New GME software - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2016, 03:38 PM   #21
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

* Support for generic "description.txt" and "readme.txt" in zip : done...
* Right-click pop-up menu for "open folder or archive" : done...
* Option for custom backup folder : wip...

New version will probably be available tomorrow...
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 04:13 PM   #22
f4l0
Senior Member
 
f4l0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
* Support for generic "description.txt" and "readme.txt" in zip : done...
* Right-click pop-up menu for "open folder or archive" : done...
* Option for custom backup folder : wip...

New version will probably be available tomorrow...
Great.

I noticed, that it is a bit hard to see which mods are active and which not. Maybe some color or highlight effect might be useful. In addition, ability to resize the window would be nice.
__________________
f4l0
Developer of Simshaker for Aviators

Feel the brrrrttt:
[Official] SimShaker for Aviators Forums thread at ED forums
SimShaker blog - transfer game effects into the real world
SimShaker Soundmodule with Voicemeeter Banana Setup: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=2469416

DCS Toggle Switches

System specs: Intel i7-8700k, 32 GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 GTX, lots of SSDs
Flightgear: Oculus Rift, Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Cougar MFDs, Jetseat, Bass shaker
f4l0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 04:26 PM   #23
uboats
ED Tester / ED Moderator
 
uboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East Sierra
Posts: 5,329
Default

great job
__________________
东风夜放花千树,更吹落,星如雨


My DCS Mods, Skins, Utilities and Scripts

| Windows 10 | i7-4790K | GTX 980Ti Hybrid | 32GB RAM | 2TB SSD + 1TB HDD |
| TM Warthog Stick | CH Pro Throttle + Pro Pedal | TIR5 Pro | TM MFD Cougar | Gun Camera: PrtScn |
uboats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 05:20 PM   #24
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
Great.

I noticed, that it is a bit hard to see which mods are active and which not. Maybe some color or highlight effect might be useful. In addition, ability to resize the window would be nice.
Yes i thought of that problem of visibility, however, changing single item colour in the list-view is a kind of winapi-hacking... it is possible, but twisted (thanks to Microsoft)... i will see for that if i have some courage.

For resizable dialog window, forgets... this is too painful to code, must implement resizing and placement of all items according window size (ho my god, i imagine the list of GetWindowRect and GetWindowPos to align elements toghether... i know some people do that, but they are paid for that )... but i can make the window larger once for all...

GUI is the most boring thing to code...

Last edited by sedenion; 08-07-2016 at 05:23 PM.
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 05:28 PM   #25
f4l0
Senior Member
 
f4l0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,448
Default

I'm just a Compiler Developer thus only dealing with console applications and on Linux which is very developer friendly
I thought that one can use some relative layout and anchor elements to the border.

In ancient days, one could derive from the tableview and implement this behavior. But this knowledge is pre .Net :-)
__________________
f4l0
Developer of Simshaker for Aviators

Feel the brrrrttt:
[Official] SimShaker for Aviators Forums thread at ED forums
SimShaker blog - transfer game effects into the real world
SimShaker Soundmodule with Voicemeeter Banana Setup: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=2469416

DCS Toggle Switches

System specs: Intel i7-8700k, 32 GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 GTX, lots of SSDs
Flightgear: Oculus Rift, Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Cougar MFDs, Jetseat, Bass shaker
f4l0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 05:44 PM   #26
DeJohn
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 186
Default

Sedenion;

Great mod, thanks for your effort.

Your mod has some improved features over JSGME.

Pros and Cons of OvGME vs JSGEM (I understand this is a WIP, so its not a criticism of either one, just an observation)

Pro-
1] Able to run the program from anywhere on your computer.
(This is a great plus as I try to keep original games and files on an SSD, and ancillary ones on HDD. Example of my computer... SSD-1 System Operating files, SSD-2 Games, HDD- OS programs folder, OS User folder, and other storage of files that are not needed to be in OS or Game folders)

2] Able to be used for multiple games from one GUI
(Another great plus, as there is no need of duplicating installs to each game)

3] Addition of description of Mod.
(This comes in handy if you have mods that are similar in nature.)

