How do I use LGBs? - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2018, 05:25 PM   #21
Eagle7907
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daz85UK View Post
Same issue for me, I have set up a small test scenario using a JTAC, I have a waypoint in the middle of 3 Artillery.

I follow Wags video to the letter and the GBU just free falls, never attempts to pick up a laser. Code is set on each weapon correctly.


On the odd occasion it does start to acquire a laser signal it is either way too late to adjust its trajectory onto the target or it aims for a random part of the terrain.


My mission has no issue with LOS for the laser, JTAC tells me to use GBU's and that it will be marked by laser.


No disrespect, but did you tell JTAC to turn the laser on? Also, after he responds, “Laser ON, Lasing” you still need to tell him you “spot” the laser, and then you’re “IN hot”. Then JTAC will clear you to engage.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Win 10, AMD FX9590/water cooled, 32GB RAM, 250GB SSD system, 2TB HD, Warthog HOTAS, MFG rudders, Track IR 5, LG Ultrawide, Logitech Speakers w/sub, Fans, Case, cell phone, wallet, keys.....printer
Eagle7907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:33 PM   #22
Daz85UK
Junior Member
 
Daz85UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle7907 View Post
No disrespect, but did you tell JTAC to turn the laser on? Also, after he responds, “Laser ON, Lasing” you still need to tell him you “spot” the laser, and then you’re “IN hot”. Then JTAC will clear you to engage.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Yes I asked for laser on along with "spot" and "In" and have also tried with just using laser on and not saying "spot" or "in".
I just tried the same mission and I put an AGM-65E on board to see if the JTAC was actually lasing the correct target and he is. I locked using the Maverick to ensure JTAC was infact lasing, he was so I switched to GBU and this time the GBU hit.



However upon restarting the mission I asked for laser on but this time I didnt touch my maverick, I selected GBU with correct code etc etc and it didnt even attempt to pick up a laser.

Last edited by Daz85UK; 12-21-2018 at 05:36 PM.
Daz85UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:55 PM   #23
Alphamale
Member
 
Alphamale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 726
Default

Hey, even if you get a Cleared Hot, there's no Azimuth Steering line and you never hear the bomb drop if you continue IN while holding the pickle button....ball and chain won't do it, or even SHOULD do it because that's a different type of deployment...there's simply no indication of a target being lased on the ground from the HUD symbology even when you select AUTO mode...the videos we saw had a Waypoint designated as the target, not a lasing platform operation

Last edited by Alphamale; 12-21-2018 at 06:00 PM.
Alphamale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 06:14 PM   #24
Eagle7907
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 907
Default How do I use LGBs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphamale View Post
Hey, even if you get a Cleared Hot, there's no Azimuth Steering line and you never hear the bomb drop if you continue IN while holding the pickle button....ball and chain won't do it, or even SHOULD do it because that's a different type of deployment...there's simply no indication of a target being lased on the ground from the HUD symbology even when you select AUTO mode...the videos we saw had a Waypoint designated as the target, not a lasing platform operation


That’s correct. Technically there isn’t a way to spot the laser yet since the LST isn’t implemented yet. Basically you have to just “know” where the target is and use the “ball and chain” to create a release point. It is a bit elementary but it is functional. I wish I could view a track right now, but I’m working the next 6 days.

Addendum Right now you can only conduct pre-planned attacks using waypoint releases or just knowing ahead of where the target is exactly. It will be pretty difficult do CAS missions using LGBs. The process would be very tedious because of constantly copying coordinates and creating new waypoints. The pod and Link16 will greatly reduce the workload when the time comes.

Actually you can spot the laser with a laser maverick.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Win 10, AMD FX9590/water cooled, 32GB RAM, 250GB SSD system, 2TB HD, Warthog HOTAS, MFG rudders, Track IR 5, LG Ultrawide, Logitech Speakers w/sub, Fans, Case, cell phone, wallet, keys.....printer

Last edited by Eagle7907; 12-21-2018 at 06:32 PM.
Eagle7907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 06:28 PM   #25
Eagle7907
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daz85UK View Post
Yes I asked for laser on along with "spot" and "In" and have also tried with just using laser on and not saying "spot" or "in".
I just tried the same mission and I put an AGM-65E on board to see if the JTAC was actually lasing the correct target and he is. I locked using the Maverick to ensure JTAC was infact lasing, he was so I switched to GBU and this time the GBU hit.



