[NO BUG/ BUG?] Autopilot pitch hold - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2019, 09:19 AM   #21
jonsky7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronMike View Post
this is very odd. I first hoped this would be a FFB issue (if we can isolate, we can fix), but apparently it is not restricted to that.

All I can say is that it works 100% on my side (and everyone I talked to recently when flying with them) - which of course doesn't mean that I don't believe you.

Please be so kind and help us isolate it. All of you who get the issue please be so kind and provide us with:

- full system specs

- your dcs version

- your hardware and axis settings

- a short track file, 3 minutes just in the freeflight caucasus mission, where you reproduce the issue

- and if you can the flight envelope also in written, what altitude, what speed and AOA you are at.

Thank you!
It is very odd, so track file attached.

Track file
Free flight F-14B,
Start at 15,000ft,
Original pitch = The Pitch of the aircraft at the time of engaging the AP Engage switch.
a/c = aircraft

Set AP Engage switch to engage, open controls indicator
Push stick forward slowly, the trim fights the stick so that a/c returns to original pitch (shown by controls indicator)
Then release the stick, large pitch up movement caused by trim position, captured with stick, a/c returns to original pitch.
Pull stick back hard and release, a/c returns to original pitch.
Show roll attitude hold working perfectly
Engage ALT HOLD mode, set with NWS button, AP REF light extinguished
Pull stick back, no AP REF light, A/C returns to altitude at pressing NWS button,
Show AP REF Lights comes back on with roll change
Turn off alt hold mode
Show that if pitch is applied by stick, and then ANY roll movement is applied, aircraft WILL hold new pitch and roll.

This last part might shed some light perhaps. If any roll movement is applied the new pitch setting will hold, but it will not if pure forward or aft stick is used.

Pitch Axis setting
Click image for larger version

Name:	pitch.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	214962

Roll Axis settings
Click image for larger version

Name:	roll.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	214963


Specs
DCS 2.5.5.34108
Intel 8086K @5.1GHz
32GB G.Skill DDR4 1800Mhz
Asus ROG Maximus X Hero
Nvidia GTX2080TI
Samsung Nvme Windows 10 Pro
Samsung Nvme (separate drive DCS)
Track IR5
VKB Gunfighter MCG Pro
TM Warthog Throttle
Attached Files
File Type: trk autopilot2.trk (519.0 KB, 6 views)
jonsky7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:48 PM   #22
IronMike
3rd Party Developer
 
IronMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 1,050
Default

Thank you for the valuable input! We will disect the data and see what could cause this. It is very odd that it works for most, while for you it doesn't. Hopefully we will find a fix soon.
__________________
Heatblur Simulations

Please feel free to contact me anytime, either via PM here, on the forums, or via email through the contact form on our homepage.

http://www.heatblur.com/

https://www.facebook.com/heatblur/
IronMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 07:40 PM   #23
jonsky7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 210
Default

Anybody with this issue find a way to resolve it yet?
jonsky7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 07:42 PM   #24
Thewarblade
Junior Member
 
Thewarblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 65
Default

I have the same Problem. New install of DCS or F-14 wouldn't Help.

Gesendet von meinem SM-G975F mit Tapatalk
Thewarblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:03 PM   #25
jonsky7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 210
Default

Still the same for me in latest update, anyone else?
jonsky7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 04:24 PM   #26
RSharpe
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 260
Default

Still a problem with me. I am no longer able to get the autopilot to engage with the AP Ref button

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
RSharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.