Sound modding in DCS - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2017, 08:33 PM   #1
WNC
Junior Member
 
WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Default Sound modding in DCS

I was under the impression by reading up before purchasing DCS, it was a mod friendly flight simulation.

In IL-2 1946 modding sound was pretty straight forward, there were "*.WAV" files in a "SAMPLE" folder and there were "*.PRS" files in a "PRESETS" folder that would tell the "*.WAV" files what to do.

In DCS there are "*.WAV" files but have no clue what tells them what to do?

WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 03:37 AM   #2
cubanace
Senior Member
 
cubanace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 1,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WNC View Post
I was under the impression by reading up before purchasing DCS, it was a mod friendly flight simulation.

In IL-2 1946 modding sound was pretty straight forward, there were "*.WAV" files in a "SAMPLE" folder and there were "*.PRS" files in a "PRESETS" folder that would tell the "*.WAV" files what to do.

In DCS there are "*.WAV" files but have no clue what tells them what to do?


Hi Welcome to DCS,what type of sounds are you trying to change?

As in for Aircraft Sounds they are done by replacing the sounds in EFFECTS FOLDER and what tells the sounds what to do is found under SDEF FOLDER,located in your MOD File of your Aircraft,If your Mod does not have the above Folders Add them you also Need to call the sounds in your Entry Lua.

Code

mount_vfs_sound_path (current_mod_path.."/Sounds/Your Plane name/")
__________________

SU-57 Developer Apprentice For DCS WORLD
"2D/3D Texturing Coding Apprentice"


SU-57 PAK FA Project
https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/2539621/
Cubanace Simulations
https://www.facebook.com/Cubanacesimulations/
My 3D/2D Modeling PortFolio
https://www.artstation.com/cubanace-simulations

AMD Athelon 64 X2 5600+ 2.90 GHZ
4 GB Ram.
AMD Board.
Windows 7
"Rig will be updated on 2019."

Last edited by cubanace; 11-27-2017 at 03:41 AM.
cubanace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 02:23 PM   #3
WNC
Junior Member
 
WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Hi Welcome to DCS,what type of sounds are you trying to change?

As in for Aircraft Sounds they are done by replacing the sounds in EFFECTS FOLDER and what tells the sounds what to do is found under SDEF FOLDER,located in your MOD File of your Aircraft,If your Mod does not have the above Folders Add them you also Need to call the sounds in your Entry Lua.

Code

mount_vfs_sound_path (current_mod_path.."/Sounds/Your Plane name/")
Thanks,

Am wanting to change the P-51D inside cockpit sounds, engine, flaps, gear etc.

I have broken down kermits P-51C https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4z1Z-WEZZGM sound into wav files and did a good job using them in IL2-1946 and Prepar3D, would like to do the same in DCS. The default sound is not good at all. If I just replace existing wav files with mine, is still not good so am thinking it must be the sdef files porking the wav files. atleast that is what I am hoping is the problem.

I tried Diveplane's mod https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=144277 it was a big improvement, but using it I lost my flaps and gear sound.

Since I posted, I found the sdef files. Where I am now is trying to figure out how to open them. I did a search and looks like it is some kind of weird apple software that is payware?

I was able to find a software called "file viewer plus" to open Lua files, and am able to edit numbers in existing Lua files but to write Lua language I am not there yet, so when you say
Quote:
call the sounds in your Entry Lua
could you elaborate?

Last edited by WNC; 11-29-2017 at 05:14 PM.
WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 05:16 PM   #4
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,619
Default

They're text files, open them with any text editor (though Notepad++ is traditionally best for that kind of job). No idea what the included parameters do, however, as I never tinkered with them.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 07:45 PM   #5
WNC
Junior Member
 
WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art-J View Post
They're text files, open them with any text editor (though Notepad++ is traditionally best for that kind of job). No idea what the included parameters do, however, as I never tinkered with them.
my note pad has always been default to pull up text, when I installed the "view file plus" for Lua it must have taken over as default so sdef files would not open. I never heard of sdef file so I figured it was some kinda weirdo special type file. ok ...fantastic!
WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 07:48 PM   #6
WNC
Junior Member
 
WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Need to call the sounds in your Entry Lua.
So this Lua file points the way?
WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 01:10 PM   #7
jafa
Member
 
jafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 164
Default

Your SDEF is basically doing the same job as the old PRS files from il2 , DCS uses a cone system for the sound its values are tuned via the SDEF , Doppler wise its a good system but its limited by the amount of SDEF files per aircraft that you can add-IE-NONE.
For most prop aircraft the allocation is not too bad but for the jets it verges on useless for us sound modders.

Cheers
Jafa

PS , you dont need anything fancy to edit the SDEF files , notepad will do just fine.

Last edited by jafa; 11-30-2017 at 01:13 PM.
jafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 06:47 PM   #8
I_Gamer
Junior Member
 
I_Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 21
Default

Has there been any updates as to how we could call our own sounds into an aircraft? I assume the new sound engine made it pretty much impossible to do, since most of the code that handles how/when a sound plays is hidden somewhere. Being able to make changes to how the game does handle these sounds would give me, and other sound modders, a huge leg up in sound design.

There is a /ed_sound.dll file in the bin folder - but cannot be read by any of my decompilers since it is in 64bit format. I was hoping ED could provide some information behind this, but their tech support is less than easy to talk to unfortunately.
I_Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 03:43 AM   #9
fitness88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,830
Default

So trying to increase sound by increasing the gain value in the sdef files no longer works as it did in 1.5?
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 06:42 PM   #10
I_Gamer
Junior Member
 
I_Gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
So trying to increase sound by increasing the gain value in the sdef files no longer works as it did in 1.5?
Depends on which sound you're trying to gain up, as many sounds have other variables you have to consider into volume level.
I_Gamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.