Decided to give the F/A-18C a go.

DarkFire

I'm brand new to the Hornet. Going to concentrate on learning systems, takeoff, basic navigation & airfield landings. Carrier ops can come later.

Other than reading the manual about 16 times before getting in the cockpit, does anyone have any hints & tips for a brand new Hornet pilot? Stuff that isn't necessarily in the manual but that's useful to know for basic flight ops?

System Spec: Cooler Master Cosmos C700P Black Edition case. | AMD 5950X CPU | MSI RTX-3090 GPU | 32GB HyperX Predator PC4000 RAM | | TM Warthog stick & throttle | TrackIR 5 | Samsung 980 Pro NVMe 4 SSD 1TB (boot) | Samsung 870 QVO SSD 4TB (games) | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.

Personal wish list: DCS: Su-27SM & DCS: Avro Vulcan.

You may find watching some of the F/A-18 Youtube videos by Matt Wagner, Redkite, Spudnocker, Growling Sidewinder and others useful. A picture paints a 1,000 words, right?

A minor word of caution though, that some of the functionality on JDAM, radar modes, etc. might have changes since these videos were published but ones on aircraft handling, minor systems etc should be fine. Matt Wagner often posts a video for updated functionality on particular systems.

Do some training missions without weapons and get used to the handling, navigation and autopilot operation (focussing on the HSI displays). They're the building blocks of any mission and there's a lot of detail. If you get involved in the weapon systems at the same time, it's easy to get swamped.

When you're comfortable, focus on one weapon system at a time. Create a couple of really simple training missions with some targets and learn a different system at a time.

A skill you will have to get to grips with is air-air refuelling as the Hornet is not blessed on the range front!

If you wanna go real deep with this bird I'd advise you to have a look at the available NATOPS manual as well. I learned a lot from that.