Tips and Hints - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2014, 06:01 AM   #1
EvilBivol-1
Belsimtek/TFC Associate
 
EvilBivol-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Кишинёв, Los Angeles (1993+)
Posts: 6,336
Send a message via MSN to EvilBivol-1
Post Tips and Hints

We'll begin with a few tips and hints from the DCS Sabre producer:

Quote:
1. After starting the engine, don't forget to contact the ground crew and request to turn off ground electrical power. Otherwise you'll hear back from the surprised ground crew as you roll out to taxi with the "cables" plugged in.

2. If starting from the ramp, trim the controls for take-off prior to starting the take-off roll. The Take-off Trim lamp on the instrument panel will briefly light when the take-off trim setting is set. Take-off trim is accomplished with the ailerons and rudder neutral, and the elevators set for slight nose-up action. Setting take-off trim helps to ease aircraft control after take-off.

3. A warning horn is heard in the cockpit when reducing throttle to Idle with the landing gear retracted. If Idle throttle setting is intended, you can silence the horn by pressing the Horn Cut Out Button on the left forward console.

4. The canopy cannot be opened at airspeeds beyond 215 knots, the pressurization system prevents this. If flying faster than 215 knots with the canopy switch set to OPEN, the canopy will open once airspeed drops below 215 knots and fly off the fuselage. The canopy can be opened safely below 160-170 knots.

5. Use the aircraft/cockpit shake as an indication of maximum G/AoA when maneuvering. When the vibrations occur, slightly reduce stick pull to prevent stalling as airspeed continues to drop.

6. Overstress/Over-G (possible above 300 knots) can cause accumulating structural deformation of the wings. This can lead to uncontrolled rolling and pitching action. If we obtain confirmed data on breaking wings on a Sabre, we'll add this feature in a patch.

7. A number of nasty surprises are present when flying at maximum airspeed: negative pitching moment, uncommanded roll, inability to maintain a sustained roll (especially when G loaded). To actively maneuver at maximum airspeeds, make sure you have a safe altitude margin, utilize the speed brake, climb to bleed off excess airspeed, and reduce engine power.

8. Use the speed brake to decelerate.

9. Reaching the aircraft's service ceiling of 52,000 feet is a tedious task that takes approximately 25 minutes. However altitudes of 40,000 - 45,000 feet can be reached in 8 -12 minutes. Still, doing so requires maintaining a speed/climb schedule or risking running out of energy and stalling.

10. Always trade altitude for speed (especially in combat!).

11. Maintain safe approach speeds when landing taking into account the aircraft's weight. Do not allow the airspeed to fall below recommended limits. If the airspeed does fall too low and a stall is approaching, do not attempt to chase the runway to "save" the landing, instead abort the approach, increase engine power, retract the gear and flaps and go around for another attempt.

12. Use the wheel brakes early to make sure you have a controlled landing roll and avoid panicked braking at the end of the runway.
__________________
- EB

Nothing is easy. Everything takes much longer.
The Parable of Jane's A-10
Forum Rules

Last edited by EvilBivol-1; 07-26-2014 at 12:04 PM.
EvilBivol-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:05 AM   #2
uboats
ED Tester / ED Moderator
 
uboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East Sierra
Posts: 5,348
Default

When I asked the tower for taxi (Batumi), no response, even when set the freq to 131Hz on right panel. And after taking-off, \ didn't give a comm menu
__________________
东风夜放花千树,更吹落,星如雨


My DCS Mods, Skins, Utilities and Scripts

| Windows 10 | i7-4790K | GTX 980Ti Hybrid | 32GB RAM | 2TB SSD + 1TB HDD |
| TM Warthog Stick | CH Pro Throttle + Pro Pedal | TIR5 Pro | TM MFD Cougar | Gun Camera: PrtScn |
uboats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:07 AM   #3
Mirtma
Member
 
Mirtma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uboats View Post
When I asked the tower for taxi (Batumi), no response, even when set the freq to 131Hz on right panel. And after taking-off, \ didn't give a comm menu
How do you operate radio on right panel?
__________________
Spoiler:


MiG-15bis | MiG-21bis | Bf 109 K-4 Kurfürst | F-86F Sabre | Fw 190 D–9 Dora | Spitfire LF Mk. IX | Mi-8MTV2 Magnificent Eight | UH-1H Huey | A-10C | Flaming Cliffs (1, 2) 3
CA | P-51D Mustang | Ka-50 Black Shark (1) 2 | L-39 Albatros | Mirage 2000 | F-5e Tiger II | AJS37 Viggen | AV-8B N/A | F/A-18C Hornet | SA342 Gazelle


