Communicating with Stennis for landing - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2020, 09:48 PM   #1
Ickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 22
Default Communicating with Stennis for landing

Hi,

How do the procedure look in DCS to land on a carrier? I used to be simple, call Stennis with intention to land and then request landing when flying close, I usually did it when flying parallell with hook down.

This seem to have changed and I don't understand or have been able to locate any documentation on what I need to do now to trigger more radio calls after approaching.

It cant be that difficult as there seem to be limited questions about it.

Thanks in advance.
Ickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 10:05 PM   #2
Bunny Clark
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 133
Default

It's a bit weird right now. In an update quite some time ago part of the new carrier comms being built for the Supercarrier module leaked into DCS World. Now, radio comms for landing on the carrier are half standard air base comms and half bugged Supercarier comms.

In a sense it's simpler right now: call inboud and that's all you have to do.
Bunny Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 10:08 PM   #3
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,608
Default

That's because the new comms are not really meant to be used, but some of them are in the game. There's no real way to trigger them.
You can trigger the "new" approach message by requesting Inbound two times. First time, you get the old one, second, the new. I'm using Voice Attack, I don't know if you can do it with normal comms.
Apart from that, nothing else is really consistent. I haven't gotten any other messages for months, after getting the LSO one or two times at random, months ago.
I bet we'll see it working properly when the Supercarrier arrives.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 10:21 PM   #4
Ickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 22
Default

Well, that explains my confusion. Hope it will be fixed before module release, current state makes no sense and I don't expect the new carrier to be released any time soon.
Ickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:27 AM   #5
pacotito
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 305
Default

It did it for me 1st time using f keys. Fuel state and all that stuff. Player said it twice but ATC only answered the first time
__________________
Pacotito

I7-5820k@4.5 Z99 extreme4 16gb ddr4
520gb ssd. Gigabyte ssc GTX960 SSC 4gb
pacotito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 02:40 PM   #6
dorianR666
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 190
Default

its bugged
__________________

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
GPU: AMD RX 580
dorianR666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 09:37 PM   #7
Jackjack171
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 48
Default

Zip-lip recoveries for me until the carrier module comes out. The comms are minimal IRL anyway. We launch aircraft as the recovery planes circle overhead. Once we shoot the last jet off the waist, the pilots head into the break. It's just a timing thing with the cycles (without me going too deep).
Jackjack171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 11:06 AM   #8
Ickx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 22
Default

Any known way to trigger the lights? For now it seems like I occasionally get the lights to turn on but mostly not. I have difficulty to lign up properly.
Ickx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 12:07 PM   #9
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ickx View Post
Any known way to trigger the lights? For now it seems like I occasionally get the lights to turn on but mostly not. I have difficulty to lign up properly.
For CASE III at night? Contact the tower and at some point you'll be prompted to either request landing or your pilot will at some point (I think 3NM out) automatically announce that he's approaching and will get the all clear from the tower and the lights will turn on. Again, this works for me like that, but I'm using Voice Attack with VAICOM, so it may be different with vanilla DCS comms.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR, VAICOM Pro|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 05:16 AM   #10
Uxi
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Southern California
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunny Clark View Post
It's a bit weird right now. In an update quite some time ago part of the new carrier comms being built for the Supercarrier module leaked into DCS World. Now, radio comms for landing on the carrier are half standard air base comms and half bugged Supercarier comms.
Is that the "Marking moms" thing in a different voice? Every now and then I still hear the original request and/or the response but usually it's the new ones. I wasn't sure if that came from an update or from the Voice Attack stuff I was playing with.
__________________
F-14B | F/A-18C | Community A4E | FC3 (F-15C, SU-27) | SU-57 mod
---
Core i9 9900k 5.0Ghz, Asus ROG Maximus Xi Hero, 32GB G.Skill Trident 3200, Asus RoG Strix 2070 OC, 1TB x Samsung Evo 970 M.2 boot. Samsung Evo 860 storage, Coolermaster H500M, ML360R AIO
---
Samsung Odyssey+ WMR HMD; VKB Gunfighter 2 with MCG Pro + T-rudder, Virpil T-50CM v3 Throttle
Uxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:56 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.