SL top speed issue - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2018, 07:56 PM   #31
Hummingbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,492
Reputation power: 12
Hummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 56RAF_Talisman View Post
Did you read in my post when I said "P.S. I am still on 1.5 release version, so have no experience of later versions/patches."?
Thing is, the rads on my Spit are working fine and dandy. I have just watched them open and close 4 times over with no problem, just as they should.
I have just tested them using the Instant Action, Free Flight mission for the Spit in the 1.5 release version.
If you have a different version then that might be the key to the issue you have raised.
What version of DCS are you using?

P.S. I only mentioned throttling back in a previous post because that is what I sometimes do in combat if there is a break in action, to get the rads closed again as soon as possible.
Happy landings,

Talisman
Ok, so in 1.5 the rads close again after they've been open purely due to temperature drop via increased speed, i. e. without you touching the throttle and staying at full boost?

Cause thats the problem atm with the Spit & P51, the rads won't close again when still running at full boost regardless of temp, you have to reduce throttle.

The 109's rads, whilst they actually do close a little after gaining speed, also don't seem to close as much as they should as temp drops. But the issue is most severe with Spit & P51.

Why is this important? Because it severely reduces achievable top speed after a few turns unless you reduce throttle for a period after.
Hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 10:15 PM   #32
56RAF_Talisman
Member
 
56RAF_Talisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 510
Reputation power: 5
56RAF_Talisman will become famous soon enough56RAF_Talisman will become famous soon enough56RAF_Talisman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hummingbird View Post
Ok, so in 1.5 the rads close again after they've been open purely due to temperature drop via increased speed, i. e. without you touching the throttle and staying at full boost?

Cause thats the problem atm with the Spit & P51, the rads won't close again when still running at full boost regardless of temp, you have to reduce throttle.

The 109's rads, whilst they actually do close a little after gaining speed, also don't seem to close as much as they should as temp drops. But the issue is most severe with Spit & P51.

Why is this important? Because it severely reduces achievable top speed after a few turns unless you reduce throttle for a period after.
If you are running a version other than 1.5 release version, then it looks like you might have found a bug worth reporting. I don't have time to check the P51D at the moment.

Sorry if I missed it, but what version of DCS are you using?

P.S. I agree with you that it is important that the rads close as they should.

Happy landings,

Talisman
__________________
56RAF_Talisman

Spitfire! 'That's no aircraft, that's a bleedin' angel'
56RAF_Talisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 11:46 PM   #33
Hummingbird
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,492
Reputation power: 12
Hummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really niceHummingbird is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 56RAF_Talisman View Post
If you are running a version other than 1.5 release version, then it looks like you might have found a bug worth reporting. I don't have time to check the P51D at the moment.

Sorry if I missed it, but what version of DCS are you using?

P.S. I agree with you that it is important that the rads close as they should.

Happy landings,

Talisman
No problem. I'm running 2.5, so if you say it's not doing this in 1.5 then it has to be a bug.
Hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.