Operation "Blue Flag" - 24/7 PvP Campaign - ROUND 9 - Page 5 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2016, 05:32 PM   #41
mia389
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL410
Posts: 515
Default

Keep getting connection timed out after 1 min of being in the server.
mia389 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 06:31 PM   #42
Toxic
Member
 
Toxic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Северный полюс, CША
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iLOVEwindmills View Post
So apparently switching on the radar in the 21 kills your game and those of other people near you.
is this confirmed, or just a coincidence?
__________________
#CHOPPERLIVESMATTER
http://www.aircombatgroup.co.uk/
Toxic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 07:13 PM   #43
microvax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxic View Post
is this confirmed, or just a coincidence?
afaik its more or less confirmed, but not a problem connected to buddyspike.
__________________


*unexpected flight behaviour* Oh shiii*** ! What ? Why ? What is happening ?
microvax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 07:27 PM   #44
JunMcKill
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mexico
Posts: 875
Default

EDP71st and 08th red side!

what about all missiles poll?
JunMcKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 09:23 PM   #45
PabstBleuRibbon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 89
Default

Anyone else have issues with the comms menu while in-flight in an Mi-8? Last night I noticed it only works when I'm on the ground...while in flight the comm menu kb or joystick shortcut don't work.
PabstBleuRibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 09:45 PM   #46
kobeshow
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iLOVEwindmills View Post
So apparently switching on the radar in the 21 kills your game and those of other people near you.
hmmm, you have an approximated range for that ? we might be able to use it as a nuke afterall
__________________

"DCS World is the main public build, it has nothing to do with being stable" -Bignewy
kobeshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 10:20 PM   #47
BSS_Sniper
Member
 
BSS_Sniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 771
Default

What's going on with the server disconnects this round? It's pretty bad, either single players getting disconnected or mass groups. It varies from 10 min apart to an hour or two. Also, most people seem to have a significant decrease in FPS this round as well.

I saw Greg say in the other thread that things were changed that were supposed to have helped with connection issues and general performance. From what I've seen and from the other 20-30 people on TS, they are having the same issue of constantly being disconnected. Again, just passing on the info.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T 3.8Ghz, ASUS Crosshair IV Formula, 12 GB DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte R290X 4GB, Cooler Master 1000 watt, 1 TB HDD, TrackIR 5, TM Warthog Stick and Throttle, CH Pedals
BSS_Sniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 10:52 PM   #48
microvax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSS_Sniper View Post
What's going on with the server disconnects this round? It's pretty bad, either single players getting disconnected or mass groups. It varies from 10 min apart to an hour or two. Also, most people seem to have a significant decrease in FPS this round as well.

I saw Greg say in the other thread that things were changed that were supposed to have helped with connection issues and general performance. From what I've seen and from the other 20-30 people on TS, they are having the same issue of constantly being disconnected. Again, just passing on the info.
Judging by what is happening and what data I was able to collect until now its not anything which is wrong with the server, but the connection.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...8&postcount=29

If everyone had disconnection problems it would be simple. But I have a few people which had 0 disconnects and even said they had better connection then last round.

So, either the link capacity overall changed, which would not explain why some people do not disconnect at all.

Or, what I expect, link capacity to networks most people get routed via was changed or something is simply borked with the announcement of possible routes which arent beeing utilized.

the PL to the server is between 10 and 27%. With 10% the TCP layer can deal quite efficiently but with 20% pl you get into the conditions where you run into protocoll timeouts.
Also pl depends on expected activity in european timezone, so yeah, pretty sure saturated links on the last few hops.


friend of mine did a trace as well, which brought up the same results. I will run MTR from a different network tomorrow and will see how that works out. But I pretty much expect to see the same stuff happening on the last few hops, which could be quite likely be the same.

So literally unless they know someone to poke about the nodes dropping packets there is nothing they can do pretty much. Anything in 147.102.0.0/16 is suffering from that issue.

P.S.: All done with no knowledge of the network the BS is happening on. Could be different.
__________________


*unexpected flight behaviour* Oh shiii*** ! What ? Why ? What is happening ?

Last edited by microvax; 10-10-2016 at 11:13 PM.
microvax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 12:33 AM   #49
microvax
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,313
Default

Okay I did probably more research then necessary, but I have found out a few things.

Server is hosted in the National Technical University Of Athens network. So I checked their site for info about their link to the Internet.

http://www.noc.ntua.gr/index.php?mod...isplay&ceid=14
Last update is a while back but probably not completely outdated.

