Spamraams - Hornet - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2018, 02:34 PM   #1
Guppy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 142
Default Spamraams - Hornet

Correct me if I am wrong but the Hornet can technically hold 12 AMRAAMS. I believe the wing pylons can hold two each via the dual rails.

I ask because I was messing around in the mission editor and noticed the current implementation of the Hornet does not feature these. Curious if that will change when the module releases.

I want to launch all 12 at a single target.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:48 PM   #2
probad
Senior Member
 
probad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,749
Default

reality has a tendency to get in the way of theory
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Charlie Hornets Cannot Carry AIM-120 on the Wingtip due to weight and the Wing Folding Mechanism Gear.
__________________
hahaha hey look at me i surely know more about aviation and coding than actual industry professionals hired for their competency because i have read jalopnik and wikipedia i bet theyve never even heard of google LOL
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:04 PM   #3
Guppy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by probad View Post
reality has a tendency to get in the way of theory
Interesting... I've seen a lot of pics of Charlies' sporting AMRAAMs on their wingtip, though. I assume they can be mounted but then cannot operate the wingtip mechanism?

I am correct though on the dual launcher rails from the under-wing pylons? Even if AMRAAMs are not supported on the wingtip that would still provide 10x.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:09 PM   #4
antagonist
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudellj View Post
Interesting... I've seen a lot of pics of Charlies' sporting AMRAAMs on their wingtip, though. I assume they can be mounted but then cannot operate the wingtip mechanism?

I am correct though on the dual launcher rails from the under-wing pylons? Even if AMRAAMs are not supported on the wingtip that would still provide 10x.
I did a quick search for photos regarding this and came up with exactly nothing. You have a link to a picture corroborating that?
antagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:14 PM   #5
Wags
ED Team
 
Wags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 10,482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudellj View Post
Interesting... I've seen a lot of pics of Charlies' sporting AMRAAMs on their wingtip, though. I assume they can be mounted but then cannot operate the wingtip mechanism?
Really? I very much doubt that. Links please.
__________________
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/wagmatt
Twitch: wagmatt

i7 6700K, 32 GB RAM, GTX 1080ti, Windows 10, 1TB SSD, TM Hornet stick and Warthog throttle, and Track IR 5 with default settings.
Wags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:18 PM   #6
Fri13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,384
Default

Mistaking to f-16?
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:19 PM   #7
antagonist
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
Mistaking to f-16?
That would be my guess as well.

E: Did some more digging, and according to posts on another forum, the Hornet has a LAU-7 launcher on the wingtip that only accomodates AIM-9 derivatives. The Rhino does have a LAU-127 rail on its wingtips which is capable of holding the AIM-120, but there doesn't exist a flight clearance for that configuration.

https://combatace.com/forums/topic/4...rnet-wingtips/

Last edited by antagonist; 01-14-2018 at 03:28 PM.
antagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:52 PM   #8
Guppy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 142
Default

It was my mistake... in my hungover state I mistook the falcon for the charlie. How I don't know, but it is what it is haha. They were all zoomed in photos of the wingtip. /shrug

Here is a pic, though of the dual AMRAAM rails on a Charlie.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped..._10_AMRAAM.jpg

Edit: Wags are you aware that you can outfit the Charlie in-game with AMRAAMs on the wingtips?

Last edited by Guppy; 01-14-2018 at 04:01 PM.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:01 PM   #9
probad
Senior Member
 
probad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,749
Default

what does it matter when the incoming fa-18 module is a completely new implementation?
__________________
hahaha hey look at me i surely know more about aviation and coding than actual industry professionals hired for their competency because i have read jalopnik and wikipedia i bet theyve never even heard of google LOL
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:28 PM   #10
Guppy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by probad View Post
what does it matter when the incoming fa-18 module is a completely new implementation?
Who knows what code ED might be pulling/reusing, if at all. I imagine there likely is some re-usability in the load-out code. Though I could be completely wrong. Sorry if you think it is unimportant.
Guppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.