Only invisible to AI? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2019, 08:33 AM   #1
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,440
Default Only invisible to AI?

I'm trying to set a ship to be invisible and have clicked in the option to do that.
That seems to have stopped the enemy side shooting at it.
However, the ship in question is clearly visible to myself as a player.

Is there a way to make a ship/aircraft or other object invisible to all, including players?
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
631 Squadron Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 01:34 PM   #2
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,091
Default

Nope. "Invisible" only means other AIs won't take offensive action. There is no way to make the 3D model disappear.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 01:55 PM   #3
Exorcet
Senior Member
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,683
Default

Out of curiosity, why would you want to make it invisible to all? Knowing that might allow someone to suggest a work around.


One thing you might try is late activate, as a non activated group is essentially the same as one that is totally invisible except that it can't be damaged accidentally.


If you're trying to hide the ship from the map, set it to hidden (but it will still be visible if you fly near it, or use radar on it, and other AI will see it) or Hidden on Planner to make it hidden from intel when starting a mission.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 03:25 PM   #4
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,440
Default

I've been thinking about how to include some sub-hunting into the game.
Struck me that if I had an invisible ship (doesn't really matter what kind), then set moving zones (linked to the ship), that it could be used to simulate detection ranges of dropped sonar arrays from helicopters.

I've got the zones and detection side running, but can't hide the ship.
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
631 Squadron Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 08:53 PM   #5
ENO
Veteran
 
ENO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 3,549
Default

Seems there was a script for some asw work when the jury came out... in fact it was pretty elaborate... I’m going to take a look for it but it would definitely save you from reinventing slices bread.

Edit: here it is https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=116429
__________________
"ENO"
Type in anger and you will make the greatest post you will ever regret.

"Sweetest's" Military Aviation Art
ENO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:59 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.