However upon restarting the mission I asked for laser on but this time I didnt touch my maverick, I selected GBU with correct code etc etc and it didnt even attempt to pick up a laser.


Okay. What altitude are you releasing at? Are you giving the bomb enough time to acquire and adjust? What’s the waypoint elevation? What’s the target elevation? Sorry for questions. Viewing a track would be much easier.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Win 10, AMD FX9590/water cooled, 32GB RAM, 250GB SSD system, 2TB HD, Warthog HOTAS, MFG rudders, Track IR 5, LG Ultrawide, Logitech Speakers w/sub, Fans, Case, cell phone, wallet, keys.....printer
Eagle7907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 07:01 PM   #26
Alphamale
Member
 
Alphamale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle7907 View Post
That’s correct. Technically there isn’t a way to spot the laser yet since the LST isn’t implemented yet. Basically you have to just “know” where the target is and use the “ball and chain” to create a release point. It is a bit elementary but it is functional. I wish I could view a track right now, but I’m working the next 6 days.

Addendum Right now you can only conduct pre-planned attacks using waypoint releases or just knowing ahead of where the target is exactly. It will be pretty difficult do CAS missions using LGBs. The process would be very tedious because of constantly copying coordinates and creating new waypoints. The pod and Link16 will greatly reduce the workload when the time comes.

Actually you can spot the laser with a laser maverick.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Well, then what did DCS mean by telling us, we got the LGBs this update? We had them before this last update...at least we could use them as FF bombs with CCIP....what new feature did we supposedly get with this last update that was new for the LGBs? And when I say this, I mean that I have not seen any LGB try to correct for precise impact...they are still all freefall bombs

Last edited by Alphamale; 12-21-2018 at 07:05 PM.
Alphamale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 07:07 PM   #27
Daz85UK
Junior Member
 
Daz85UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle7907 View Post
Okay. What altitude are you releasing at? Are you giving the bomb enough time to acquire and adjust? What’s the waypoint elevation? What’s the target elevation? Sorry for questions. Viewing a track would be much easier.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Ive dropped from multiple altitudes from 5000ft to 15000ft. 9/10 it still doesnt acquire a laser.
WP elvation 33ft TGT Elevation 33ft. Surely WP elev and tgt elev shouldn't matter on a lased target anyway?
Daz85UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 07:47 PM   #28
Tj1376
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 441
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphamale View Post
These were not thin-skinned vehicles and it would seem more logical to protect the pilot with lasing and releasing from a higher altitude than diving in on the targets with a less than pinpoint accurate system such as guns, but regardless, the ammo selected in the ME for this JTAC to call for was Guided Bombs and that's what he should do...we simply need the TGP to use the lasing system correctly...at least in single player...in MP you can probably use the AV8B or the AC10 to buddy-lase for you until we get the pod


Two threads were merged and you lost the context of the thread our convo got merged into. In the OP second thread post, he clearly stated (and added a miz file) of a mission of thin skinned vehicles. When he changed the vehicles to tanks JTAC asked for bombs.

The point still stands- this appears to be working as designed as it makes more sense operationally to use guns on a thin skinned vehicle than to ask for gbus. Run out of gun ammo and the jtac asks for bombs. Change the target to something with armor and the jtac asks for bombs.

TJ


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tj1376 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 07:56 PM   #29
DeathAngel1
Member
 
DeathAngel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 640
Default

In my opinion, its better to wait for ATFLIR. Until then, LGBs with JTAC lasing will have limited capabilities.
DeathAngel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 08:03 PM   #30
Eagle7907
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 907
Default How do I use LGBs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphamale View Post
Well, then what did DCS mean by telling us, we got the LGBs this update? We had them before this last update...at least we could use them as FF bombs with CCIP....what new feature did we supposedly get with this last update that was new for the LGBs? And when I say this, I mean that I have not seen any LGB try to correct for precise impact...they are still all freefall bombs


Well mate, I honestly don’t have an answer for you. I’ve checked the obvious things that I can at the moment that may have been looked over. I have used them since yesterdays update and they guide perfectly (both using waypoint release and HUD) to target laser by JTAC. You’re using 2.5.4 open beta? Not stable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Win 10, AMD FX9590/water cooled, 32GB RAM, 250GB SSD system, 2TB HD, Warthog HOTAS, MFG rudders, Track IR 5, LG Ultrawide, Logitech Speakers w/sub, Fans, Case, cell phone, wallet, keys.....printer

Last edited by Eagle7907; 12-21-2018 at 08:09 PM.
Eagle7907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.