Crashes during take-off - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2018, 01:54 PM   #1
Baby Daddy
Junior Member
 
Baby Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: ZUG; Switzerland
Posts: 30
Default Crashes during take-off

Hi guyz

Something has been happening to me for quite a while now and I have this issue only on the F 15C. Depending on which engine I start first, my plane always drifts during the take off to that position and I crash. If I start left engine first, then the jet drifts towards the left grass before I can pull up and explode or crash immediately I pull up. In case I start the right engine first, I end up in the fence.

I am only having this issue with a fully loaded F15. Other jets are ok, no problem at take off. I have a ratio of 8 take off crashes to 2 with the F15 which I don't understand why.

Any ideas why and possible solution please? Thanks

Best
Baby Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 02:20 PM   #2
esb77
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NH
Posts: 314
Default

Is there any difference between the engine RPMs when this happens?

For your input hardware are you using a split throttle?

Are you sure there aren't any double keybinds for your throttle controls?



If it's really engine related, and it may or may not be, what is sounds like is whichever engine you start first is not being throttled up as much as the second engine you start.

The most likely culprit if that's happening would be some sort of input hardware or keybind issue.



Posting a .trk file of this happening would help people try to diagnose this for you.
__________________
Callsign "Auger". It could mean to predict the future or a tool for boring large holes.

I combine the two by predictably boring large holes in the ground with my plane.
esb77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 02:36 PM   #3
winchesterdelta1
Senior Member
 
winchesterdelta1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,151
Default

You have to wait a little bit longer for the engines to be totally spooled up. This happens when you try to take off or taxi right after you think you're engines are fully started right? The engine you start the latest will still need to catch up, even that the needle say they are the same RPM.
__________________
Go in close, and when you think you are too close, go in closer.
winchesterdelta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 04:04 PM   #4
Baby Daddy
Junior Member
 
Baby Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: ZUG; Switzerland
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winchesterdelta1 View Post
You have to wait a little bit longer for the engines to be totally spooled up. This happens when you try to take off or taxi right after you think you're engines are fully started right? The engine you start the latest will still need to catch up, even that the needle say they are the same RPM.
Thank you, I will try your idea first because I take off almost immediately when I think my engines are ready. It does not even take me 3 minutes to take off. I will wait longer.

And thanks to the previous member for his answer as well.
Baby Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 04:13 PM   #5
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 7,257
Default

You can also set both engine at 80% and check them before going to full ab. Additionally, check ab by making sure the nozzle is open (it should be about 90% open iirc)
__________________
Quote:
What is best in life? Crush them

CPU=Intel Core I3 7320, Mo/Bo= ASRock B250 Gaming K4, Memory DDR42400 pc4-19200 16gb G.Skill Ripjaws V, video card=EVGA GTX 1060 SC, 6gb gddr 5, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 06:10 PM   #6
Baby Daddy
Junior Member
 
Baby Daddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: ZUG; Switzerland
Posts: 30
Default

You guyz really make our (Newbies) lives very easy. Its working now. I have not crashed during my last four take offs so far! The longer I wait and let the engines charge fully the smoother is my take off. However, as I said in my initial posting I only have this problem with the F15.

Anyway, thanks very much!
Baby Daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 11:18 AM   #7
draconus
Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baby Daddy View Post
The longer I wait and let the engines charge fully the smoother is my take off. However, as I said in my initial posting I only have this problem with the F15.
If the RPMs match they match - nothing to wait for. There can always be some side drift due to crosswinds and/or weight distribution but you just have to use rudder gently to stay centered. Use rudder > axis tune > curve to make this easier to handle.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 08:41 PM   #8
fitness88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,766
Default

Over 50 kts use rudder only for steering when taking off.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 11:18 PM   #9
Baz000
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 537
Default

The F-15 in FC3 does not have ability to disable NWS tho does it? NWS is always enabled?
Baz000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 01:11 AM   #10
fitness88
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baz000 View Post
The F-15 in FC3 does not have ability to disable NWS tho does it? NWS is always enabled?

This is my key mapping:
"S" Nose Gear Maneuvering Range
"J" Nose Gear Steering Disengage
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.