Con-

1] No ability to take snapshot of game files.
(This is necessary to compare files before and after updates, to know what changes have been made to game files or structure, which may impact on any mods you use.)

2] No report of one mod acting on another.
(It is important to know if a mod you are activating is impacting on or changing mods already activated, thus the possibility of braking one or more of the previous mods.)

3] Ease of use.
(Having to go to the menu bar and then choose an option from a list can get tedious if you have many mods to activate/deactivate after an update.)


Wish List- (don't know if its possible to do or not, but would be nice to have)

- Add buttons for activation/deactivation
- Add ability for Snapshot and compare of game files and structures
- (this one is a BIG hope of mine) The ability to use '_OvGME' mod folder from anywhere on computer. Reason for this is some mods can take up a lot of drive space (such as object or texture files. Space that could be used to install more games on your SSD)


Again, thanks for your time and effort. Being a programmer of an earlier era (Fortran and Cobol for those who are to young to know or remember them) I know how daunting it can be sometimes trying to get something to work how you would like.

Last edited by DeJohn; 08-07-2016 at 05:47 PM.
DeJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 05:52 PM   #27
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
I thought that one can use some relative layout and anchor elements to the border.
And... no, this is not css/html... i searched for that, and the answer seem to be: with C/C++ standard WinAPI, we must code all algorithms with algebra to calculate ratios and positions each time window is resized, like a warior (which does not surprise me at all) ... not conceptually hard, but painful and boring. I heard somewhere that with MCF lib it's more easy, but MFC is another kind of labyrinthine system...

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
In ancient days, one could derive from the tableview and implement this behavior. But this knowledge is pre .Net :-)
I think .NET implements this kind of automatism, and i even guess that Microsoft sell a very expensive WYSIWYG software with their "Visual Studio pouet pouet" to makes this kind of super cool (and utra-heavy ) GUI, but here i use the good old legacy WinAPI with ResEdit...
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 06:12 PM   #28
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
1] No ability to take snapshot of game files.
(This is necessary to compare files before and after updates, to know what changes have been made to game files or structure, which may impact on any mods you use.)
Ok, here you have to explain me how this kind of feature must act, because i never used this feature... what is needed to know, how should it be presented, etc..

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
2] No report of one mod acting on another.
(It is important to know if a mod you are activating is impacting on or changing mods already activated, thus the possibility of braking one or more of the previous mods.)
This is implemented... and it works, as far as i tested... When you enable a mod, it check with all already installed mod to verify if files overlap those of already installed mods, if yes, it prompt you a warning window.. it even give you the list of overlaped files for each mod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
3] Ease of use.
(Having to go to the menu bar and then choose an option from a list can get tedious if you have many mods to activate/deactivate after an update.)
You can double-click on mods to toggle enable/disable... but i can add buttons bellow the list (Toggle selected, Enable Selected, disable selected, disable all, enable all)... i even can add some right-click command.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
- Add buttons for activation/deactivation
Ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
- Add ability for Snapshot and compare of game files and structures
Here i need explanation

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
- (this one is a BIG hope of mine) The ability to use '_OvGME' mod folder from anywhere on computer. Reason for this is some mods can take up a lot of drive space (such as object or texture files. Space that could be used to install more games on your SSD)
Ok, you mean, the ability to have the mods stock folder in other place than in the game root folder ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
Again, thanks for your time and effort. Being a programmer of an earlier era (Fortran and Cobol for those who are to young to know or remember them) I know how daunting it can be sometimes trying to get something to work how you would like.
The most painful is the GUI, i hate GUI
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 10:16 PM   #29
DeJohn
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
1] No ability to take snapshot of game files.
(This is necessary to compare files before and after updates, to know what changes have been made to game files or structure, which may impact on any mods you use.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
Ok, here you have to explain me how this kind of feature must act, because i never used this feature... what is needed to know, how should it be presented, etc..
The first time you run jsgme for a game (say DCS) before activating any mods, you click on "Generate snapshot", the app creates and saves text file list of all files and their structure contained in the game folder. The next time DCS is updated, you'd click on "Compare Game Files with Snapshot". Then it reports to you what files remained the 'SAME', which have the same file name but have changed 'DIFFERENT', which have been 'REMOVED' and which are 'NEW' to the game. Once you've made the comparison and save it if you wish too, you would once again click generate snapshot and replace the old one with the new list of files.