"The INTERNET connection is made to 10 Gbps through GRNET - GRNET (GRNET has 2CH622 Mbps INTERNET connection - Pan-European Research Internet GEANT)."

Okay, GRNET is some kind of greek networking/VM hosting enterprise which is connected to GEANT, which is some kind of european research network.

​"​GÉANT interconnects research​​​, education an​​​​d innovati​on communities worldwide, with​ secure, high-capacity networks."

So lets have a quick look at the GEANT network maps.
http://www.geant.org/Resources/Docum...ap-16OCT15.PDF
http://www.geant.org/Resources/Docum...tober-2016.pdf
Indeed, seems to be correct.

And indeed my trace goes through the GEANT network, hits GRNET, arrives at the NTUA network and there gets delivered to the buddyspike Server.

The interesting thing is, traffic gets routed through cogentco routers in the USA, which are a pretty big ISP as it seems and probably thats why they have a link to the GEANT network, then hits a node in the UK which seems to be part of the GEANT network but has a link to the GRNET network, even though that is not on the GEANT map. [judging by the reverse DNS "grnet-gws-grnet-gw.mx2.ath.gr.geant.net"]



So from the moment stuff gets routed to the GEANT network PL happens.

Why that is the case is some reaaaal hardcore speculation. The PL we get from the buddyspike server should be the accumulated PL from all the hops that happen before. Since I do not expect the link to the server to be too weak to take a 64byte ping echo per second.
The first address of the NTUA network suffers the same PL pretty much, screenshot is a bad example didnt run it for long enough to even the randomness out.

The GEANT box of cogentco has some pl so probably the link to that thing is operating close to maximum. Now the glorious pl mapping of NTR comes to the rescue to determine which PL really is the main cause for packets to the rescue. MTR fires each ping echo slightly delayed, so one can kinda tell the connection between dropped packets to different hops.



The link to the GEANT box in the USA and from that to the one in the UK seems to be pretty much fine, there is sporadic PL but in general they do not seem to be connected.
[discarding ping packets doesnt have to mean other "important" traffic gets discarded in the same way.]
The one machine which really drops a metric ton of packets is the GRNET box which operates the link to NTUA. So it seems to be the GEANT link between GRNET and the box in the UK, which probably causes most trouble. The box in the UK and or US might play a role, but the peaks seem to be very short, since they do not get carried through to the next hop consistantly and also I dunno how they discard ICMP traffic or not. But its pretty much consistant that the NTUA hop and the Server itself only do not respond IF the GRNET inbetween drops ICMP, so probably that link is saturated.

What does this all mean ?
Well. Since the link between GRNET and NTUA seems to be sufficient, I would blame GRNET for either A not having enough link capacity to the GEANT or B for routing the entire freaggin traffic through GEANT. I mean I cant imagine they only connect to one network. I checked their own webservers, like traffic which 100% isnt for the NTUA also comes through the GEANT.
[Tested from a few web traceroute machines, 4 out of 5 did go through GEANT.]

What also could be the case is that in the GEANT network, none of the routers do reply to ICMP requests, so there is no link from GB GEANT box to GRNET, as one would expect by the link map of GEANT.
In that case, the high PL to the GRNET box could be caused by saturated links INSIDE the GEANT.

So yee, it doesnt get clearer then some internal GEANT stuff or not enough link capacity between GRNET and GEANT.


Main question from me would be why GRNET would be routing all the traffic through GEANT if that is troubled like that.

But again further then this I really cant go with my limited knowledge and no knowledge about the topography of the networks.

Later today I can run the trace from uni, which is connected to the DFN, which is direct member of GEANT. That _should_ take the UK and US geant boxes out of the equation and might give an insight if it is something inside GEANT or just the last link between GEANT and GRNET.
__________________


*unexpected flight behaviour* Oh shiii*** ! What ? Why ? What is happening ?

Last edited by microvax; 05-23-2017 at 09:52 PM.
microvax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 12:51 AM   #50
Octochin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabstBleuRibbon View Post
Anyone else have issues with the comms menu while in-flight in an Mi-8? Last night I noticed it only works when I'm on the ground...while in flight the comm menu kb or joystick shortcut don't work.
Make sure your trigger is bound to Radio PTT and not Intercom PTT. Then use the trigger to open up the menu.
Octochin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.