More new guy questions please - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2019, 08:45 PM   #1
John Galt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 5
Default More new guy questions please

Preparing to jump in when the F16 is released and I get a new computer, so question one, if I install DCS World on a computer create a log in and account and purchase a plane or campaign etc but not install it on that computer. Later, with a new machine after downloading DCS and logging in, can I still access my purchase after say 3 months and install on that computer? ( I want to take advantage of summer sales ) Question two, can you play multiplayer with wifi?
Thanks for any help.
John Galt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 09:33 PM   #2
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3,345
Default

Not 100% clear on what you are asking. But from a steam perspecive (since thats what I use)

If you buy it on steam now (or pre-order it) it will be available in 3 months, or 3 years. As I understand it You do get a limited number of "reinsatalls" on new systems (like 10). And you can recover some of them if you uninstall it on the old machine. If its on the same system you can re-install as much as you want (it tracks major hardware changes to determine "new system"). I'd assume the ED store is pretty similar.

There is multiplayer. And yes you can use wifi, though latency and other things tend to be better over wired connections (based on my laptop being wifi from 3ft away and my new rig being hard wired).
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2019, 03:12 AM   #3
dawgie79
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Europe
Posts: 293
Default

If you don't install the module then yes. If you do install it and then buy a new computer, you have to follow a procedure first regarding the license, on your old computer (not sure how to properly uninstall the license, search the forums, it's mentioned a few times I think).

And yes. Wifi is possible. Wire always better tho, as Harlikwin said.
dawgie79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:48 PM   #4
ENO
Veteran
 
ENO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 3,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawgie79 View Post
If you don't install the module then yes. If you do install it and then buy a new computer, you have to follow a procedure first regarding the license, on your old computer (not sure how to properly uninstall the license, search the forums, it's mentioned a few times I think).

And yes. Wifi is possible. Wire always better tho, as Harlikwin said.
I’m not sure if things changed but you should be able to install each purchased module on multiple computers on a single account but you can’t play that account on two computers simultaneously online.
__________________
"ENO"
Type in anger and you will make the greatest post you will ever regret.

"Sweetest's" Military Aviation Art
ENO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 07:10 PM   #5
M1Combat
Member
 
M1Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott AZ, US
Posts: 694
Default

Yeah I'm pretty sure they changed the licensing scheme from the old "limited number of activation's".

I'm pretty sure now you just log in to DCS and whatever your login has access to you get. <-- period


That said...

I do recommend that you just purchase through the DCS shop as opposed to Steam. ED gets more of your money, It's more mobile on your PC (moving from one HDD to another without having Steam move it for you), updates and new modules tend to come out a short time sooner, You can do the Open Beta version (maybe you can on steam too...). In any case... the big thing is to get more of your money to ED and not Steam. Steam has plenty .
__________________
Win-10 x64

Nvidia RTX2080 (HTC Vive)
MSI Z77 MPower
Core i5-3570K
24GB G-Skill Trident-X

Saitek X-65F and Fanatec Club-Sport Pedals
(UCR - mapping throttle and clutch pedals together to form a rudder Axis)
M1Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 08:58 PM   #6
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 3,024
Default

Guys, DCS has been (almost) keyless for quite some time now. There are only a handful of old modules still using the old Starforce DRM and its 10 activations thing.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Stick · Valve Index
imacken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:10 PM   #7
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
There are only a handful of old modules still using the old Starforce DRM and its 10 activations thing.

To be precise, the A-10C, Blackshark 2 and Flamming Cliffs 3, still use Star Force ... strangely, the individual FC3 planes (A-10A, F-15, Su-27, Su-33 and Su-25A) are already keyless, which seems odd.


All campaigns and all Maps are also keyless.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 03:33 PM   #8
John Galt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you all for the information, it give me the info I needed.
John Galt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 11:53 PM   #9
Eldur
Senior Member
 
Eldur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville
Posts: 2,379
Default

Never had problems with the StarForce activations anyway. Never deactivated any module, had some of them activated several times due to hardware changes, but I still have enough activations left. Apart from that, when they're down low, they'll replenish once in 3 months or so, basically you wouldn't run out of them if you bought a new rig 4 times a year. And in the very case you'd be down to zero, just contact the ED support, might even be necessary to contact StarForce, but AFAIK they'll help out in such cases. So nothing to be afraid of.
__________________
Eldur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 10:07 AM   #10
GaryR
Junior Member
 
GaryR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 58
Default

Also, check module prices on Steam vs. ED direct, some of them are substantially less $$ on the ED site and they are NOT Steam compatible. I like that Steam is easy to set up/buy modules and it auto-updates but consider costs as you can not use direct ED purchased modules in a Steam version of DCS (since 2017 I believe).. For me, as I didn't know about the "stop compatibility date cutoff" it's not a choice anymore.
__________________
Alienware 17 R4 Laptop - Win10 Pro (ver. 1903)
i7-7820HK 2.9Gz@3.6Gz (stock "Turbo") w/32GB DDR4 2600
512GB Toshiba SSD Boot drive (DCS installed here) / 1TB WD D: drive
Gigabyte RTX 2080 card w/ 8GB in Alienware Graphics Amplifier - 430.86 drivers
Output to a new LG 32GK850G-B 32" G-Sync monitor at 60Hz (VSync on in game)
CH Fighterstick / Pro Throttle HOTAS

Last edited by GaryR; 07-25-2019 at 10:10 AM.
GaryR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.