Best Enhancement to DCS ever - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2019, 09:43 PM   #1
tdyrsmid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 18
Default Best Enhancement to DCS ever

A short time ago I noticed that Sting TV had mapped left mouse click to a button on his joystic (https://goo.gl/B13xpm) to enhance immersion in VR.

I got to thinking...why not map left, right, and mouse wheel to my input devices? So here is what I did:

Left input device has buttons, rotaries, and toggle switches....so I mapped left mouse to a button and to the down toggle. I mapped right mouse click to the up toggle, and I mapped mouse wheel forward to a right twist on the rotary, and mouse wheel back to a left twist.

Then I repeated the process with an input device on my right side.

The result is that now, all I do is center the clue cross (only seen in VR) on the HUD and I never have to touch my mouse again. After that, all I do is look at the button, switch, dial in the virtual cockpit and then push my button, flick my switch, or twist the rotary knob and the thing I'm looking at acts exactly as though I have touched it with my real hand.

Totally freaking awesome!

You can do this in the UI section of control mapping.
tdyrsmid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 12:56 AM   #2
jimiC
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 183
Default

I don't like using up space on the hotas
A basic logitech trackball velcrod' to the side of the hotas works for me
All the mouse clicky goodness without the used up hotas real estate

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
jimiC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 01:36 AM   #3
tdyrsmid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 18
Default

You must have misunderstood what I wrote. This doesn't use up any HOTAS space. I have separate input button boxes.
tdyrsmid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 03:28 AM   #4
Anklebiter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 70
Default

Sounds pretty cool! What are the input boxes like? Also, why did you duplicate it on your right side?
Anklebiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 04:00 AM   #5
arturojgt
Member
 
arturojgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Argentina
Posts: 181
Default

Unfortunately the tmw thrust don’t have rotary switches but your idea is awesome


Sent from my Tornado IDS while on autopilot using Tapatalk Pro.
__________________
Arturo Gonzalez Thomas
arturojgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 04:02 AM   #6
arturojgt
Member
 
arturojgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Argentina
Posts: 181
Default

Send us a photo of your setup or better a video.


Sent from my Tornado IDS while on autopilot using Tapatalk Pro.
__________________
Arturo Gonzalez Thomas
arturojgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 04:53 PM   #7
A2597
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 39
Default

I've been wanting to make something like this, by dismantling a wireless mouse to make it a "Place anywhere" box, no wires needed.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 07:02 PM   #8
frosen
Junior Member
 
frosen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdyrsmid View Post
You must have misunderstood what I wrote. This doesn't use up any HOTAS space. I have separate input button boxes.
Please take some photos!
__________________
i7-7700K @ 4.9 GHz (OC) | Gigabyte Aorus Geforce GTX 1080 Ti | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400 MHz (2800 OC) | Asus Strix Z270E Gaming | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD 500 GB | WD NAS Red 2TB SATA3 | Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H80i v2 | Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog | Saitek PRO rudder pedals | Oculus Rift CV1
frosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 03:40 AM   #9
tdyrsmid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 18
Default

I use the right switch, button, and rotary to map all the mouse controls to. I do the same thing with another button box on the right.

By doing so, I'm always using the correct hand and I'm working the virtual button/switch/knob that I'm looking at in VR.

tdyrsmid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 08:17 AM   #10
frosen
Junior Member
 
frosen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdyrsmid View Post
I use the right switch, button, and rotary to map all the mouse controls to. I do the same thing with another button box on the right.

By doing so, I'm always using the correct hand and I'm working the virtual button/switch/knob that I'm looking at in VR.
Where did you get it? Link?
__________________
i7-7700K @ 4.9 GHz (OC) | Gigabyte Aorus Geforce GTX 1080 Ti | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400 MHz (2800 OC) | Asus Strix Z270E Gaming | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD 500 GB | WD NAS Red 2TB SATA3 | Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H80i v2 | Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog | Saitek PRO rudder pedals | Oculus Rift CV1
frosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.