MSI Z87-G43 | i5 4670K@3400 | 16 Gb DDR3 @ 1866Mhz | Gigabyte GFX 1060 G1 6GB, | SAMSUNG SM 2433BW 24" @ 1920 x 1200 Windows 10 64 bit Pro | X-55 | TrackIR 5 Pro

Mirtma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:58 AM   #4
uboats
ED Tester / ED Moderator
 
uboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East Sierra
Posts: 5,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirtma View Post
How do you operate radio on right panel?
first choose proper freq range, then beside the range indicator, there is a tune knob for accurate freq. Or just follow Skull's
__________________
东风夜放花千树,更吹落,星如雨


My DCS Mods, Skins, Utilities and Scripts

| Windows 10 | i7-4790K | GTX 980Ti Hybrid | 32GB RAM | 2TB SSD + 1TB HDD |
| TM Warthog Stick | CH Pro Throttle + Pro Pedal | TIR5 Pro | TM MFD Cougar | Gun Camera: PrtScn |
uboats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 10:45 AM   #5
Mirtma
Member
 
Mirtma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uboats View Post
first choose proper freq range, then beside the range indicator, there is a tune knob for accurate freq. Or just follow Skull's
Tnx
__________________
Spoiler:


MiG-15bis | MiG-21bis | Bf 109 K-4 Kurfürst | F-86F Sabre | Fw 190 D–9 Dora | Spitfire LF Mk. IX | Mi-8MTV2 Magnificent Eight | UH-1H Huey | A-10C | Flaming Cliffs (1, 2) 3
CA | P-51D Mustang | Ka-50 Black Shark (1) 2 | L-39 Albatros | Mirage 2000 | F-5e Tiger II | AJS37 Viggen | AV-8B N/A | F/A-18C Hornet | SA342 Gazelle


MSI Z87-G43 | i5 4670K@3400 | 16 Gb DDR3 @ 1866Mhz | Gigabyte GFX 1060 G1 6GB, | SAMSUNG SM 2433BW 24" @ 1920 x 1200 Windows 10 64 bit Pro | X-55 | TrackIR 5 Pro

Mirtma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 12:39 PM   #6
Buzzles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northern Europe
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uboats View Post
first choose proper freq range, then beside the range indicator, there is a tune knob for accurate freq. Or just follow Skull's
I don't think manual tuning works for voice comms via the main radio panel.

The only way I can get radio communications going is by using the set channels on the UHF radio.
Buzzles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 12:40 PM   #7
uboats
ED Tester / ED Moderator
 
uboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East Sierra
Posts: 5,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzles View Post
I don't think manual tuning works for voice comms via the main radio panel.

The only way I can get radio communications going is by using the set channels on the UHF radio.
yes you are correct
__________________
东风夜放花千树,更吹落,星如雨


My DCS Mods, Skins, Utilities and Scripts

| Windows 10 | i7-4790K | GTX 980Ti Hybrid | 32GB RAM | 2TB SSD + 1TB HDD |
| TM Warthog Stick | CH Pro Throttle + Pro Pedal | TIR5 Pro | TM MFD Cougar | Gun Camera: PrtScn |
uboats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 07:11 AM   #8
Oberfeldwebel Elmo
Senior Member
 
Oberfeldwebel Elmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzles View Post
I don't think manual tuning works for voice comms via the main radio panel.

The only way I can get radio communications going is by using the set channels on the UHF radio.
The upper pannel with the four frequency settings is used to find a radio tower and use that for navigation, the lower panel is only presets so if the mission editor hasn't put in any frequencies then you should look up the stock freqs and run off of those, once i get home i will compile a channel freq list until we get KOREA era mission and people actually implementing the channel presets.
__________________
Know and use all the capabilities in your airplane. If you don't, sooner or later, some guy who does use them all will kick your ass.

— Dave 'Preacher' Pace, USN.
Oberfeldwebel Elmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:33 AM   #9
Maico249th
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 72
Thumbs up

Thank you! This is very appreciated.
Maico249th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:45 AM   #10
Kayos
Senior Member
 
Kayos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,704
Default

I haven't got ATC to respond either.
Is there no Afterburner on the F-86F?
I can see the Afterburner on all the other planes in DCS but not for the F-86F when I am at full throttle.
Kayos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:04 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.