Normal Camera to head-track? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2019, 06:31 AM   #1
Mattern
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
Default Normal Camera to head-track?

Is it possible to go to the normal electronics store and buy a camera and set it up to use it as head tracking somehow? if possible how do i do it and can someone please give me a link to a tutorial or explain to me how it works?
Mattern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:19 PM   #2
blkspade
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,109
Default

Just look up facetracknoir.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
__________________
http://104thphoenix.com/
blkspade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:35 PM   #3
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattern View Post
Is it possible to go to the normal electronics store and buy a camera and set it up to use it as head tracking somehow? if possible how do i do it and can someone please give me a link to a tutorial or explain to me how it works?

It's a bad idea to use a normal webcam as-is .. you need to remove their IR-filters first .. here they sell the webcam already modified:


https://delanengineering.com/shop/PS...oved-p50254011
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 04:12 PM   #4
ricktoberfest
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
It's a bad idea to use a normal webcam as-is .. you need to remove their IR-filters first .. here they sell the webcam already modified:


https://delanengineering.com/shop/PS...oved-p50254011


Actually facetracknoir tracks your face, not an IR clip, so it doesn’t need any modifications to the camera
ricktoberfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 05:45 PM   #5
erniedaoage
Member
 
erniedaoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Vienna
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattern View Post
Is it possible to go to the normal electronics store and buy a camera and set it up to use it as head tracking somehow? if possible how do i do it and can someone please give me a link to a tutorial or explain to me how it works?
You can also use open track with the aruco tracker which is a printed code u attach to a hat or your headphones and it tracks the marker instead of your face.

__________________
WIN7 //I7-4790K // ASUS MAXIMUS RANGER VII // 16GB G.Skill DDR3 1866 // PALIT SUPERJETSTREAM 1080 // SSD // TM T-16000 FCS FLIGHT PACK // JETSEAT TURBOJET // TRACKHAT CLIP PLUS

-= A10C - AJS-37 - AV8B - BF109K4 - CA - F/A18C - F14 - F5EII - F86F - FC3 - FW190D9 - KA50 - L39 - M2000C - MI8TV2 - MIG15BIS - MIG19P - MIG21BIS - P51D - SA342 - SPITFIRE - UH1H - NORMANDY - PERSIAN GULF =-

Thrustmaster TWCS Afterburner Detent
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=223776


erniedaoage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:15 PM   #6
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricktoberfest View Post
Actually facetracknoir tracks your face, not an IR clip, so it doesn’t need any modifications to the camera
Tracking the face is too imprecise for reliable use with DCS .. I do use Facetracknoir, but with an IR clip:



and on this video you can see the tracking precision and smoothnes:



true .. using the face may be cheaper, but it isnt really practical.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 08:09 PM   #7
ricktoberfest
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Tracking the face is too imprecise for reliable use with DCS .. I do use Facetracknoir, but with an IR clip:



and on this video you can see the tracking precision and smoothnes:



true .. using the face may be cheaper, but it isnt really practical.


It works fine for me. I’ve been using it for years. You just have to set it up right. Not saying a clip isn’t more accurate- just saying it works fine for me
ricktoberfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
trackir

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.