Pattern work - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2018, 09:23 AM   #1
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,269
Default Pattern work

I’m in the process of building a mission where the object is to spawn do the -10 checklist for startup, taxi, takeoff, landing and shutdown. Making all radio calls as they should be when they should be.

Here’s what I know

Resquest startup
Request hover check
Request taxi
If told to hold short then call informing atc that you are holding short and need permission to proceed.
Request for take off
Notification of turn
Request to land, touch and go, go around, emergency land etc as needed
Request to tact back to parking,
Any shutdown call that need to be made prior to shutdown

I know the format will be as follows

Atc name. - callsigns and unit number request so and so

Atc responds with info and permissions

I’m not 100% which agency to use for each call but expect atc will hand me off when appropriate
Something like this

Gnd fo startup, hover then handed off to tower for taxi and everything fill I get ready to request take off then handed off to departure once airborne be handed off to center until I get in the final leg of the pattern then handed off to approach until I land the back to tower until I get to the parking spot wher I’m handed off to ground to notify them of the shutdown.

Is this correct. If so I’m going to make a script template so I can script the messages for both side in case the ai is -1

And also work on Comm’s for when I function as atc some time I’ll have the template of most Comm’s for each position to include awacs, jtac, fac etc.
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better

Last edited by BlacleyCole; 05-11-2018 at 05:35 PM.
BlacleyCole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 04:02 PM   #2
rephiled
Member
 
rephiled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 245
Default

looking forward to this
rephiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 05:42 PM   #3
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,269
Default

Me too but i need help in getting it started with how and what and where to script it and the other thing I I might need that I’m not aware of in the beginning it will probably be best to use team viewer and team speak until i get the first script done since most are duplicates.

But i need the script for Comm’s so i know what and when to trigger them.
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better
BlacleyCole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 12:57 PM   #4
rephiled
Member
 
rephiled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlacleyCole View Post
Me too but i need help in getting it started with how and what and where to script it and the other thing I I might need that I’m not aware of in the beginning it will probably be best to use team viewer and team speak until i get the first script done since most are duplicates.

But i need the script for Comm’s so i know what and when to trigger them.
I would like to help but I am the kind a guy the "cut the board 4 times and it was still to short"
rephiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 03:37 PM   #5
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,269
Default

Me too i cant work with wood either but you may have the info i need. First i need all the atc communications that would occur between a cold and dark huey trough taxi, take off , holding short at Black/yellow checkered lines and the runway, then access to the runway pretakeoff checksand Comm’s takeoff clearance, handoffto depature, then Comm’s i. The pattern at each turn and then handoff to approach then back to tower on hover/touchdown if you cand script those that would be great. Thanks for helping out

Or if your a mission builder

You can walk me thru the scripting what goes where and which command is the best to use.

Must of it will be repeative just a different message at a different location then check yo se if the ac is where it should be hdg and alt wise. If you can help with that on team viewer and TeamSpeak that would be even better.
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better

Last edited by BlacleyCole; 05-12-2018 at 03:41 PM.
BlacleyCole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2018, 05:19 PM   #6
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 315
Default

If the intent is to remain VFR at pattern altitude and within the control zone (usually 5-10NM of the airport, this can vary by airport), talking to departure/Center/approach is unnecessary. From takeoff to after landing, you would remain with tower.

Ground for taxi clearances to/from runway or helipad, though we frequently just talk to tower throughout as we will often go direct to or from the ramp or a taxiway nearby to save runway congestion. Most airports don’t require start up requests. Hover checks are usually just done after receipt of taxi clearances, unless they are very involved and take a long time.
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:24 AM   #7
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,269
Default

If you know how the helicopter pattern works at Nellis or know someone who does if you could assist me in laying it out in dcs nttr I would be much appreciated also same for all the atc calls that should be used. I read somewhere your initial startup request would include everything up till you switch to the departure controller iirc. That sounds great for tentents but for transit it needs to be broke down also taxi from the helo pad in the 66rqs area require two or more clearances to cross a black and yellow line plus having to hold short at the runway 03 end. From the transit area by base ops I don’t think you would have such problems. And if the wind changes the 21 end is real close to both parking areas.
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better
BlacleyCole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:38 PM   #8
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 315
Default

I've never flown into Nellis, but I am a Helo pilot with the RCAF, and airfield procedures are largely standard.

Most airfields do not require a request for startup - maybe Nellis does, I can't be sure. If you code that into the mission, it won't be terribly unrealistic.

In terms of clearances, the ground controller will give you the clearances you need to cross any runways (but they must specifically clear you across). Ground will take you as far as the hold short for the active runway, then tower will clear you onto the active once you switch to them.

Again, flying VFR patterns, there is no requirement whatsoever to speak to a departure controller. You would remain with tower throughout.
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:35 AM   #9
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,269
Default

Do you request hover check then sit down or do it as part of the taxi authorization?

If I send you the Nellis AFB instruction would read thru the pattern and helo procedures and either send me the track file and or a written description of how you would fly a pattern flight there to include full stop to a hover, touch and go, and emergency landing or both if you have the time.
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better

Last edited by BlacleyCole; 05-16-2018 at 03:41 AM.
BlacleyCole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:29 PM   #10
Sandman1330
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 315
Default

The hover check is really just a quick verification of power available and flight control responsiveness, so we do it when we lift after receiving taxi clearance. We call for taxi, pick up, turn into wind (if able), check the power, then continue the taxi as cleared.

I probably don't have time to record a track, but if you send me what you have on Nellis, I can give it a read and provide some advice if you'd like.

The other thing to consider is that, at a busy airport like Nellis, helicopters probably aren't doing circuits to the runway. Fast jets and slow helicopters don't mix very well in a circuit. More likely, the helos would depart Nellis for a training area somewhere and just do their circuits to a pad or open field somewhere.
__________________
R5 1600X @ 4Ghz / Asus Crosshair VI Hero X370 / Corsair H110i / EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 / 32Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3200 (@2933... for now) / Samsung 960 Evo M.2 / Saitek X55 / Saitek Pro Combat pedals / Rift CV1
Sandman1330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.