Helicopter EFM Demo - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2020, 10:07 PM   #21
nibbylot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rifter View Post
According to the NASA document the CG is somewhere around WL50.
If the model centre lays at WL 83, there should be an offset of 33” downwards.
33” are around 0.84 meters, which means the line for center_of_mass in the entry.lua should be:

center_of_mass = {0,-0.84,0},

Furthermore - since the y and z axes are swapped in DCS, the moment_of_intertia in entry.lua should probably be:

moment_of_inertia = {446, 979, 1219, 50},

(CptSmiley also did that in his F16 FM compared to the original source).

As a hint for all testers of this bird:
The given moments of inertia do not represent the max load out of the chopper.
For the little bird that would be 3,100 lb or 1,406 kg.
The given values are for 2570 lb or 1157 kg.

Besides of that: The OH-6 is a great Mod and I really hope it gets some attention from the community in terms of suggestions and improvements.

Thanks, nibbylot. Appreciate your work!
Sorry, I did not explain well enough. I meant the x and y axis center is in the rotor hub, the z is not. You can see the model center using model viewer, but here is a picture to show you. The center of mass is close to what the NASA document says.

nibbylot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 02:15 PM   #22
Rifter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nibbylot View Post
You can see the model center using model viewer
I should have thought of it myself!

Thanks a lot for the clarification!
Rifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 09:13 PM   #23
Eight Ball
Senior Member
 
Eight Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bubbelgium
Posts: 1,696
Default

Thank you so much for this, lots of fun
Eight Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 04:15 PM   #24
heloguy
Member
 
heloguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 383
Default

Nice little mod. Just flew a couple patterns with it. Feels pretty good for a generic flight model. I have only a few hours in smaller helos, most of my time is in bigger ones, but I feel like the pitch and roll is a little less stable IRL.

The torque effect feels spot on, though. Fun to mess around with, and would be awesome if completely fleshed out.
__________________
Spoiler:
Sim 1
I7 8700kb @ 4.8ghz
Nvidia GTX 1080ti
32gb RAM
Windows 10 x64
Valve Index
Brunner CLS-E w/RS F16GRH, Microhelis EC-145 Collective, BRD F1 Pedals, WH Throttle, FSSB R3 w/WH Grip, PointCTRL

Sim 2
I7 3770k
Nvidia GTX 1080
32gb RAM
Windows 10 x64
Oculus Rift
WH Throttle, VKB Gunfighter, Slaw Viper Pedals, Komodosim Collective (135)
heloguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 07:50 PM   #25
petsild
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 830
Default

It is already available texture templates?
__________________
Asus B-85 Pro Gamer, i7 4790K non-oc, Asus GTX 1080 Ti, 16 GB non-oc RAM, Intel SSD 520 - 240 GB, MSFFB2, Win7 64-bit.
petsild is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 08:00 PM   #26
Noam Belder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 5
Default

Any textures coming out ?
Noam Belder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 06:53 PM   #27
delande
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 7
Default

Great job! I got fun with this mod! It will be cool to have some addition textures to it!
delande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 08:14 AM   #28
rato65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germnay
Posts: 50
Default

WOW!
This is really a great contribution, thank you VERY much. Already flyable, but also a great template to understand how things work. Really really appreciated!
rato65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 01:13 PM   #29
rato65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germnay
Posts: 50
Default

do you think you can include a draw argument to make the loadout section toggle visible/invisible to allow a civil aircraft? youalready did with the ammo box...
rato65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2020, 01:21 PM   #30
rato65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germnay
Posts: 50
Default

if you need some support for the textures I coud try to help out if you like. however it would need mapping unwrap or material assignment from the original model. did you model in 3D max? which version. I could also do the argument to hide the loadout.
rato65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.