Su-17M4 (SU-22) Full Fidelity Research for Dev Started

aw33com

Today I started a research to see if I can produce full fidelity Su-17M4 [s-54, "Fitter-K"] as SU-22M4 (S-54K) export version (Circa 1983-1990). Pure love for the aircraft, and lack of RED full fidelity ground pounders made me want to produce this module. The selling point of the module would be to recreate realistic feel of the aircraft so it handles like the real SU-17 in your hands.

The goal of the initial project is to: figure out IF I CAN produce it.

What I know, or can do as of right now:

0. This aircraft has and would have tons of love from you guys.

1. I was a software architect and engineer developing trading software for banks. I have coded in most languages (except C++), and I have a very simple but practical view of software. Software dev no matter what languages/framework would not be an issue.

2. Tons of DCS experience and good understanding of what the flight model should feel like. This is maybe the most important thing in the project, because a module that flies correct is very rewarding.

3. I have time, and I'm not budget restrained, as most development would be done by me.

4. Chances are this module would not be fully commercialized, but rather build with/by community. I would want this module to cost only enough to cover the costs. Not interested in making money.

5. Access to SU-22 pilots (possible access to the aircraft). Not sure if I can legally use that.

What I don't know:

1. The documentation of SU-17 is not really public. Some things would have to be improvised, or copied from SU-25T, or other sources.

2. Lack of any kind of 3D modeling experience.

3. Not sure if DCS would allow me to use the module in the SIM. In case I would not be allowed to use it, I would still develop it for myself.

4. Development process of a DCS module. [This is probably easy to research]

5. Legal implications/approvals from Russian Federation if any.

What the module would be like: