ASW 2.0 Support? - Page 7 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2019, 06:15 AM   #61
gorzasty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 58
Default

Thx!

Wysłane z mojego SM-G390F przy użyciu Tapatalka
gorzasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 06:16 AM   #62
nrosko
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
https://www.oculus.com/blog/introduc...lower-latency/

I would assume since they use the language "Today, we’re excited to release the first major upgrade to ASW. ASW 2.0 builds on our previous version..." that it is just a standard release, no PTC/Beta opt-in required.

Also, from Road to VR - "Update: We’ve confirmed that ASW 2.0 is live for all users running the latest Oculus software update (not the Public Test Channel)."
Also the guy who created ASW confirmed this several times on reddit look for user carlsagan76. As well as Oculus tech support tech support eventually confirmed this.
__________________
Win 10 64//4.5g i7 Kaby Lake//gtx Titan x pascal//16gb 3200ram//Asus Maximux Hero IX//Oculus Rift//
nrosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 12:19 PM   #63
dburne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,941
Default

Oculus posted this morning over on their forums clarification of ASW 2:

Quote:
Jumping in to shed a little additional light on ASW 2.0 for you all. ASW 2.0 functionality is enabled for all Rift users at this time - it is not dependent on a specific software version. We called out four apps in our blog post that currently utilize ASW 2.0 (Oculus Medium, Robo Recall, Red Matter, and Oculus Home / Dash). It is ultimately up individual developers as to whether or not they flip the switch for their app, but we're encouraging more devs to utilize the tech every day. As to the question of "how do I know if it's working," the best way to know if a game is using ASW 2.0 is to have the game open and then hit the Oculus button to bring up Dash. If the game or app stays rendered behind Dash, it's utilizing ASW 2.0. If you get the big white / grey grid instead, it is not. You should see an overall smoother experience with less reprojection artifacts in ASW 2.0 apps. I hope this information is helpful!
https://forums.oculusvr.com/communit...Comment_672118
__________________
Don B

EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.1 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | EVGA T2 Titanium 1000w PS | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF Pro MCG Pro| EVGA DG 87 Case |
dburne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 06:52 PM   #64
Lensman
Member
 
Lensman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bedford UK
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dburne View Post
Oculus posted this morning over on their forums clarification of ASW 2:



https://forums.oculusvr.com/communit...Comment_672118
Ah, nice find Don
__________________
Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz. Asus-Z170-PRO MB
CORSAIR H105 HYDRO CPU COOLER.
EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 Elite.
16GB DDR4 2666MHZ HYPERX SAVAGE.
SAMSUNG M.2 SSD 128GB SM951 Boot Drive.
SAMSUNG SSD 500GB EVO Working Drive.
Windows 10 Professional
Lensman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 10:28 AM   #65
nrosko
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 133
Default

I noticed something interesting today. I get a GPU spike with Desktop Windows Manager when moving my mouse. Its seems to cause less of a spike up to 6.0% when using Oculus Home & didn't get to try DCS out yet but still not something i'm happy about considering how low on GPU resources you are when in VR.
__________________
Win 10 64//4.5g i7 Kaby Lake//gtx Titan x pascal//16gb 3200ram//Asus Maximux Hero IX//Oculus Rift//
nrosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 10:42 AM   #66
nrosko
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrosko View Post
I noticed something interesting today. I get a GPU spike with Desktop Windows Manager when moving my mouse. Its seems to cause less of a spike up to 6.0% when using Oculus Home & didn't get to try DCS out yet but still not something i'm happy about considering how low on GPU resources you are when in VR.
OK similar in in DCS maybe its relative to the GPU usage of the game as my GPU is only hitting 75% maybe if it was closer to 100% the DWE.exe would reduce further.
Question is why is my GPU usage not higher? Sorry for going off topic.
__________________
Win 10 64//4.5g i7 Kaby Lake//gtx Titan x pascal//16gb 3200ram//Asus Maximux Hero IX//Oculus Rift//
nrosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
oculus rift

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.