Example of Snapshot, and Comparison..

Spoiler:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Excerpt of Snapshot

D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\ADEN_GUNPOD.edm 7ed2a214edb963f6abcf517053e1f407
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk.EDM a87104461c8a9f401d71463b075cbc14
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk.lods 6b5d23ee7d1f11ae8d707bfb3f7d24f3
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\hawk_canopy.EDM 6844bbf1f5c84357d71236c55a2b5a96
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\hawk_destr.EDM bb3fbae1085f96bf20d021863ff7eda9
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk_LOD1.EDM 901393c032264a2a2910f791023255f3
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk_LOD2.EDM ce988c59f95fe86eca5cf324219373a6
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\hawk-collision.EDM 357c0ae695179b8842a273c08bf05b00
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Textures\
D:\Games\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Textures\Hawk.zip


Excerpt of comparison (preivouse snapshot to updated game)

CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\ SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\ADEN_GUNPOD.edm NEW
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\hawk-collision.EDM DIFFERENT
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk.EDM SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk.lods SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\hawk_canopy.EDM SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\hawk_destr.EDM SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk_LOD1.EDM SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Shapes\Hawk_LOD2.EDM SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Textures\ SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Textures\Hawk.zip DIFFERENT
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Textures\XX100_TFC.zip SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\Hawk\Views.lua SAME
CoreMods\aircraft\L-39\ SAME
------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
2] No report of one mod acting on another.
(It is important to know if a mod you are activating is impacting on or changing mods already activated, thus the possibility of braking one or more of the previous mods.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
This is implemented... and it works, as far as i tested... When you enable a mod, it check with all already installed mod to verify if files overlap those of already installed mods, if yes, it prompt you a warning window.. it even give you the list of overlaped files for each mod.
Sorry, you are correct, you've one better than jsgme, in that yours checks the files, not just the folder name


Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
3] Ease of use.
(Having to go to the menu bar and then choose an option from a list can get tedious if you have many mods to activate/deactivate after an update.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
You can double-click on mods to toggle enable/disable... but i can add buttons bellow the list (Toggle selected, Enable Selected, disable selected, disable all, enable all)... i even can add some right-click command.
I'm sorry, I missed the double-click ability

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
- Add ability for Snapshot and compare of game files and structures
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
Here i need explanation
With the info attained from the comparison, you are able to tell if there are any mods that need re-structuring, or edit any lua files you may have edited. As an example of this... I have a physical simpit with real switches, knobs and lights. Since most commands are programmed by default for use with a keyboard (aka momentary push button). I have edited some of the lua files so that they reflect the switches I have, ie.. toggle, rotary etc. And use this information to know when the DEVs make changes to anything I have edited, so I don't have to do it from scratch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeJohn View Post
-(this one is a BIG hope of mine) The ability to use '_OvGME' mod folder from anywhere on computer. Reason for this is some mods can take up a lot of drive space (such as object or texture files. Space that could be used to install more games on your SSD)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
Ok, you mean, the ability to have the mods stock folder in other place than in the game root folder ?
Yes, exactly. As I mentioned, some mods are very large in size and depending on how many games you use mods with, the spaced used could become quite alot of your SSD. It would be better to have the mod storage folder(stock mod folder) on a regular HDD, leaving room on your SSD for games. This should work since only the mods you activate at the time will be loaded to the game, and mods you have but not going to use this time will not take up premium space of the SSD.

Last edited by DeJohn; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
DeJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 12:07 AM   #30
Aviators
Senior Member
 
Aviators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,091
Default

for me, the 1.0 it's perfect!
__________________
www.amvi.it
Aviators is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:56 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.