Memory Exceeding 16GB - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 08:39 PM   #31
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,433
Default

Yeah, so far I am not having much luck reproducing, the most RAM usage I have seen with the Harrier has been 7.5GB. Still looking though.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 11:08 PM   #32
discwalker
Member
 
discwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 566
Unhappy task manager is a liar

I have 16 GB DDR3, and not planned to expand due price/slots full/deprecated motherboard reasons.

try this PG mission:
https://forums.eagle.ru/attachment.p...7&d=1539392559
with 277 units (52 planes, 187 vehicles...)

I recommend not to see dcs.exe accountable memory usage in windows task manager.
The all memory usage is count with page file usage.

Paging memory is the storage area for textures, my actual and future video card memory is not enough big to DCS.

This mission in offline loaded state (coalition selection screen):
(7.5GB DCS.EXE)
17GB is my total paging memory usage (sys and other software usage is small)
13.7GB video mem usage -4GB on card = 9.7GB paging(leftCtrl+scrollLock)
17-9.7=7.3gb stored as not video memory
medium textures, terrain textures low, water medium, visible range medium, preload rad. 47300

With F2 switches we can pump up the
video mem usage above the magical 16GB thread topic limit, in topic.
Loading textures from SSD is faster than loading from the paging file of the HDD. -> Stutters are not welcome.
Because of HDD paging file, dispersed planes parking on sea rather than ramp.

In the beginning of the dcs.log physical memory is recorded.
I hope in the future the DCS executable will process this data and not will to use as much paging memory as possible or beyond that.

I will not place swap to solid state memory (hybrid or SSD) to worn out early that device.
__________________
reliable game crashes:2.5.3.21708...2.5.3.23788/2.5.3.23954
instead of fly https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=219936
with AI spawn to Kuznetsov, 2 cases https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=219996
with isometric view of CA https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=219919
instead of opening mission editor https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=3630118
discwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 05:08 AM   #33
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,433
Default

I'll try it tonight.

SO you are talking both video and system RAM? I thought the concern here was only system RAM, I will watch this as well, I know that if you only have 4GB on your card, that being the minimum, or close to it for DCS, you can trace that to some issues I bet.

WHen I was testing, I was going through different, etc, again, I never saw higher than 7.5GB, and that was with the Harrier, it was lower with other modules, such as the A-10.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:20 AM   #34
FoxDelta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LOXZ
Posts: 176
Default

nineline, did u get those stutters, freezes,
i assume u can measure the memory usage here with checking the overall usage, including reserved memory

btw was my pg replay broken? bcause i for myself cant replay pg replays without crashing into ground during replay where i was still flying for hours, in caucasus it works fine
FoxDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:26 AM   #35
Rushx
Junior Member
 
Rushx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Hungary
Posts: 27
Default

Test DCS World 64GB DDR4 without page file!


Enjoy!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJkA1d2dK6c
__________________
DCS World wishlist: Flaming Cliffs style Su 27SM and Mig 31! In game voice communication and better netcode!
Rushx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 09:40 AM   #36
FoxDelta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LOXZ
Posts: 176
Default

i don t have a problem with large pagefiles as long as the user doesn t recognize, i assume u do not own PG?
FoxDelta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 05:16 PM   #37
danvac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Czech Republic, Brno
Posts: 90
Default

My DCS is able to use up to 24 GB physical memory. I can provide memory dump from procexp64 and mission if needed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dxdiag.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	745.8 KB
ID:	196014  
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (49.0 KB, 24 views)
danvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:27 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.