Tips and Hints - Page 3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2014, 07:38 AM   #21
Skall
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagrum View Post
Screetching brakes were already complained about when taxiing slowly. Probably just a sound bug.
Ah I see. Practiced a few more landings and have had good results pumping with slight travel and then increasing the travel on the pumps as speed decreases. Can now reach a good taxi speed and get off the runway on the taxiway before the opposite threshold.

On a different note, while this plane is very easy to land, I find myself having to put unusually high amounts of forward stick pressure on final. Seems like both the air brakes and the flaps make this bird extremely tail heavy. Even with full nose-down trim I need to keep forward pressure on the stick to maintain ~145 knots and a descent rate of descent. Is this normal?
Skall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 07:38 AM   #22
Schweehog
Junior Member
 
Schweehog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 29
Default

Tired of your view being permanently shifted up while on the ground? Go into options, special, then click on the F-86, and uncheck "Landing seat adjustment". I know with trackir that it is frustrating to say the least.
Schweehog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:20 PM   #23
javelina1
Senior Member
 
javelina1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WAFB, Arizona
Posts: 2,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slap_Chop View Post
PRESS S and DO NOT RELEASE S (To enable nose steering) before and during your Taxi to the runway ! Be gentle on the throttle.

When you are centered on the runway and moving straight ahead a few
meters then you can Brake and release S. If you can map the nose steering
key to your joystick all the better.


Hitting and releasing S will make you crazy.

Also most hard landings will result in your nose gear not retracting on the
subsequent takeoff.
trying to get used to the HOLD the "S" for steering. can be a bit of challenge, especially trying to get the nose wheel straight again for the takeoff, (right after you made a hard turn from the taxiway onto the runway).
__________________

Gigabyte Z87-HD3, i5-4670K O/C 4.2ghz, NH-U12S cooler, 16GB RAM, Geforce GTX 1080 SC, SoundBlaster Z sound card, Yamaha 5.1 A/V Receiver, 2x 256GB Samsung SSD, 1x 500GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Rudders, TM MFD's, Enermax Case, 39" Samsung HDTV, 21.5" Acer VT220 touchscreen (for Helios & Ikarus), TrackIR5, JetSeat KW-908, Oculus Rift CV1, Wheel Stand Pro Super Warthog, Virpil WarBRD
javelina1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:30 PM   #24
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,392
Default

Using Target (or some other program) you could script a button so that on first press it produces a 'key S down' function, and a 'key S up' on the second press.

Problem solved.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:44 PM   #25
javelina1
Senior Member
 
javelina1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WAFB, Arizona
Posts: 2,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
Using Target (or some other program) you could script a button so that on first press it produces a 'key S down' function, and a 'key S up' on the second press.

Problem solved.
batta bing, batta boom!
__________________

Gigabyte Z87-HD3, i5-4670K O/C 4.2ghz, NH-U12S cooler, 16GB RAM, Geforce GTX 1080 SC, SoundBlaster Z sound card, Yamaha 5.1 A/V Receiver, 2x 256GB Samsung SSD, 1x 500GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Rudders, TM MFD's, Enermax Case, 39" Samsung HDTV, 21.5" Acer VT220 touchscreen (for Helios & Ikarus), TrackIR5, JetSeat KW-908, Oculus Rift CV1, Wheel Stand Pro Super Warthog, Virpil WarBRD
javelina1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 06:14 AM   #26
theGozr
Senior Member
 
theGozr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: France, Montpellier / Berkeley, Cal/Ashland, OR USA
Posts: 1,742
Send a message via ICQ to theGozr Send a message via MSN to theGozr Send a message via Yahoo to theGozr
Default

You guys did a great aircraft..
__________________
Fly it like you stole it..
theGozr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 07:37 AM   #27
Skulleader
Senior Member
 
Skulleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: France, Salon de Provence
Posts: 2,250
Default

Since I bought your F-86F I spend all my time with him and the last time that I've spent many hours it was with the MI-8 and Huey .

Yes this aircraft is awesome, the cockpit is beautiful, 3D model perfect, and fly with this Sabre one real pleasure .

It's maybe one Open-Beta but I'm very happy to have bought this new module.
Belsimtek congratulation for this amazing creation .

Thanks, Skull.
Skulleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 12:33 PM   #28
Kuky
Veteran
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SYD, Australia
Posts: 9,571
Default

I tried fighting the MiG-15 for the first time... I managed to get into 2-3 good firing positions (it was always in climb) but could not get any hits (clearly I need to re-learn leading and estimating where to lead).. eventually I disengaged and extended... shortly after ran out of fuel... and glided a fair bit and managed to land in nick of time (another 1/5km more and I wouldn't make it).

I have a question though:
How can I adjust FoV? I want to reduce it and SnapViewsDefault.lua doesn't have it... is it in dcs/mods/aircrafts/f-86f/views.lua? If so, which bit?
__________________
Windows 10 Home 64bit | ASUS X99-A II | 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200MHz DDR4 @ 3000MHz | Intel i7 6850K @ 4.2GHz w/c | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB | Corsair AX860 PSU | Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD
2x SATA SSD | Panasonic 58" 4K TV (model: TH-58AX800A) | Oculus Rift CV1 | TM HOTAS Cougar (custom gimbals, extended & floor mounted stick) | MFG Rudder Pedals | SimShaker + ButtKicker LFE
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 12:44 PM   #29
Mar
Member
 
Mar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wisconsin, U.S.
Posts: 158
Default

View settings for the F-86 are in the F-86 folder, yes. Possibly because it's still in beta.

I believe the maximum/minimum FOV settings are always in server.lua now.
__________________
From the shadows of war's past a demon of the air rises from the grave.

"Onward to the land of kings, via the sky of aces!"

Last edited by Mar; 07-31-2014 at 12:46 PM.
Mar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 01:27 PM   #30
Kuky
Veteran
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SYD, Australia
Posts: 9,571
Default

yeah, I'm not touching min/max FoV, only default one (which I always use when I fly).
__________________
Windows 10 Home 64bit | ASUS X99-A II | 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200MHz DDR4 @ 3000MHz | Intel i7 6850K @ 4.2GHz w/c | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB | Corsair AX860 PSU | Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD
2x SATA SSD | Panasonic 58" 4K TV (model: TH-58AX800A) | Oculus Rift CV1 | TM HOTAS Cougar (custom gimbals, extended & floor mounted stick) | MFG Rudder Pedals | SimShaker + ButtKicker LFE
Kuky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.