DCS Intro screen screenshot competition. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2019, 01:47 AM   #1
ENO
Veteran
 
ENO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 3,549
Question DCS Intro screen screenshot competition.

Haven't looked to see if this has already been requested but one of the other sims I'm involved in has a weekly screenshot competition with some relatively tight guidelines that are voted on by members of the community...

I find many of the different themes less than inspiring yet I do see some very impressive creativity on the part of the community.

Certainly there were also some challenges with people and multiple accounts voting for themselves- so it would require some oversight and the ED / 3rd party devs would need to have the final say on photos regarding their own modules... but I think it would be a great opportunity to provide exposure to the creativity in the community as well as a fresh look at different aspects of DCS World.

A couple things (I feel) that helped:

1) I don't think weekly is necessary but maybe a monthly event to help minimize oversight and also test the concept?
2) A defined theme, providing participants with the broadest possible opportunity to capture the theme with a wide variety of modules.
3) Specific resolution limitations so that people with lower end, single monitor systems are able to participate.
4) Participants need to disclose what map / module they were using when the photo was taken.

If not a game / title screen shot then it could be a forum banner...

Just thinking...
__________________
"ENO"
Type in anger and you will make the greatest post you will ever regret.

"Sweetest's" Military Aviation Art
ENO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 01:44 PM   #2
Kid18120
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: In my own world
Posts: 63
Default

i actually like the idea.
It's a way to get the community together and involved in something more "intimate" with the sim,
I doubt it will happen though, at least for the in-game menu background, simply because ED has it "local" to each computer and would require a patch download for it to change.
Many games, especially the latest installments of known series (COD, BF, free stuff like WT and such) have part of their stuff streamed from a server, so they can alter things without the need of a download for clients (there's still a download but you don't see it anyway)
__________________
My Rig: Gigabyte X470 Aorus UltraGaming, AMD Ryzen7 2700X, G.Skill Ripjaws 32GB DDR4 @3200MHz, EVGA GTX1070 FTW
Kid18120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 02:59 PM   #3
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,848
Default



I think you guys need to take this to reddit
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.