {0.000000,-8.000000},
    }, -- Arcade 
}
And as always: do at your own risk, make a backup before altering the file and don't hold me responsible if anything bad happens ... or anything good happens! :o)

edit:
I think, this DOES work. I edited it out earlier because when I re-tested it, it did not work ... but that was just a mistake of me. I tested it with a test mission ... but saved missions include the server.lua so I actually had the old, errorneous behaviour although it actually does work for fresh missions ... argh. Never mind ... tl;dr: this fix DOES work.
__________________
DCS - Digital Combat Simulator
"Don't get yourselves too excited" *



Last edited by Flagrum; 10-11-2014 at 08:50 PM.
Flagrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 03:15 PM   #10
Cibit
Veteran
 
Cibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northumberland. UK
Posts: 4,244
Default

Ha hum mutter mutter mutter. How embarrassing

Cheers Devrim
__________________
i5 8600k@5.2Ghz, Asus Prime A Z370, 16Gb DDR4 3000, GTX1080 SC, Oculus Rift CV1, Modded TM Warthog Modded X52 Collective, Jetseat, W10 Pro 64

Cibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, gunner, huey, mi-8, view

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.